We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very good deal”
Review of Hotel Louisbourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Louisbourg
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location and very good deal”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our visit was in February, during the time when the hotel had a special off season reduced price, so for the price, we enjoyed a very quaint room in the heart of Quebec City. Our friends stayed at the Chateau and ended up paying more than double for a room almost the same size as ours (and theirs was without breakfast!)

Good points about this hotel:
Breakfast in the restaurant next door was awesome. They now provide a full buffet breakfast that included crepes (with real maple syrup), eggs, sausages, yogurt and fruit, cereal, toast and beverages. It is no longer just a coupon or continental breakfast. The restaurant next door offers the breakfast to non-hotel customers at a cost of $10.00 each, so basically you save $20.00 by staying at this hotel.
Our room was small (but that’s what you expect in Old Quebec) but the exposed stone wall and non-working old fireplace added character . The shower pressure was awesome although the shower was small. The hotel provided all the other services you might expect, valet parking (for a fee), in room coffee maker, wine glasses, iron, hair dryer, and the front desk people were very helpful in providing us directions and maps to where we want to go.
One major problem with our room: the lighting. At night, with all the lamps and lights on, the room was so dim that you could not see inside your suitcase, purse, etc. Someone needs to put up some track lighting or pot lights or something. But that would be the only really negative thing we would have to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LauraPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are very happy that your stay was up to your expectations. We took good note of the lighting aspect and we are making sure that this situation is improved. Again, thank you for your public comment, we will be very happy to welcome you back on your next visit in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    56
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
19
95
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Immokalee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Great location, we stayed one night after a couple of nights in this small chain's other hotel. Great room, super clean and historic. This hotel is located directly on the main street of Old Quebec yet it is very quiet. The breakfast restaurant is right in this hotel. The included breakfast is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msimmons1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. The location of the hotel Louisbourg could hardly be better, as it is located on one of the most beautiful street of Old-Quebec, Saint-Louis street, and we are happy that you liked it. We made major renovations in this hotel a couple of years ago and respected the cachet of the building (built in the early 1800's) and we added a more modern comfort to this historic charm. As you saw, the included breakfast is now an all you can eat american buffet which is very appreciated from our guests. Thank you again for sharing your opinion, we hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This place is what you think of when a small Quebec inn comes to mind. Rooms were on the small side but very clean and quiet. Minutes to Chateau Fronenac and other main Quebec shopping areas. The location is great right inside old Quebec and I'm glad we stayed here as it was our first time visiting Quebec, however I'd be interested in checking out the other hotels right outside of the wall as they are probably significantly cheaper and only an extra 4 minute walk to bustling pedestrian areas. Concierge/check-in takes place at their sister hotel around the corner (Hotel Acadia). Everyone was friendly and speaks English. $18/day to park and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelle627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear guest, thank you for your comment about our hotel. We read everyone of them and we make sure the entire team is conscient of the details that make your stay in our hotel up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

this was the worst hotel I ever stayed!! The building is extremely old and the rooms are terrible. Never thought I would get such a bad place to stay. If you see my reviews I'm never so rude about a place but this has nothing good to talk about! The bathroom was dirty and full of hair and even the previous guest bathroom soap was there!! Can you believe this?! For the first time I left the hotel without taking a shower, because I couldn't stand hair all over the bathroom from previous guest. They didn't clean the room at all and the entire hotel looks very filthy. The breakfast was a joke, one croissant, one cup of coffee and that's it!

Parking outside is quite difficult and the area looks a bit dodgy!

This hotel was cheap but even if it's free I wouldn't stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear guest, we are sorry to know that your experience was not up to your expectations. The way you describe the situation is definetly not up to our standards. We took actions to be sure that this type of situation does not happen again as the cleanliness of our rooms is a priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Argentina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the room was tiny , also the restroom. I didn`t like this hotel at all, on arrival we had to guess were the frontdesk was, finally someone told us that the check in was in the Arcadia Hotel Frontdesk, another hotel round the corner, the parking was small too, we had rented a GMC Yukon, it was so difficult parking there.Is a labyrinthine hotel, the way to our room was through several corridors, seemed infinite! The best of this hotel is the location, in Old Quebec, a few blocks from the Chateau Frontenac and the best sightseening places of Quebec.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Location could not be better in QC.
Rooms could be bigger.
Stay away from room near the parking lot, because it is noisy.
We had a great stay in Québec City, on the Louisbourg Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

First, a couple of things to know before arriving: You don't actually check in at the Hotel Louisbourg, but at the Hotel Acadia on Rue Ste-Ursule and they have valet parking--just pull up out front (parking is $16 a night). Check in was easy, I tried to conduct the transaction in French, but my listening comprehension is poor and we switched to English, no problem. The also offer express check out, but I declined the option--I need closure when I check out of a hotel.

The hotel offers several rooms sizes at different price points, I paid for a relatively small one. We were helped to our room by the valet--an experience I admit I'm uncomfortable with, I prefer to carry my own bags. The rooms was small, but cute and functional and had a lovely view of Chateau Frontenac. The room was clean, though there was a stain on the comforter that my wife was a bit uncomfortable with, though we never use the comforters anyway. There is ice and vending machines available in the hotel.

The hotel itself is located on the Rue St-Louis, a prime location on one of the more interesting streets in vieux-Quebec. Breakfast is included in the form of a coupon at Le Sacre Feu (The Sacred Fire), the coupon is good for the L'express breakfast (coffee, "jumbo" muffin and fresh fruit) or $4 off any of their other breakfasts. It's a light breakfast, the kind I prefer, if you prefer a heartier breakfast you'll be disappointed.

Wireless internet is also included, you'll need a password from the front desk. The service was a bit spotty.

The shower was good, but the water pressure was uneven.

In all, I'd happily stay here again, but would also be willing to consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quirk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
668 reviews
Maison du General
#92 of 102 in Quebec City
24 reviews
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#20 of 102 in Quebec City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#75 of 102 in Quebec City
70 reviews
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
48 reviews
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#43 of 102 in Quebec City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louisbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisbourg

Property: Hotel Louisbourg
Address: 68 Saint Louis Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louisbourg 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Louisbourg is a 22 room hotel located in the heart of Old-Quebec. All our rooms combine an historic ambiance with a more modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Louisbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louisbourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing