We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing Moroccan in this restaurant is the name.”
Review of Maison Marocaine

Maison Marocaine
Ranked #342 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Moroccan restaurant Moroccan cuisine in Quebec, couscous, tajine, kebabs, merguez Typically Moroccan
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only thing Moroccan in this restaurant is the name.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When the four of us arrived at 7:30 PM, there were only two other tables occupied. Once these diners left, we were alone...on a Saturday evening ! That should have tipped us off as to the quality. The food did not have the spices normally found in Moroccan dishes, My wife had the lamb tajine. The "meat" was mostly fat and bones. My couscous was accompanied by three tasteless merguez. The zucchini slices were uncooked. The dishes were covered by an overabundance of carrots. As to the service, it was non-existent. The other tip-off should have been the fact that as we arrived, the young man who turned out to be the server was sitting outside, smoking, instead of attending to what customers there were might need inside. When the time came, I had to go fetch him to ask for desserts ( baklava only) and mint tea. Once the server had taken our orders and served them, he never came again to find out if everything was OK or if we needed anything. At one point, both the server and the cook stepped outside, possibly to discuss the future of the restaurant. If you look for Moroccan cuisine in Quebec, this is not the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Figaro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Good coucous for labor day”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

So it was labor day and my sister and I felt like having good couscous. So we decided to google some Moroccan restaurants in Quebec city. Luckily for us, we came across this wonderful restaurant called la Maison Marocaine. The food was excellent and we got value for my man's money ;). We all came out satisfy and full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tegva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan Food and Setting”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The restaurant found down a dimly-lit alley, very reminiscent of Morocco, as is the decor. Unlike some recent reviews we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and it was typical Moroccan from our experience there. The Chicken & Olive Tagine and the Lamb Couscous were tasty and distinctive dishes. The lamb was delicious and as tender as I've ever eaten.

Other reviews complain about small portions of meat and large amounts of veg. We'd agree meat proportions were not over-generous but again quite typical of meals we've eaten in Morocco and this is an inexpensive place to eat!

We were delighted to find this place and its tasty, good-value cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dadhairday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away - Rip off”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The lamb tajine tasted exactly like a beef stew and the dish was 90% boiled carrots and there was almost 2-3 BITES of meat (lamb?). 17$

The lamb kebab tasted exactly like beef. The dish was served with taboule, rice and boiled carrots. 15$

After taking a few bites of each dish we went up to the waiter and said politely we believed they served us beef. The cook came out swearing out the kitchen telling us we didn't know what we were talking about and even if we didn't eat our meals said we needed to pay. He even came out the kitchen and showed me a piece of lamb.

We would have preferred some explanations instead of getting yelled at.

After all this madness we wouldn't finish our dish anyway and just wanted to leave this place.

Do yourself a favor and keep your loved ones far away from this scam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A True Hole-in-the-Wall!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A miserable place in which to dine. We expected to be served genuine Moroccan food but were instead seved miserable faux-Moroccan grub. The bland tagine of lamb was covered with large chunks of carrots and pumpkins, the chicken couscous was tasteless and dismal.The owner will do a great service to his native country's rich cuisine by closing it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Marocaine also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Maison Marocaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing