We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
Ranked #7 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altamont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel during our stay in Quebec City. The location is perfect, on a very historic street just minutes from Rue St. Louis and the Chateau Frontenac. Our room was wonderful, big comfy bed, antique furniture, updated bathroom, and plenty of space. The breakfast was wonderful, plenty of choices, and the option of eating outside on the terrace. Great value, too. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, the Richelieu, was spacious, comfortable, and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    37
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
110
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here with my sister & brother-in-law for 3 nights and can't say enough about the peaceful atmosphere, hospitality, beautiful/eclectic rooms, great price and location. Everything was top notch. Breakfasts were homemade by Jolanta, the wonderful owner/proprietor of the establishment. They included a different casserole/quiche each morning along with coffeecake, breads, meat, cheese, bagels, jams, jellies, cream cheese, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, tea. There are many small tables located in the dining room and also on the deck off the kitchen. We were typically so full after breakfast that we skipped lunch and only required two meals per day while staying here. This beautiful home is centrally located within Old Quebec ... just a short walk to Chateau Frontenac, countless restaurants and shops. Our suite - Ecurie -was located in back of the main house. It used to be a stable, but you wouldn't know that after stepping inside. There is a queen size bed on the main floor with table, chairs, desk, armoire; and a loft with double bed & dresser. The walls are covered with art and a lovely mural painted by Jolanta's daughter. There's a kitchen with small fridge, countertop, sink and microwave plus a table and chairs in the courtyard outside our room. The bath was nice with beautiful tile. Air conditioning worked very well. We will recommend this establishment to everyone traveling to Quebec. Outstanding hospitality and lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be sure to ask for a room on the first or second floor if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights along with our friends. We had wonderful rooms, each with a character of it's own. They were individually air conditioned and each with its own bathroom including a tub and shower. Jolanta was a wonderful host and provided fantastic breakfasts that we enjoyed on the terrace. The quiche and bread pudding (french toast) as well as a variety of cheese, fruits, eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, beverages, etc. proved to be a great way to begin our day. We would also complete the day on the terrace with a bottle of wine, a wonderful view and great company. You were not aware of other guests unless you chose to mingle and interact. Privacy was well respected and Jolanta was always available if needed. Otherwise it appeared to be your own personal B&B! The location was perfect! In the heart of the old town yet far enough away from any city noise. A very charming and old home that we will definitely be returning to on our next visit to Quebec City. Thank you Jolanta for a wonderful stay at your B&B from Andy and Cathie!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a stay at this B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This has to be one of the best locations inside the old city of Quebec. We were within easy walking distance of all the attractions inside and outside the walls. Jolanta spoiled us with fabulous breakfasts every morning including coffee cakes, quiches, french toast, ham, cheese, bagels, bread, and more. She struck just the right note as a hostess - there when needed but not hovering over our every moment. She gave us several good tips on places to go and area restaurants worth dining in. Guests feel comfortable to interact or not. There are wonderful outside terraces to which we brought our own wine and mid-day meals. Our bed was large and comfortable. Among the best B&B experiences we have had.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so access to the 2d and 3d floors requires using the stair. They were not bad f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in mid-July. The hotel (Really, I'd describe it more as a Bed & Breakfast) was within walled Old Quebec and centrally located between hustling, chaotic rue St-Jean and the beautiful central area near Chateau Frontenac. The rooms in this hotel are spacious and adorned with an eclectic (and I do mean eclectic) mix of old furniture, antiques, clashing colors, and original paintings. The paintings are striking--not always to my liking--and very diverse. The beds are comfortable, although some of the pillows are as hard and heavy as sandbags--no lie! Room a/c works well and is quiet (unlike most room a/c's). Our hostess, Jolanta, was a charming and elegant woman. Her breakfasts were a highlight--always a hot course (French toast, quiche, souffle), as well as a variety of cold offerings (yogurt, cereal, ham and cheese, croissants, etc.). The steps can be difficult to negotiate if you are carrying large luggage, and most of the rooms are either on the second or third floor. I'm not sure, but I think there's only one room on the first floor. All in all, a wonderful establishment with a wonderful hostess!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed three days at Castel d'Amérique bed and breakfast and had a wonderful experience! The breakfasts were fabulous, with a lot of variety, and included quiche, fresh fruits, breads, cakes, and goat cheese with jellies. It was all delicious! We ate out on the terrace a couple times, which was so nice! The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable - a great mix of historic ambiance with modern convenience, including personal control over the room's air conditioning. The bathroom had a removable shower head that was like getting a massage, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were amazing. My daughter hated to leave the pillows when we left! Jolanta was a very kind and wonderful host! We would definitely go back, and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Since this is a bed and breakfast, it does not have an elevator, so be sure to request a lower-level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can't say enough nice things about the Castel d'Amerique Francaise. The hostess is charming and very accommodating, and the room was fantastic. There were two queen size beds plus a single bed, in a big, charming room decorated with very interesting original, modern artwork. The bathroom was roomy and modern, with plenty of towels. It was hot that week in Quebec, mid-80s, but the air conditioner in the room worked very effectively and it was quite comfortable. Breakfast was great: quiche, coffee cake, or banana cake; hard boiled eggs; plenty of different kinds of bread; lots of different cereals; cheese and yogurt; and excellent coffee and plenty of tea choices. The location was terrific, with just a 10 minute walk to the Chateau Frontenac and the heart of Old Quebec. The only caution note is for people who cannot climb stairs. There is no elevator, and the stairs are rather high and steep. If you have trouble carrying suitcases up stairs, this might not be for you. But for everyone else, this is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 101 in Quebec City
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel d'Amerique Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel d'Amerique Francaise

Property: Castel d'Amerique Francaise
Address: 31, Ste-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castel d'Amerique Francaise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castel d'Amerique Francaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel d`Amerique Francaise Hotel Quebec City
Castel D'Amerique Francaise Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing