We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, convenient hotel”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we could walk from the cruise ship to the hotel. Not more than two blocks away. Even though Le Port-Royal is in a 300 year old building, it's wonderfully appointed in the rooms. Everything we needed to make our three nights in beautiful Quebec City cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel is in old building but has been updated. Rooms are large enough and have
all of the needs for travelers. (WiFi, Desk, Refrig, Mwave, TV). Hotel is well
maintained and kept clean. The restaurant is good and reasonable priced. The
outside seating is especially niece at night to set and have drinks. Staff is very friendly
and efficient. Tons of shops and attractions are within easy walking distance of the
hotel. The cruise port is also within walking distance. Located in lower town but
easy to use the lift to get to upper Quebec. Recommend one stay at least 2 days here
before a cruise and take in the sights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desfwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was within walking distance to the cruise ship dock and pretty much everywhere else we wanted to go. I had requested a renovated room - which we received - on the 1st floor. Unfortunately, room 118 was right across from a staff break room or some such place - so it was NOISY! Starting at around 8 am and continuing until aroupd 4pm. Front desk was very helpful. I'd stay there again but not in room 118.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is perfect for those who are boarding a cruise ship here in Quebec. The dock is very literally walking distance from this hotel.
The hotel itself is quaint and the rooms are spacious and the room we occupied overlooked the square which was lovely.
This hotel is very comfortable and convenient as it is in the old part of Quebec. It is an average hotel but location is what sells it.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Front rooms (1st floor) overlook the square and are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I arrived to the hotel at about 7pm. There were parking spaces available right out front. The woman at the front desk gave us 2 tickets for a complimentary cocktail at the hotel bar. They spoke English perfectly and provided us with a map and suggestions on great places to go for a walk. The rooms were plenty spacious and had a kitchenette area complete with a microwave, sink, coffee maker, and a mini-fridge. The bathroom was nice and big as well with nice tile floors.

While all of these things were great, I think the best part of the hotel was its proximity to old Quebec. It's right there. There are fantastic restaurants right next door. The Musee de la Civilisation was a 3 or 4 minute walk away. And the neighborhood is pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 2013. The suite was very modern and loved the kitchen. The suite was also very spacious and the furniture very chic. My husband and I both found the bed to be too soft for our taste.
Our suite had a fireplace and it was cold so we wanted to use it. But since both of us didnt have any experience with using a fireplace we asked customer service to guide us. They handed us a packed piece of fireplace wood and told us to follow the instructions on it. We were very disappointed with this. What if we burned the place down?
The hotel was also very close to the old city which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fa_tasleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I often stay in hotel on that street (st -Pierre )
This is the worse I have tried
Humid and unpleasant ambiance in the room.
The lobby is one I would expect
In some poor country with no furniture.
I got mislead by the photo of the entry on their site... Too bad for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padoux3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £91 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing