We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional hotel and location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Highly recommend. Great hotel and amazing location. You will be happy that you chose this hotel. Staff was wonderful and rooms were beautiful. I would definitely go back to this hotel. Quebec. City is a gorgeous place too!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sandy R,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Geneviève Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,802
    739
    313
    120
    64
See reviews for
1,098
1,868
114
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Gorgeous hotel, friendly, comfortable, excellent food, comfortable king room. Down side is no WiFi in anywhere on the property without a price. Be sure to make a reservation for the bar and definitely try the Canadian gin, Ungava, not available in the US yet. Breakfast was fabulous at $28/ person. I thought that was pricey until I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in NY ($40). Quebec City is a gorgeous city, great food everywhere we went and the people (and tourists) are so very friendly. The 2hr. City Walking tour was excellent. The Frontenac should have more restaurant choices, however. The bar area with light food fare is small and can't accommodate the guests. We had great service everywhere: breakfast restaurant, bar, & concierge

Room Tip: We had a king overlooking old quebec. It was a great view and nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear njm54,
Thank you for taking time to share feedback of your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We offer complimentary WIFI when you join Fairmont President's Club, which is also complimentary. As we have just recently completed our renovations, our restaurants and bars will be in full operation as of this week which will offer additional outlets for guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit in Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were treated like kings! While the Fairmont in Quebec is more costly than other hotels it is well worth it. The level of service is awesome. It is also perfectly situated for travel within the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Wayne Allen B,
Thank you for this great feedback! We hope to see you again at the Chateau.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duanesburg, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

They did a remarkable job of remodeling the building, the new is integrated with the old very nicely. The rooms are small, but comfortable with a great view of the St. Lawrence. It is frustrating to have to pay for internet after paying so much for the room! The food in the restaurant was really good, but the service was lacking due to the need for more waiters. The wait staff was very frazzled from being pushed so hard. Breakfast was way overpriced, but there are many other places to eat a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear L W,
Thank you for taking time to share feedback of your recent experience. Although you enjoyed your overall experience, we did take not of your feedback regarding costs. Internet is complimentary when you join the Fairmont President's Club which is also complimentary and you can enroll onlilne. With the reopening of our restaurants following the renovations, we are putting a lot of efforts to assist our colleagues provide the best service possible. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next Quebec City visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Quebec City is one of the great destinations of this wonderful country that is Canada. However traveling to Quebec staying at the Frontenac has another flavor. The iconic hotel which was decided by the Normandy invasion is spectacular to see and stay. Fairmont is synonymous with quality in hospitality and we were treated very well trained by us in a hotel immaculately maintained, with very delicious and lounge room, very tasty. Enjoyed the Gold Standard, but the entire hotel has wonderful services. Recomendadíssimo and returning to Quebec Hotel is hosting more than obligatory in Frontenac. You do not arrepederá of staying in this castle-hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear MrMoreira,
It is truly rewarding to read your review which we will be sharing with our teams. Thank you so much for taking time to share this wonderful feedback with us and we hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Obviously my rating is relative to this being a 5 star hotel.

I was really looking forward to this stay. I have been to Fairmonts before, most notably the one in Banff Springs, and enjoyed it tremendously. I have been here two days now (one more to go), and so far it has not been what i hoped for. From the moment we arrived i simply have not had that 5 Star feeling. I am not even sure i can quite say why, but from the check-in to the facilities i have not been impressed. They are at the tail end of a large rebuilding, but that really has not been the problem.
The most notable issue has been the wifi. They are charging $17 a day for it. These days that would be unacceptable in a youth hostel! Now i did find a way around this: go to the concierge and fill out the form to join the Fairmont Presidents Club. It's free, and includes free Internet. Unfortunately then it turned out that the wifi is very slow, in fact this morning it was so slow as to be useless. If i had actually paid $17 for a non-working internet i would really be angry!

Room Tip: This is a huge hotel. If your are in the wing opposite the elevators you will have quite a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The renovations have been done well and look almost complete. The location is just wonderful with great views across the St Laurence and access to Old Quebec.

We had been delayed due to fog at Quebec airport and arrived a day late. Unfortunately we still had to wait for our room. That said, once in the room it was comfortable and brand new. It was small, nestled in the roof line, but the wardrobes and bathroom were well proportioned.

To be able to step out the hotel door and have the sights all around us was terrific.

Overall a lovely hotel and a great experience. Just having the room ready given the circumstances would have made it perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing