We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in the suburbs on a lake”
Review of Le Gite du Hu-Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Gite du Hu-Art
Ranked #3 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a lovely place - 20 mins north of the city (without traffic). The owners are very friendly and very helpful - supplied guidebooks, etc. for use. Great breakfasts and comfortable rooms. The lake is very nice but cannot be seen from the house - you need to walk down a path to see it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMWCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

From northern New Hampshire, we have traveled to Quebec City and have stayed at the Chateau Frontenac in the past. My son and I decided to look for something quieter, outside of the city and found Le Gite du Hu-Art. The B&B was more than comfortable, the family was so hospitable and welcoming, and the gourmet breakfasts were superb. The owners took the time to make our stay in their lovely city and home more than we could have hoped for. They were friendly and engaging, and made our visit so very enjoyable. Their artistically talented daughters were delightful and we so enjoyed their artwork hanging throughout their home. Linda's breakfasts were exquisite in every way. The fruit could not have been better, which is amazing the middle of November. They were healthy and beautifully presented with colorful fruits and berries and fresh baked goods with delicious cheeses, meats, yogurt, and eggs. The best part of our stay was that Linda came to find us before we left, to give us a hug good-bye. The owners made us feel like a part of their very pleasant family. I would definitely chose to stay with this establishment any time we travel back to Quebec City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were luckey to start our travel through Quebec from here. We stayed two nights, and because of popurarlity.We stayed ddifferent room each night, but it was rather nice, we had two nice eexperiences. Sharing bath room was no problem because of huge space and luxury. We could do more activity if we had a time at lake.Breakfast was amazing and view from the breakfast room was superb. Host was very helpful about sightseeing and gave us a lot of useful brochure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This B and B was perfect for the end of our trip. The owners were welcoming and made every effort to make us feel at home and comfortable. Having all the watercraft to use was great. The breakfast was terrific.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browningkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

So happy I booked this B&B. It's very accommodating and reasonable price for a family of 5. Our room was spacious and well equipped. Pierre gave us a wealth of information and tips on Quebec City. We would not have known about the free Cirque du Soleil show if it had not been for Pierre. The breakfasts were so delicious and plentiful. Linda took the time to inquire if our boys had any preferences and made everyone feel so welcome. Just wish we could have stayed longer and have been able to spend some time on the lake. It's a lovely location.

Room Tip: The Galarneau room is spacious for a family of 5. Bright and cheery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank civediamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This B&B is located an easy 25 minutes drive from Québec City on Lake St Charles, so you do need a car to get there, but it is worth it.

Linda and Pierre made us feel very welcome. We were concerned about our French, but Pierre is fluent in English, so it was no problem.

The room was a bit small, but except for that everything was perfect. We even had a fridge, a microwave oven, a coffee machine as well as tableware and cutlery.

The wonderful breakfasts were different every day and were presented very nicely. They started with a different smoothie every day, and there always was fresh fruit with the main dish, which I really enjoyed.

Linda and Pierre have a whole lot of suggestions for the area and maps one can borrow, including a great tip on where to park in Québec City for small money. They take their time to explain and answer all the questions you might have.

We had booked for three nights and definitely enjoyed our stay. We would certainly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreetLinda, Propriétaire at Le Gite du Hu-Art, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your visit at our B&B with the Tripadvisor community. We really appreciate that you took the time to do it.

Customer satisfaction is our major priority and we are so happy when we get good feedback from our guests… this is the best gift we could get !!!

We hope you will keep good souvenirs from your visit in Quebec city.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

While visiting Quebec city we decided to stay one night outside of the city. So we booked this bed & breakfast. It is about a 15 minute drive from Old Quebec but it was well worth the drive. Our room was nicely decorated and extremely clean. The owners were very helpful at providing us "things to do" for the day. They also have access to a beautiful lake with small boats. Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,998 reviews
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
353 reviews
Gite Confort
#2 of 120 in Quebec City
204 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#7 of 120 in Quebec City
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite du Hu-Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite du Hu-Art

Address: 1673 avenue du Lac St-Charles, Quebec City, Quebec G3G 2W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Gite du Hu-Art 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 15 minutes from downtown Quebec, Le Gite du Hu-art is an oasis of peace in nature. Outdoor fireplace, kayaks, canoes, rowboats ... everything is there for a memorable stay. ... In short you will find here the best of both worlds: nature's calm near the urban whirlwind of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Le Gite du Hu-Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gite Du Hu-Art Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing