We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B”
Review of Chez Marie-Claire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Marie-Claire
Ranked #22 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our room was great, at the second floor of the house.The bathroom (just beside our room) was small but clean (with shampoo and hair dryer for customer inside).
Like the others reviewers have said, you can hear people walking on the wood ground, but it's normal for an old house,...
The only bad point for me is the light on the corridor all night long!
Breakfast is delicious and generous (brioche, pancakes, cereals, fresh fruits, maple sirop....).
An other good point is the parking behind the house.
Price is maybe high, but it's the price when you want to be in the old Quebec

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mllecoccinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

We came to Quebec looking for a cosy B&B for our 2 night stay. Elise helped carry our luggage up and showed us to our room. It was fairly small- we couldn't really have our suitcase open, and the bathroom was odd, with the toilet up on a step. There was a communal living room. Breakfast was tasty, we had an omlette one morning, and waffles the next, plus a large selection of toast spreads, a couple of cereals, coffee etc. It was at a sort of communal table but as I don't speak French well enough to understand over the quebecois accent, it didn't really work s
o well, so we felt a little awkward.
The location is fairly good, near the gates, parliament, and a stroll to Frontenac, or downhill to rue st. Jean.
Sound seems to travel very easily in the building so I got woken up by people going downstairs for breakfast as they talked and creaked the floorboards. A young child stayed there a night too and I woke to its crying twice which isn't the fault of the B&B but I found sounds were amplified or carried easily within.
Upon going to check out we were told that they don't accept credit cards only cash. We had to walk to the bank near Frontenac (suggested ATM nearby didn't work) to be able to pay in cash. Apparently we 'should have been told' upon booking... But obviously weren't.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orimallei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed for three nights and were greeted by Elise upon our arrival. She was very helpful with showing us where to park, helping us with our luggage, and recommending places nearby to eat and drink. Each morning she cooked a great breakfast and I was impressed she pulled off all that she did on her own - it must have been a lot of work each day to feed so many people!
Our room was spacious and quiet though the bathroom really needs some updating and was my least favorite bathroom we stayed in throughout our trip in Canada. The b&b is well situated within the walls though I think I would stay outside the walls next time, not because of chez marie claire but because everything is a little overpriced within the walls versus outside the walls in terms of food, shopping, etc.
We got a great value and service staying at the gite and would definitely recommend it for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in Quebec City!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jred27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Chez Marie-Claire. The first thing to rave about is the location. It's right in the centre of the old walled city, on a fairly quiet road. The Chateau Frontenac is a few minutes walk, as is the centre of town. You definately do not need a car here, as everything is a short stroll away, but there is parking at the back if you do.
At night, you could swear you were in a small town in France, lots of music and laughter drifting up the street from the many restaurants and cafes.
There are quite a few rooms on different floors, and considering we were in the middle of a small city, it was very quiet, and slept well.
Breakfast is at a communal table, and the food was very nice. I just wish some B&Bs would have a tea or coffee making facility, especially in the evening after a long day wandering around.
The hosts were very nice, and bi-lingual.
Quebec City itself is probably one of the nicest and safest cities in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Our stay in Québec, " chez Marie-claire" was the perfect place to be. We were 4 adults with a 8 month old child, and stayed during "le festival d'été du Québec". Elise & Olivier were very kindly, our room was nice, bathroom was ok, the private salon very nice, and the b&b's location PERFECT!
I'll recomend it you!;-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I was in Quebec City for a 10-day research trip, and wanted a comfortable, quiet place in the Old City; Chez Marie-Claire more than met my expectations. The hosts, Eloise and Olivier, are young, lively, fluently bilingual, and highly competent. My room was spotless, the house quiet and comfortable, breakfasts ample and filling, and each morning brought new guests from across North America and Europe. The attractions of the old City are all steps away, and the house has a comfortable lounge on the second floor with free wifi throughout--highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahCSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This B&B had everything we wanted..It was cozy, homey, quiet, great service, incredible breakfast. The couple who run the place, Elise and Olivier are there from Belgium for a year, and I hope they stay forever. They are young, sweet, helpful but not overbearing. Of course they speak fluent French but for us Americans who didn't know a word of it they also speak outstanding English. Every morning we would awaken to the smell of an incredible breakfast...crepes or omelettes or french toast. We stayed for 4 days and every morning it was something new. That was in addition to the basics: meaning fruit, coldcus, cheese, juice, coffee, cold cereal, croissants, bread, sometimes coffee cake. The rooms are clean and although our room was small the bed was very comfortable and was cleaned daily. We will definitely return, next time we will rent a bigger room with a bathroom inside the room. We have no complaints at all. Philadelphia travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philly_traveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#43 of 102 in Quebec City
297 reviews
Chez Hubert, B&B
#15 of 120 in Quebec City
231 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#11 of 120 in Quebec City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Au Petit Hotel
#18 of 120 in Quebec City
154 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#10 of 120 in Quebec City
321 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Marie-Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Marie-Claire

Address: 62 rue Ste-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Marie-Claire 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Old Quebec! Welcome to the beautiful Old City! Two minutes from Château Frontenac, the greenery of the Plains of Abraham, cafes, shops, etc. Find yourself in a peaceful place, with a large comfortable room, with a private bathroom available. Complete breakfast Private bathroom Parking included Start you day with a generous breakfast in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Marie-Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Marie-Claire Hotel Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing