We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le château ne perd pas son charme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Le château ne perd pas son charme”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Once again, this was a memorable experience at the Château Frontenac. The hotel underwent renovations. The room (number 6157) had a great view of Terrasse Dufferin and the fleuve! It is worth paying the extra to get a view from the fleuve even if you spend all day shopping and visiting the city. This room was very quiet and I could not hear the neighbours from upstairs or beside me. Looking forward to a next stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a riverview (fleuve). You have free wifi if you are member of Fairmont (free member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Helene H,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Chateau Frontenac. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay once again and that you appreciated the recent renovations. Thank you for taking time to post feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,860
    751
    314
    121
    65
See reviews for
1,109
1,913
113
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here in late June for a week. There were a couple of glitches on check in which I wasn't aware of until after my stay. The Senior Staff did a wonderful job in retroactively addressing my concerns.

The hotel itself was wonderful. Great location. Easy access to everything. There was a small gift on arrival and turndown service of a water bottle and maple cookie was wonderful. Housekeeping staff were great as were the staff in the Club Lounge who made me hot chocolate nightly.

Upgraded rooms with nice bathrooms. Nice fitness centre, pool and patio area. Easy access to the convention centre and to low town. And the Boardwalk is a great place to sit and watch the world go by.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the St. Lawrence have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaSportsDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear CanadaSportsDoc,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to appropriately resolve your check-in issues. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again on your next Quebec City visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
707 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Everyone who has been to Quebec City, or Canada for that matter, probably knows of the Chateau Frontenac, that iconic hotel in the heart of the city, with the giant copper roof. Having traveled numerous times to Quebec, and the Frontenac, I was literally blown over by the incredible renovation of the property. Our room was incredible, both in terms of decor and comfort. The bathroom had been totally remodelled, removing the tub and replacing it with a marble-wrapped shower. Service has always been a part of the Frontenac's legacy, and the renovation did nothing to tarnish the staff's commitment to making your stay perfect. The new restaurant on the main floor is spectacular, and worth a trip on its own. Put it this way, if you;re coming to Quebec City, the decision to stay at the Frontenac is a 'no brainer.'

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Lawrence2300,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Chateau Frontenac, we are honored to be your favorite hotel in Quebec City. I was so pleased to read your wonderful feedback regarding the newly renovated Chateau. You have perfectly described the experience we wish to offer guests with the nouveau Chateau! Thank you for taking time to share feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If ever traveling to Quebec City, I had always wishes to stay at Le Chateau Frontenac. It was an outstanding and very memorable experience. It's beyond beautiful and one in which our family immensely enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Victoria U,
We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Chateau. Thank you for providing such a great review and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay at Le Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City this summer was absolutely my best experience ever with accommodations and friendly service! It costs more than many hotels, but the staff, facilities, and location are second to none!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear John B,
What a delight to read your review and know we were able to create such a memorable experience for you. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac could not be a better place to stay in Quebec. Great view, close to the history, and beautiful! The hotel is one place that I've always wanted to visit and was not disappointed. To be such a big place, we felt like we were the only people there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Alan B,
Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau and that we were able to make it so memorable. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit in Quebec City.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is an oasis in Quebec. Settled on the major promenade towering over the Old City, Le Chateau Frontenac offers stunning views of the St. Laurent River, Saint Jean de I'Ile d'Orleans and some rollings hills. The staff greats you at your car and will escort you inside to check in and bring your bags up to your luxurious room with views of the courtyard or the city. The hotel has a a few bars and lounges to enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail in a romantic atmosphere. Extremely close (less than 2 minute) walk to the Funiculaire and stairs to Old City as well as 5 minute walk to many cafes and restaurants, this truly is the city "hub." You deserve to treat yourself to a stay at the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, but if funds are tight, at least stop by to snap a few photos or have a drink at the glass window'd bar.

Green Features: Recycling bin in room; water conservation efforts with towel cleaning
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarMarMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear CarMarMax,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay and the service extended by our colleagues. Thank you for your wonderful review which I will share with our teams and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing