We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst romantic getaway ever”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst romantic getaway ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked a romantic getaway here about three weeks before we left Australia. After going budget for the week this was our last night in Quebec city and we were extremely disappointed. The room overlooked a petrol station and the noise of the trucks kept us awake all night. This was after the restaurant where we supposed to have dinner was closed and we had to leave the hotel to eat. The bathroom was not up to standard and although the staff early in the evening sorted the dinner situation the woman on later did not even make eye contact with us when we escaped the room to try to find a bit of quiet- the freezing cold outside was preferable to the constant noise in the room. This was the worst hotel we stayed at in our month in Canada. Seriously don't bother
.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    306
    84
    38
    15
See reviews for
232
387
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay and would return to this hotel.

Pros-good value, beautiful decor, complimentary wine, good location to walk to everything, market nearby, grocery nearby, restaurants nearby, etc.

Cons-the front staff was not very friendly or helpful, my room overlooked gas station

Room Tip: Request a room away from gas station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First the good. This hotel is ideally situated. We stayed here a year ago and I wasn't impressed with the desk staff. This time they were a bit more friendly. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom and sofa bed. We had the bedroom, our adult son had the sofa bed and ultimately slept on the cushions on the floor since he found the bed uncomfortable and soft and if he didn't open the sofa bed, the sofa wasn't long enough for him to sleep on. It's nice to have a kitchen where we can cook (we did a bit) and the view, while over a parking lot, is nevertheless nice if one looks off in the distance at the buildings and cliffs. Finally, last time we stayed here, we struggled with a luggage cart to get out to our car and had no help from any staff, not even opening a door for us. This time, at least someone not only held the door open but also helped carry our luggage to our car. My wife likes this hotel so we'll probably stay here again, but overall it's not a five and given the luggage issue last time and the poor quality sofa bed this time, in my mind it only rates a 3.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you like the old Quebec, you will find "exotic" to have an old stone wall in your room. It is really nice, but have to say that it is also cold when it's minus 30 celsius outside.
The bed was very comfortable, had a small kitchen with a fridge.

There was some apparent recent construction marks in the bathroom but I had a good deal on the room, so it wasn't a big deal.

Well located, you can on St-Paul to have dinner or walk along the boardwalk on a sunny day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabydoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This charming little hotel has a lot to offer..A parking lot outside the front door, it is in the middle of old town amongst restaurants and shops within walking distance of anything you want. We really enjoyed having a kitchenette and filled our frig with wine, beer and cheese to snack on. Only wish there was an ice machine available.

The room was a little small but well furnished and clean..wi fi available, as well as a flat screen TV
Service was excellent and the price was right..We would definitely stay here again if we visit Quebec

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Le Port-Royal is just outside the old city, along antiques row and near Les Musées de la Civilisation. We arrived late during the 2013 holiday, and there was a mix-up with Booking.Com regarding a revised room that I had booked. We were given an upgrade for that evening only and then moved the next day. The mistake was handled very well. The best reason for staying here is the kitchen. There are grocery stores nearby (not walking that we found) if you have a car, and it is nice to not have to hassle with every meal. The hotel is about 10 years old. Our first room was very modern and in the back (noisy with the sound of trucks all night). Our second room was furnished more with antique pieces and faced the front - we didn't hear a thing. Parking is on premises for $15 a day.
The bar is just okay. You are given coupons for a free drink. We thought it was any drink and our cocktails ended up being $36 for 2 as we didn't have the "special" (They just don't know how to make a cocktail as it was tiny and unsatisfying).
Location is within walking distance of the Chateau Frontenac as well as the shopping neighborhoods. We were completely fine with the location and it was easy access to the freeway for side trips.
We will stay here again as the kitchen is really a nice thing to have.
Note: Most restaurants serve a prix-fixe lunch that is a terrific value and very nice. We ended up eating late lunches and then fixing something light for dinner in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd (top) floor and the front room was quiet. #312.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mstrattoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went there for a short family trip on january 4th 2014. We took a suite because we were four and I wanted some privacy for my couple. The staff is good and the hotel overall clean. There were two major problems with our room.
First, the temperature in Quebec that night was minus 30 celsius; the heating system just could not cope so we ended up being on the uncomfortable side all night. We had a corner unit and the common room was heated only by two, probably 300 watt, wall heater; clearly insufficient.
Second, my two daughters could not sleep all night because the sofa bed mattress was completely warn out. It should have been changed years ago.
For those two reason I give it only three stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierrelevoyageur87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing