We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High price”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed 8/4 thru 8/7 two rooms $500/night each room. Very poor views, small room, needed to move a chair to see out at an angle to see river. When making reservations we were advised great wonderful views. Advised construction was over but each day workers re-did (worked on roof). When there, discussed our disapproval of room. They advised upgrade was $125/night per room. Later connected hotel again. They advised 2 free nights in upgraded rooms, we were traveling and could not go back. Really greatly disappointment as trip was for a special event.
Breakfast included $65 for two

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Dick B,
Thank you for taking time to share feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay. I am pleased that you were able to speak with a hotel representative following your stay and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,963
    779
    322
    125
    67
See reviews for
1,147
1,985
117
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I must offer a contrasting review to the rave ratings of other travelers. My husband and I just returned from QC and the Chateau after a 2-night stay for our anniversary. We had been guests of the Chateau Frontenac in years past (when they were a Canadian Pacific hotel) and had always felt that it was a special experience to stay there because of the service, the hospitality, the complimentary breakfast included, etc....we found it more expensive a few years ago and this past weekend confirmed for us how things have changed. We were in a queen room with a courtyard view at a rate of almost $400 per night. The room was small with a tiny, older bathroom that needed some serious upgrading. However, we knew that we would probably be in a small room due to the rather inexpensive (?) rate, comparatively. But the real drag for us was in the level of "nickel and diming" we experienced. There is a $32 daily charge for valet parking; one liter of bottled water in the minibar was $8.50; breakfast buffet was $28 per person (really????); and in this day and age, no free wi-fi. Unbelievable. Something like $15.95 per 24 hours.
In addition, when we casually walked into the bar for a drink, we sat down and were promptly told that this bar was a "wine and cheese" bar and that cocktails were not available. Okay. So we were escorted to the SAM bar where we could not sit near a window (that is only for folks who are planning to eat there) - we were seated in the main area instead. We soon discovered that there are "guards" standing at the entrance to both bars and restaurant ensuring, I guess, that a controlled clientele would be optimal. It was unwelcoming, to say the least.
Overall, the entire Chateau experience was overpriced, over-resting-on-past-lore, and overrated. There are plenty of other places to stay and certainly more welcoming establishments. Between the rip-off Funiculare rides at $5 one way per couple and the outrageous overall prices around the city, my suggestion is to bring plenty of money on your visit!! It will be a while before we will go back, that's for sure. We live in Maine and I fully understand the allure of our fabulous state to the citizens of Quebec.

Room Tip: The more expensive, the better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dajoho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear dajoho2013,
I am sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our teams, specifically regarding the bar/restaurant experience for follow-up. You will be pleased to know that our Fairmont President's Club members receive complimentary internet access and enrollment is also complimentary. Thank you for taking time to share feedback and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It is a beautiful hotel. We stayed here two nights. The rooms were comfortable. If you have trouble walking, ask for rooms closer to the elevators. The hotels is set up in a square. Your room could end up completely on the other side of the entrance. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The concierge made excellent suggestions for dinners and excursions. The King room had an amazing shower and all the comforts of a high-end hotel. It was easy to explore while always being able to see the hotel from nearly every point in Old Quebec City. Join the Fairmont club, I believe it allows free wi-fi.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor opposite the check-in. Not noisy. King rooms have more room in them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Gator91,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for the great feedback and we hope you visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Chateau Frontenac is gorgeous and apparently newly renovated. It is an experience all unto itself. My kids were impressed the moment we unloaded our van and gave it over to the valet - my son said "He's dressed like a king!" They do have beautiful uniforms! We used the valet service because it's the same price as the self-park and you have in-and-out privileges. We didn't go in-and-out but if you have EVER parked in Quebec City - you understand the value of having someone else do it for you. The valets were really nice and very helpful. We had a Jr. Suite. We all fit into it nicely. The kids crashed on the pullout sofa and we had a luxurious king sized bed. We used the pool and it is very nice. Beautiful! If you go - use the steam rooms in the change rooms - they pipe in the most amazing scent and you feel so good after you've been in there. The best part of the Chateau is that it is truly the "heart" of Quebec City. It is a great place to base yourself if you want to explore the city. We saw a lot and we were only there for a one night stay. The staff is amazing and everyone was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a Jr. Suite. It fit our family well but it was close to $600 for one night. We knew we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5CanucksOntheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 5CanucksOntheBeach,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent family vacation. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the experience and the great amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for taking time to share feedback with us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This Fairmont is not as vibrant on the inside as the Fairmont in Victoria BC, however the outside is beautiful. The rooms are large and roll away's are available, so a family of five is comfy in a 2 queen room. Very clean, fantastic Fairmont soaps etc. The location is perfect for exploring beautiful old Quebec City, especially at night. Performers and fireworks are at the doorstep every night. FYI...Check with the concierge about times and activities/events each day, we went off of info posted online about Cirque du Soleil and were missed the show.

Room Tip: Register for the presidents club, you will receive free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rainforestrunner,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Fairmont Hotels. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location in the midst of Old Quebec. Recently renovated the hotel was full. The staff very friendly and helpful.
Two caveats if you have trouble with stairs. Make sure your room is in a level where the elevator stops. The hotel has rooms in levels in some floors where, after leaving the elevator, one has to go up or down stairs to get to the room. The Champlain restaurant also has two levels so ask for the level with no steps.

I

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abuela_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear abuela_11,
Thank you for this great feedback of your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the Chateau experience and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fairmont Frontenac is the perfect location for exploring Quebec City.
Fairmont Gold was wonderful- Simon was fantastic!
The Fairmont is a gorgeous historical site!
We were fortunate to experience fireworks on the St. Lawrence River and a parade in front of the hotel as the city celebrated the Founding of New France.
Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 390Diane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear 390Diane67,
Thank you for this great feedback of your recent Chateau experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to take full advantage of the New France festival and fireworks. We will share your feedback with our teams, including Simon. Thank you for taking time to share it with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
2,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing