We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in threes: refinement, feast for the eyes and elegance”
Review of Le Patriarche - CLOSED

Le Patriarche
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Saint Jean
Description: Nestled in the heart of Old Quebec near the Saint-Jean Gate, with its 4 diamonds,the Patriarche beckons with its intimate setting and the refined decor of a beautiful, circa 1827 stone house. Inside, you'll discover that good things come in threes, as executive chef Stephane Roth shares his creativity with his celebrated "trilogies from the terroir"
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“All in threes: refinement, feast for the eyes and elegance”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After reading rave reviews about this restaurant we booked well in advance and were not disappointed. As many reviewers pointed out this restaurant favors the number three: three floors, three menus degustation and each course comes in threes. I had the duck and the first course was the sea trout. The presentation was colorful and inventive, the food itself was delicious and the service impeccable. Of course this is an expensive restaurant but the wine pairing at 55.00 dollars is reasonable compared to other high end restaurants and considering the quality of wine served. I also enjoyed the dessert which was based on apples, it was delectable. We loved our experience and would come back anytime if we had the chance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    49
    21
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Dining Experience”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Le Patriarche is a 5 Diamond restaurant that has had 'top billing' in Quebec City for years. The appeal to us was that everything is served in 'threes'. Duck three ways, boar three ways, lamb three ways, etc. The service was impeccable,as was the ambience, and the food also was fine, if a bit short on quantity. But, management and servers must believe that the way to do this is to seat their patrons for a 4 hour experience, This is waaay too long to have dinner and, frankly, took away from the experience. (E.g. it was an hour and 40 minutes before we got the wine that we ordered after we were there for 20 minutes or so.) The place is elegant, but the studied,deliberate service approach totally detracted from what otherwise would have been a positive experience. A last note: the place is expensive, so be prepared,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Small quaint restaurant, and just loved it. The wine and food everything.
Nothing like it in Ontario, that I know of. The service, the presentation, just couldn't be beat.
The staff are attentive to every detail and concern., but we didn't have any.
I want to return just to bring friends there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boris2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“French dining but with a twist”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This a restaurant of threes. So every course features the same food item but prepared three ways. It sounds odd but really works well. Each course is a culinary adventure and all wonderful. Not your typical French dining but it works. The staff are exceptionally professional and deliver great service. The wine recommendations were perfect for the meals. The interior of the restaurant is wonderful with stone walls, etc. Very quiet and inviting. As a nice touch, the server comes to door and provides the coats and wishes you well. The prices are steep yet a worthwhile experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Seriously wonderful fod and service.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Le Patriarche is not to be missed when in Quebec City.

Food is perfectly prepared. The flavors are rich, intense and delightful. While the downstairs is small, there is an upstairs dining room. We liked being up there. Quiet, and with a table by the window, we could watch out on the street below.

My wife, for her first course, had the “Vinaigrerie Cass’Isle d’Orléans” and the tomato: Tomato fruit jelly, blackcurrant velvety, balsamic reduction, young sprouts, tomato and ice cider vinegar dressing cannelloni with goat cheese. It was imaginative, fun and the multiple tastes and textures were amazing.

I had the Foie Symphony: Quebec duck liver made and combined in various ways with other ingredients. One was a alternating layers of duck liver and pigeon. The best was duck liver mousse around lobster with a bit of lobster salad. Decadent is an understatement.

For our main course we both had the game meat trio of wild boar, smoked pigeon and caribou. Each one prepared differently and each retaining its distinctive flavor. This is not for the faint of heart when it comes to rich gamey taste.

For dessert the "Death by Chocolate". While it didn't actually kill us, it was one killer dessert. Do not miss it. To make it even more decadent and memorable, have a glass of the ice cider dessert wine. Unlike a sauterne, its crisp acidity enhances the sweetness of the dessert, rather then competing with it.

Service was impeccable. Our server, and the Sommeliere, Sophie, was fabulous. She made the meal more enjoyable and came to the rescue when we ran into a wine problem. I ordered a bottle without any recommendation, based on my own tastes and preferences. While there was nothing wrong with the wine, it was not to our liking after a couple of glasses had been drunk. Sophie was called over for a consult. She inquired as to what I liked, and did not. As I was at her mercy at that point, she could have directed us to something quite expensive. But she did not, she came up with a relatively inexpensive bottle from Tenerife, in the Canary Islands. It could not have been more perfect with out dinner. I should have asked her to begin with. Live and learn. By the way, a favorable resolution was reached on the other bottle.

I will warn you, that, for Quebec, Saint-Amour may seem expensive, but compared to equivalent restaurants in New York, Boston, Madrid, London, etc. , this is failry priced, especially given the incredible quality of preparation and ingredients.

If I lived closer to Quebec City, I would be dining at Le Patriarche again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Patriarche also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing