We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.71*
and up
Quebec City Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous 17th-century cathedral has been restored several times but still provides visitors with an ambiance of centuries past.
Argos, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holy Door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was open and the travel trough it was moving. The building is beautiful and the history is amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyYak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    504
    112
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Notre Dame”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had visited the Notre Dame Basilica at Montreal, so the comparison,though not intentional , were bound to happen.
The Quebec church isn't as grand as the other, but is pretty magnificent. It was just a quick stop for us since we did not see any tours bring offered.
Unlike Montreal, we did not pay a fee to enter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
858 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 975 helpful votes
“Need explanations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stopped in the Basilica as part of a walking tour. A wedding was taking place, and we just quickly walked through. There was no fee. We were told that the original building burned down and was reconstructed from photos in 1922. The inside is Rococo while the outside is quite plain. We did not see tours offered to give better explanations of the artwork or history of the church. We have seen a large number of Catholic Cathedrals, and this one was relatively simple in comparison. Maybe a lack of information was my problem.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another Notre-Dame Cathedrale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

If your fond of seeing cathedrals then this would definitely take your fancy. In fact, if you happen to have had visited other Notre-Dame cathedrals you could actually begin to compare the similarities or differences between each building. But what would definitely be different with each cathedral is the history and significance of each one of them.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBB1ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Considering it's free to see, it's worth stopping in to view the beautiful interior.
Not as magnificent as some old churches I've seen in Europe, but still worth the time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drip_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing