We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Pickering, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The room was a little dated but not smelly. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    71
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
65
65
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I totally agree with patagonicmilton's review. A/C units are exactly like the one shown in his picture and are very noisy. When we first entered the room there was a strong musty smell that almost made me want to go back and ask for another room, but after a 14-hr trip I was in no mood to argue with anyone ( the smell was still there after 4 days). Rooms are nothing like the pictures, it's obvious that very little money (if any) was ever spent on new carpets, curtains, furniture since it first opened. It offers a free complimentary breakfast which is identical every day: milk, small muffins, butter and jam portions and bad coffee, better rent a small fridge and buy your own stuff. I have stayed at Comfort Inn next door and they are so much better, HoJo Quebec was by far the worst hotel experience I ever had. If you are planning on visiting Quebec, pay a little extra and book a nice hotel where sheets are changed daily and furniture is from this century.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Lhospitalet
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Wonderful and excellent hotel with employees very good !
Good price ! Good bedroom ! Good employee ! Good breakfast !

I am very very happy !!
Thanks a lot at this hotel for his wonderful quality !!

Frédéric FERRER

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrerfrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval,QC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I have been on the road for years (30+) and been going to this hotel for years. I also send a lot of colleagues to this place and none have ever said a bad things and are going back. We travelling salespeople are very demanding and when it's not OK we chnage quickly. So when, just for fun looked at the reviews for this hotel saw the bad reviews I said, these people have not seen a lot in their life and if they want perfection go to the 200$+ rooms and you may not get friendly personnel like this one.
This is the best deal for your money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Great location, close to the higway and the airport. But the room were awful. They need a lot of refreshment. Small, noisy and the bed was not really confortable. Go at he Days Inn next door, it's way better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petawawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I sayed at this hotel for the second time within a year. It's just okay if you do not want to pay too much. Rooms are old, but clean. Very good point: staff is extremly friendly and do anything required to help you. The hotel is close to the airport. It is also close to other hotels, so i guess you can find better, for the same price, very close.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickchabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I got worried after booking this hotel then reading the bad reviews, but it is just fine. The hotel is old, but the rooms are clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I did happen to see one of the newer remolded rooms and they are quite nice. The continental breakfast was minimal but okay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler42Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#88 of 101 in Quebec City
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#84 of 101 in Quebec City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#72 of 101 in Quebec City
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#83 of 101 in Quebec City
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#67 of 101 in Quebec City
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Quebec City

Property: Howard Johnson Quebec City
Address: 7300 Boul Wilfrid Hamel Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Quebec City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Internatiional Airport.12 Minutes from downtown Quebec. Free buffet breakfast,Free Wireless internet,Free parking,Onsite car rental. Free Shuttle to airport.Spa hottub, Beer and wine service.Close restaurant and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quebec City Hotel Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing