We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Frontenac fitting for Quebec Historical fortress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For our 10th year wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to go all out and stay at *the* hotel of hotels of old Quebec City. Being a special occasion we decided to go forth even though the price was significantly higher then other options. We realize that the extra cost would give us options like being at walking distance to everything in the citadel (fortress), whether restaurants, historical sites, picturesque view and overall ambience of the old city of Quebec.

It's a tough call but if you can afford 1 night, go for this one. Fairmont is world recognized too of class and this one is no exception. The staff goes way out if their way to make it a great stay. This could simply be as simple as holding a door, or running to your car for valet service (which I always makes me nervous)... First check if they work there before giving away the keys ;-)

I've stayed at Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montreal, and I would have to rank the Chateau Frontenac well above it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Patrick L,
Thank you for posting a review. We truly value guest feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Chateau. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,376 - 3,382 of 4,789 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Amazing hotel, when you get into the old village you see the hotel from anywhere! It really is the place to be! The rooms are very nice with a modern design and good size! Bathrooms are a bit small but have all you need. The public areas are so beautiful. Had dinner one night at Bistro Le Sam. Interesting menu and great food! Will sure be back soon! Absolutely fell in love with the hotel and the city!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rianneplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Rianneplaya,
What a delight to read your review and know your stay was so special and memorable. We are thilled you had such an amazing time and look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I can't say enough about our visit. We had a tower room with a panoramic view of the St. Lawrence River. It was spacious and comfortable. We felt pampered from all the staff. One of the bell men gave us an excellent dinner suggestion and made the reservation for us. Our hotel couldn't have been in a better location. While pricey it was worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Debby4353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Debby4353,
Thank you so much for this fantastic review and for taking time to post it. We are pleased you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for recognizing our bellman team, it will be a pleasure to share your feedback with them. We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in one of the newly renovated suites at the Chateau and it was beautiful. We had a river view which was perfect for the fireworks shows that were taking place. The room had a separate sitting area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Tania W,
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our newly renovated room and that you were even able to see the fireworks from your windows. We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

No visit to Quebec City is complete without staying or visiting the Chateau Frontenac. It is a national treasure, luxurious, well maintained and good customer service. We have been many times over the years to the New Years Eve and Day celebrations and it is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Lynda H,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Chateau Frontenac. We are truly honored to be your hotel of choice in Quebec City and for special celebrations such as New Year's Eve. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is a bit run down and needs refurbishing. Too many guests and too few staff members to look after the guests. Both check in and check out take far too long. The rooms are large and clean but the overall experience was not very satisfying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Parul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Parul G,
Thank you for taking time to post feedback. As the hotel just recently completed a major renovation of guestrooms, public areas and restaurants, I was surprised to read your feedback regarding our refurbishment. As we work to constantly improve our service and amenities, we would love to hear more information regarding your experience so we can better understand your disappointment. Please feel free to contact me at genevieve.parent@fairmont.com.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Looking at the Chateau Frontenac from any angle, it's simply majestic. The location is superb. The boardwalk is right at its door step. The St Laurence river is in front of it. It's in the Quebec City old town. There are shops, restaurants etc nearby. Very charming. Inside the hotel, the decor is luxurious and old-world.

Keep in mind, about half of the rooms will be facing inside. For the rooms that are facing outside, more than half have a river view, the rest have a city view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collector_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear collector_hunter,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking time to post with us. We are delighted you had such a great stay and hope you will visit again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £124 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing