We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Ranked #78 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I did not expect much of this hotel but I was really happy to get a good service and a fair price for this hotel located at 5 minutes from the airport, with a taxi. My 2 kids and I stayed only one night but just enough to enjoy the breakfast with ham, juices, cereals and good coffee for me.

Room was Clean and beds confortable, thanks to the frontdesker who sent us to a great family restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad your kids enjoyed the hotel.
I am glad you were able to use our FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE service.

Thank you
Bruce Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    69
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
63
64
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The property is old, and in January 2014, half closed for renovation. We were looking for an inexpensive place near airport. This fit the bill.

Cons, Parking lot was Icy and the security was a joke. The door was operated by a remote buzzer, but no way visible for the person allowing access to see or know who they were letting in. Hopefully renovations will include room key access locks on outside doors.

Internet/business center was a joke. Non existent even.

Breakfast was decent, again for the price, not a bad nights sleep.

Room was comfortable, some furnishing dated, but comfortable.

Room Tip: No frills paid for, non received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizgig46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank for your comments we appreciate them all.
The hotel has 24 security and has a very good system for the doors ,when a client buzzes the
door our desk clerk will ask for your room number and name.The door will then be opened.We have 5 secured access doors with buzzers.Secondly , we are only 5 minutes from the airport , exactly the location you required .
We are doing some rénovations ,changing some beds , Skirting , new bed covers, some TV,s,
But nothing major to shut down half the hotel. We close part of our hotel during the off season
to conserve energy and make it more comfortable for guests. It also give us a chance to paint
and fix things up before winter carnival.
thank you and hope to see you in the near future.
Bruce Laurie , owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Perfect little hotel in Quebec city, staying one night and all was perfect, fast check-in, free parking, the breakfast was just ok. Start to show sign of age, bathroom are small but ok. the only complain is that the wall are paper thin, i can literally ear my neighboor making is number 2 in the morning, or ear the ice machin that was totally in the end of the hotel. listening people walking on the floor over me. Other little thing was that the day i arrive in the hotel was close of -30 degres out and the room was cold, set to 18 degres, when i will appreciate to enter a warm room when is so cold outside. Other point is that the hotel have another middle entrance, but you need to ring and wait that they open you the door, that every time i wait 2-3 minutes out in the cold waiting that they open... why not place a scanner that can read the door key of our room and let us enter FAST.

But king bed was really confortable, large clean room and wifi working super fast.
I will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yullover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. As you mentioned in your comments it was unusually cold last week and our housekeeping dept. needed to adjust the room temperature to 20 celcius..We apologize for this inconvenience.Our Deluxe breakfast is one of the best in our catagory, but we
will be once again upgrading with some new items. As for thin walls , this is the first time we have
had this complaint. We also have door silencers on all doors which makes it nearly impossible to hear people walking in the corridors.We will verify all rooms to make sure they are all working correctly.

Thank you and hope to see you very soon.

Bruce Laurie , owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is older but very clean. The customer service was good. We visited during the snow storm this week and the snow removal was really good. I would recommend staying at this hotel. The breakfast area was clean with good options including tea.

Room Tip: Upgrade room or large and quite comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricket_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you for kind words,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the most recent snow
storm. We hope to accomodate you in the future. Please call us directly for great rates.

Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice hotel close to the airport! Hotel came highly recommended from staff at our previous location. First we were thinking to stay at airport and just wait for our plane, but decided to come to this hotel since the price was really reasonable! And we are glad we did! Clean hotel room, nice staff and great price! What else can we ask for?!? Thank you guys!!!!

Room Tip: be nice to front desk staff!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your kind words . We are striving to improve our hotel everyday.
Great price , great service.

Bruce Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good value for price paid. The rooms were clean. The location was convenient to where we wanted to visit as it is right off a main boulevard. Breakfast was ok. You need to make an extra push or pull to close the room doors properly though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued client,

Thank you for your kind words. We offer a very competitve breakfast with waffles, Bagels, 4 types of bread , muffins, cream cheese, fruit salad, bananas, Oatmeal, 3 types of cereal,juice,yogourt ,milk,chocolat milk,coffee, tea, jams, butter. We will be adding hard boiled eggs to the breakfast bar.

As for the room door sticking, we will make sure the doors are easy to open. This has already been addressed.

Thank you , Hope you visit with us again real soon, Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We checked in easily with 43 persons, they had our keys ready and handled the luggage very friendly. They accommodated our group for continental breakfast in a large room on the second floor. Some people asked for room spray as their room smelled a little musty....once the air was turned on for awhile it was ok. My only issue was not having access to the key to turn on the whirlpool spa. It's advertised but not available and the explaination was confusing. It's an adverage clean budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for the review. The spa does not need a key it turns on by pushing the jets button.
I think they may have been a little misunderstanding between the reception and yourselves and
we apologize for this.The hotel is very clean and appreciate the nice comments concerning our staff.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#88 of 102 in Quebec City
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#85 of 102 in Quebec City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#48 of 102 in Quebec City
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#83 of 102 in Quebec City
47 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#71 of 102 in Quebec City
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Quebec City

Property: Howard Johnson Quebec City
Address: 7300 Boul Wilfrid Hamel Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Quebec City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Internatiional Airport.12 Minutes from downtown Quebec. Free buffet breakfast,Free Wireless internet,Free parking,Onsite car rental. Free Shuttle to airport.Spa hottub, Beer and wine service.Close restaurant and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quebec City Hotel Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing