We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, in spite of a nor'easter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, in spite of a nor'easter”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Last time I was in Quebec I decided next time I would stay at Chateau Frontenac because it seemed to be the hub of all the street excitement that makes Quebec so fun. Unfortunately a nor'easter followed us in so that put a bit of a damper on most of the street performers and the usual goings on along the riverfront. We bought some ponchos and got thru our two wet days and still enjoyed the city but it wasn't quite what we had hoped for. The hotel is beautiful to look at and you can see it from very far away. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfy. The hotel was packed and because of the rain, the restaurants in the hotel were also very, very busy. The taxes are just crazy though adding about $100 to the room price plus another $32 for parking so keep that in mind when making your reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear gigigo,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay. We are so sorry about all the rain in Quebec City during your visit... this is such unusual temperature for the time of the year. We are glad you were still able to make the most of your visit and enjoyed staying at the Chateau. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,954
    777
    322
    124
    67
See reviews for
1,144
1,979
117
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St-lazare, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the excellent booking to departure the experience here was exquisite. I would definitely return. The added touch was the offer of an ice cold bottle of water from valet service when I left. That's class!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Andrea P,
We are so pleased you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for sharing feedback and we look forward to your next visit at the Chateau.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is the iconic hotel of Quebec City and it's beautiful with a great location. It's very pricey, like all Fairmont hotels. The rooms are nice, elegant, some have amazing views of the river. Surprisingly, despite the price, they will try to nickel and dime you to death (charges for every single little thing, such as wifi and parking). Still a great experience if you can afford it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hannac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear hannac33,
Thank you for your great feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Would stay there again and will highly recommend to our friends and family.
The concierges were very knowledgeable and helpful. The location is the best in Quebec. The staff went out of their way to make our stay outstanding.













  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Theron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Theron T,
Thank you for this fantastic review! What an honor to know we are your favorite hotel experience. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to the Old City. The property is in excellent shape and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked a service area where trucks unloaded so was a bit noisy at the early hours of the morning. Our room was supposed to have a King sized bed but by USA standards it was definitly a Queen size.
My biggest disappointment was the $15 per day charge for WiFi. Nowadays even the smallest Motel offers free WiFi ! Also the parking charge of $32 per day was a bit steep for a hotel at the top of the price range for the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank bcargyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear bcargyl,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your overall experience and the service.
We truly regret that you were inconvenienced by our Internet rates. You may be interested to know that we provide complimentary high speed internet to all members of our Fairmont President’s Club and that membership is also complimentary. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Hotel and staff greeted you immediately. Our Suite was ready upon our arrival. Our room was amazing..the views the size the amenities. The beds were so so comfortable, the bathroom large. The room was quite, we did not hear any outside noise. The restaurants and shops were fabulous. THe history of the Hotel and the beauty were amazing

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KelleyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear KelleyRN,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent romantic getaway. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and that we were able to make it so memorable. Thank you for taking time to post feedback and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was there a week ago. The mobile phones do not have signals in many parts inside the hotel. Also it is very noise. I think it is a landmark in Quebec but it is far from other Fairmont hotels, e.g. Fairmont at Vancouver (waterfront), Calgary (Palliser) are more better than this one.

The location is good (downtown) but the hotel needs to improve some services

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRC233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear CRC233,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback of your recent stay. As we work hard to offer a memorable stay for all of our guests, we would like to to better understand the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. If you can contact me at genevieve.parent@fairmont.com it would be greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
2,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing