We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great moments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great moments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic outside look and a marvellous view of the Saint-Laurent from the bar. My partners and I have a lot of fun in the city. and this hotel is very well located. Nice experience to have. Quebec city is a little part of Europe in North America.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 971GuyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 971GuyC,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking time to share it with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,697
    726
    309
    117
    63
See reviews for
1,063
1,808
111
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is the place to stay in Quebec City! We experienced impeccable service, a well-appointed room with a view of the city, and exquisite food at the restaurant. Memorable

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dewey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Dewey H,
We are so excited to hear that you had a memorable time with us! Your gracious comments are a continuous inspiration to our team to work harder every day. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for taking time to post a review and we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Completely enjoyed our stay in this iconic property. Smooth process upon arrival with doormen & valet. Followed a tour group in for check-in and hardly noticed what often can feel like an interminable wait behind a large group. Front desk quickly sorted through details of our reservation. Room had an upgrade which was greatly appreciated. Bathrooms are small but not inconsistent with scale typical in a legacy property. Bedrooms and living areas are well designed and handsomely appointed. The pool is a added benefit and provides access to terrace for sun & fresh air. Service at breakfast, while a bit of of wait to be seated, is prompt and thoughtful and food is superior to anything in the neighborhood, although pricey if not part of your rate. Would return in a heartbeat. Many thanks to Marie-Sophie for managing our reservation and for concierge Simon on the Gold Floor for making our visit a success!

Room Tip: Gold floor is worth the premium. Water views are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear JoanBarbara,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is very gratifying to know that our team has extended the kind of service we strive to offer our guests. I'm thrilled to know that we were able to help make your stay so enjoyable. It will be a pleasure for me to share to your great feedback with our teams. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Chateau frontenac.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Last time I was in Quebec I decided next time I would stay at Chateau Frontenac because it seemed to be the hub of all the street excitement that makes Quebec so fun. Unfortunately a nor'easter followed us in so that put a bit of a damper on most of the street performers and the usual goings on along the riverfront. We bought some ponchos and got thru our two wet days and still enjoyed the city but it wasn't quite what we had hoped for. The hotel is beautiful to look at and you can see it from very far away. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfy. The hotel was packed and because of the rain, the restaurants in the hotel were also very, very busy. The taxes are just crazy though adding about $100 to the room price plus another $32 for parking so keep that in mind when making your reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear gigigo,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay. We are so sorry about all the rain in Quebec City during your visit... this is such unusual temperature for the time of the year. We are glad you were still able to make the most of your visit and enjoyed staying at the Chateau. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-lazare, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the excellent booking to departure the experience here was exquisite. I would definitely return. The added touch was the offer of an ice cold bottle of water from valet service when I left. That's class!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Andrea P,
We are so pleased you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for sharing feedback and we look forward to your next visit at the Chateau.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is the iconic hotel of Quebec City and it's beautiful with a great location. It's very pricey, like all Fairmont hotels. The rooms are nice, elegant, some have amazing views of the river. Surprisingly, despite the price, they will try to nickel and dime you to death (charges for every single little thing, such as wifi and parking). Still a great experience if you can afford it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hannac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear hannac33,
Thank you for your great feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Would stay there again and will highly recommend to our friends and family.
The concierges were very knowledgeable and helpful. The location is the best in Quebec. The staff went out of their way to make our stay outstanding.













  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Theron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Theron T,
Thank you for this fantastic review! What an honor to know we are your favorite hotel experience. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Property: Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing