We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, excellent service”
Review of Louis Hebert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Louis Hebert
Ranked #51 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, excellent service”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

A local recommended this place to us. I was a little disappointed to be lead to the more modern back rooms (the front is very cozy), however my disappointment was short-lived. The service was excellent, our meal fantastic, and the atmosphere great. The front of the restaurant would give the appearance of an old cozy, pub-like atmosphere but the food is a contradiction to that. It is fun, delicious, and lovingly prepared. For appetizers, we had a sweet breads and tartare, both worth repeating. For mains, we had a special of homemade pasta with lobster and asparagus (both in season) and the scallops. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals, only nit pick was that the pasta could have had a little more sauce. Extensive wine list with some very reasonably (and some not so) priced wines. Would repeat!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    10
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Chateau Laurier across the street and this was one of their recommended restaurants. Since it was very cold and windy, being across the street was nice, but not why we chose it. Recommendations on Yelp! and price estimates compared to another recommended restaurant guided us there.

Our front desk employee was able to make a reservation (all in French) for us. They were able to take us right away (called at 7:40 for an 8 PM reservation). The restaurant is almost dwarfed by the extravagant Salvini (sp?) next to it, but still easy enough to spot. Our coats were taken right away for a coat check, and we were seated, and provided menus in English. Our server was very patient and attentive. I switched my wine order, and he didn't even blink. Our food was impeccable. Delicious and decadent. I had two glasses of wine, my boyfriend had one beer. Bread was included, we each ordered an app. I had the steak tartar, which just melted in my mouth, and he ordered the scallops. They were cooked perfectly and the couscous with them was a good pairing (see pictures below). His filet was HUGE, and perfectly cooked at medium rare. My scallops looked very lonely and small on the plate, only getting six of them, I thought I was jipped. But it was just enough food. Again, see pictures below. The bill was not outrageous at all. We did receive a 15% discount through the loyalty program our hotel and this restaurant had. We heard the food in Quebec City was going to be outstanding, and Louis Herbert confirmed it was!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My friends and I found a little jewel while strolling (albeit briskly) through Quebec in sub-zero temperatures last Sunday morning, first weekend of Carnaval de Quebec. We wanted to settle in for a long, leisurely breakfast when we spotted a menu outside an inn, the Louis Hebert. Our hostess and waitress, Chelsea, was welcoming, multilingual, and happily attentive to details. All four breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. At first, one is drawn into a warm, cozy dining room with a small bar and only then does one spy the color and light filled airy dining room along the back of the building, with a small garden beyond. Beautiful! Chelsea told us there are eight guest rooms upstairs, all lovely (and booked). She said "I am proud to work here." How rarely one hears that, in any setting. On our next trip to Quebec, my friends and I will stay at Louis Hebert AND enjoy their dining room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights, with the first night package that included dinner (bed, breakfast, dinner and valet parking) and the second night, bed and breakfast and parking. Reasonably priced packages. Location is excellent on Grande Allee. We were there just before the new year, and hence Grande allee was closed to traffic in preparation for the new year eve party. But valet parking was convenient although two persons were neccessary to get car parked as we couldnt pull up to the front of the inn/restaurant (one of us stayed in the car, the other, went to get the valet at the inn). Inn is a short walk to old quebec and the attractions - didnt need our car, just walked everywhere. We had the loft, at the topmost floor. Big room and newer bathroom. Carpet was a little dingy. Bed was comfy. Shower was great with good water pressure. There was also a stand alone bath tub. Toilet was a little stuck from time to time but there was no disaster during our stay. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Convenient to have breakfast and dinner without having to put on our winter coats and boots. On Grande Allee, there are many restaurants and fast food including mcdonalds, st hubert, starbucks, middle eastern.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels in Quebec and we liked this the best. Yes the rooms are small however we dont spend that much time in it. Our room faced the street and it is noisy with all the bustle but that is part of the experience. The food is incredible as is the service. If you are looking for large rooms/elevators/etc., this is not the place. Staying at the Loius Hebert is an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marqueritaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This is more like a bed and breakfast. It only has seven or eight rooms. Our room was tiny but we had a big clean bathroom. The towels were small and thin. One big plus was you could open the windows, but we faced the street which was very noisy. There are several rock clubs on this block and they go until 3:00 a.m. in the morning. The kids come outside to smoke and gather in front of the Louis Herbert. The food is fantastic. I repeat, fantastic. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. You order from the regular menu. We ate dinner there on several occasions and the food and the service were great. By the way, the staff and wait staff all speak English.
There is no elevator. The stairway up to the rooms is steep and narrow.
Since we were there for work, it was important that we were rested. We were sleep deprived by the end of our seven-day stay. We cannot recommend the hotel, but the food is worth the trip. The staff makes a wonderful contribution to the ambience of the hotel. So, it is hard to give a number rating without separating the tiny hotel room from our experience with the staff and the food.
There valet service for parking your car. There is a fee.
The location is ideal for walking to shops, museums and old town. It is on a hill so wear comfortable shoes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
310 reviews
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#37 of 102 in Quebec City
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
#83 of 119 in Quebec City
97 reviews
Montcalm
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Relais Charles-Alexandre
#22 of 119 in Quebec City
156 reviews
Le Widor Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 119 in Quebec City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Hebert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Hebert

Property: Louis Hebert
Address: 668, Grande-Allee Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Louis Hebert Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing