We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go inside , A unique historical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I did'nt sleep in the hotel but I was in a convention there. This is a wonderful and unique historical place and if they let you inside you must have a look around, WHY?
A. just as you enter and pass the arch about the car road turn around and look up, you will see a strange red rock. this was put there by the free masons as a proof they built it.
B . inside at the corridors you will find photos of the famous visitors including Winston Churchill, the queen as well as movie stars like James Dean, Leonardo DiCaprio and other icons like Paul McCartney, Alfred Hitchcock and Steven Spielberg.
C. The most important part- This was the allies headquarter during WW-II (there is a sign outside next to the door). This is also the place they planed the invention to Europe !!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Tomer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tomer79,
Thank you for this review and these historical details. We will soon be launching an historic tour application that will be available on iTunes and Android for visitors to learn more about our history. It will be available early fall.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,666 - 3,672 of 5,073 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff was excellent, the location is perfect, the amenities (top notch) are what you would expect in a Fairmont Property. The property itself is the star though - the public areas as well as the rooms are beautifully restored/preserved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear StP81,
Thank you for this amazing feedback. We are so thrilled you enjoyed the Chateau experience and hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Outstanding service and amenities at Le Chateau Frontenac. Gold level accomodations are worth every $. The hotel's location make it our only choice in Quebec City. (Two hundred minimum characters seems excessive for a concise review.)

Room Tip: Gold level rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRay617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear JRay617,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and specifically the Fairmont Gold experience. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a grand hotel in a beautiful part of Quebec City. We felt very pampered. Everyone from the valet to front desk to concierge were so friendly and helpful. Our room (Fairmont room) was huge! Beds are very comfortable and the room was very quiet. We loved the fact that everything we wanted to see was within walking distance of the hotel. This was my first time in a Fairmont hotel. I was very impressed. As other reviewers have recommended, sign up for the President's Club. It is free and will allow you to have free WiFi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Newfielover0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Newfielover0804,
Thank you for this great review of your recent stay at the Chateau. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Fairmont experience and hope that you will choose Fairmont again in a near future. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we sincerely appreciate it.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

fantastic hotel with magnificent views from the courtyards. friendly reception, clean rooms, no problem to huge for them to resolve. the location is ideal for the getaway from the normal city hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LRAJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear LRAJ2014,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for this wonderful feedback which we will share with our teams. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this stunning hotel over March Break 2014, during one of the coldest winters on record!! Despite the cold and the renovations, the Chateau still WOW'd us and took our breath away! Amazing views from our standard room, lovely décor, comfy beds. Rooms are on the small side but very well appointed and stylish. This iconic hotel offers impeccable service, 10+ amenities and a perfect location to tour Beautiful Quebec City. Don't miss the pool, hot tubs and sauna...after a cold day of sight seeing or dog sledding, this is a lovely treat. Steps from the lower ville, lovely shops and restaurants will enchant you. My only disappointment was that the Grand Foyer was under renovation and guests were routed through the side door to register. This just gives us a reason to return...perhaps during warmer weather!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travel_bunny3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear travel_bunny3838,
Thank you for this great review of your March break vacation with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed the experience - despite the cold! We are pleased to let you know that our grand makeover is now complete and we hope to welcome you again soon so you can experience our newly renovated Chateau. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A lovely hotel in Quebec City. Historic structure in the center of the Old City. Could not have been more centrally located. Hotel has recently been remolded, most rooms are done. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, as is a tradition of all Fairmont hotels. Staff is very helpful with information on enjoying all that Quebec City has to offer.

Room Tip: A room on the end of the halls, up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Susan L,
We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us. Our teams work hard to make each guest stay special and it is truly rewarding to read your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
2,915 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £127 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing