We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a 3* hotel, great location & value”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

PROS: Rooms are spacious, modern and tastefully decorated. The location is great: right in Old Quebec City - near tons of shopping and places to eat. Prices are reasonable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is available for $15 per day.

CONS: no gym

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel is in a good spot, the rooms are spacious and clean, ours was noisy though, we were on the 1st floor near what we think was the conference room so there were staff in the doing preparation in the mornings. Restaurant was really good too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineinNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel was a bit hard to find since it was right in Vieux Quebec and the Google map directions were lame. However, the location was great, right at the edge of the old city. The room was spacious with a kitchen and living room. A farmers market was a few blocks away. Restaurants and attractions were very close. Hotel people were nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and what a difference this time around. the room needs a good cleaning, it is very dusty and the area rug was not vacumed and quite dirty. No fan in the bathroom - rusty shelves over the tub. Lighting was very bad - dark- dark dark. The staff was nice and the hotel is in a very good location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evange29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

WE probably got off to a bad start with the receptionist here, just off a cruise ship with lots of other people and luggage, and she says that check in time is 3.00pm but we can leave our bags in the foyer, untagged, my husband sarcastically enquired if all the rooms were cleaned then, then she saks us geriatrics for $100 in case we damage anything. The foyer was like a tip with all these cases and bags everywhere, come the appointed time and we all troop back and collect our untagged bags, could have taken mine plus a couple of others should I have desired. Got to the room which was booked on Easyrez, nothing like the picture, so hubby complains to a different receptionist who stated that we booked on Easyrez and they take a fee so that is why we got the cheapest room. My arguement is that we booked a particular room and got the one out the back with the fuel station for a view, 5.00am was a good time for the locals to fuel their cars and trucks, very noisy. After some discussion we were told that she would see what she could do. Nothing more until we ask for our wake up call and she is horrified that we had not been told we were meant to move. Nobody told us, no note no phone call absolutley nothing and I don't read minds, anyway we got the room we booked, so much different and no noise in the morning it over looked the square. Very nasty feel for overseas visitors to get treated like this. I wrote to the hotel but there has been no reply or answer to the many questions I asked about our treatment. Yes I would recommend this hotel the position is great and it is very clean, both the little room at the back and the nice room at the front, just make sure you specify the room before booking in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Parking is easy and at the hotel, rooms are large with kitchens, king size bed is comfy (our son complained that the sofa pull out wasn't) and we found the location to be great. No longer above a brew pub, there is a great restaurant downstairs and a nice lounge where we enjoyed a few great sets by a women jazz singer (sorry we can't remember her name). Every morning I purchased pastries and croissants at the bakery down the street which we had with our fresh coffee in our room (that was fantastic), and we didn't even look at our car for the 3 days we were there. This hotel is located at the base of it all, and restaurants and shops are all right there. Only complaint we had was the early morning noise from the gas station that was right outside our window. Good news is - you can buy milk for your coffee, beer and wine at the same gas station.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawnPowellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We were first told our room is given to somebody else.And five people who booked two rooms were offered one room.
We were even told we could leave if we did not like it.
One of the few very annoying experiences I have had as a frequent traveller

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilgeBicakcioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 101 in Quebec City
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £92 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing