We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Musee du Fort

Musee du Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.92*
and up
Quebec City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #33 of 220 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum chronicles the history of the city, including the numerous battles fought for its control.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from a diorama, but the show was quite interesting and a good introduction to the history and geography of Quebec City. The young man who presented the show was very friendly and patiently answered everyone's questions. It is well worth a visit, and even the children in the audience seemed to enjoy it.

Thank PL28401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We really enjoyed the diorama. It was very entertaining and gave a really good account of historical facts. Not a special effects show, but in it's simplicity made history come to life. Staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Thank Beverley654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is essentially a small theatre with a mock-up of Quebec City and surrounding areas. A multimedia show dramatizes the various military engagements at Quebec. It's a bit low-tech by current standards, but I found it a really good way to get the lay of the land and learn a bit more about what when on in Quebec City in the 17th century. It's a few bucks and 30 minutes or so. I found it worthwhile to do as my first stop while in Upper Town.

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Kids will love this, and so did my wife and I. It's a very small museum above a fast food outlet, but it is clean, well laid out and costs only a 5 or 6 dollars. There's a small shop, various displays around the walls showing how the British, French and American armies, along with native Indians changed the history of Quebec 300 years ago. In the back room is a model of the city, showing with toy soldiers, model ships and lit-up pathways how invading armies tried to get into the area. There are even mini - explosions when the battles start. It's a great way to spend 40 minutes and rest those weary legs. Full marks.

Thank chocice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you go to the other museums in the city this 30 minute static attraction is a waste of money. The fee is excessive for a minimally maintained attraction that merely repeats what the other museums and attractions present in a more interesting way. See the Citadelle and the main museums for better presentations. I might think better of this "light" show if the price was cut in half and then I'm not so sure time and money wouldn't be better spent elsewhere.

Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anick H, Manager at Musee du Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comment posted May 1st regarding your visit made in October 2013. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience. At the Musée du Fort, we are proud to present an educational and entertaining sound and light show about the military history of Québec City. We are a small, not public-funded, unpretentious museum and our content aims at people who have an interest in history, especially military. Contrary to what you suggest, we are the only museum in Québec City that relates the history from 1608 to 1775 and the 6 invasions on a giant model with special effects. We have been in operation for 50 years and have recently done (after your visit) major improvements to our show. Regarding the entrance fee, we charge a lower price than most other museums and the cost is proportional to the time you spend at the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee du Fort also viewed

 

Been to Musee du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing