We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beauty.”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Beauty.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed at this Hotel in July of 2011. Unfortunately, the hotel had its front name sign covered by scaffolding, so don't accidentally miss it! You have to park in front of the hotel to unload, and then use valet parking. I generally don't use valet parking, but felt I had too in this instance, because I could not see any available parking anywhere in the Old City. I still don't know where they hid my car, but I did get it back in one piece when I left. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the service exceptional. The rooms were clean and adequate. The hotel is situated right near the most attractive parts of the Old City of Quebec, which are an easy walking distance away. This hotel was quite a bargain for its location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Hello,

Thank you for sending in some feedback. The Clarendon is 140 years old and our front door Marquise is going through a makeover. The exterior of the building is closely guarded by Unesco for the preservation of Québecs' heritage. We appologize for any inconveniences.

You do have the option to park yourself or use our free valet service. The parking space is right in front of the hotel and has easy access with a hallway that connects the hotel to the indoor parking area.

The lobby, bar and main dining room have also kept their art deco charm. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the location as well as the friendliness of our staff. I will pass on your kind words.

We hope that you will consider us once again during your next travel plans.

Regards,


Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    591
    219
    84
    42
See reviews for
332
635
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is in a great location; it was a very easy walk to restaurants, shops, the Chateau Frontenac and nearby attractions. The hotel staff was exceptional; everyone was welcoming, helpful and spoke English. They have a nice restaurant and bar on site. Housekeeping did a good job of keeping my room clean! They also have a concierge that appears to do double-duty as a doorman and bell captain. And they offer complimentary local calls and WIFI, which is a definite plus!

The negatives ...
The rooms have aged furniture, a traditional TV (not flat screen), the bathrooms are tiny, the beds are a bit too hard for my taste, and the walls are SUPER THIN and in need of a new coat of paint.

All this being said, this hotel is a pretty good option if you’re looking for a simple, clean and conveniently located place to spend the night (and have a pair of earplugs to drown out the noise from the hallway, nearby rooms, etc), but I would not recommend you stay here if you’re planning a romantic getaway and intend to spend a lot of time in the room.

Room Tip: Two rooms with the same description & cost may not necessarily look the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monte94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Hello,

Sorry for the delay in answering to your review. Thank you for taking the time to send in your observations.

The hotel is very well situated in the heart of old Québec city and everything is walking distance. Our housekeeping team works very hard to insure your comfort. I'm also glad to see that the free concierge service was helpful to you.

Our staff makes all the difference in the world with their curtous behaviour and their good knowledge about the surrounding area comes from the heart. All our staff is bilingual and they enjoy helping those that want to practice their french.

Once again thank you for your insight and we hope you enjoy the rest of the summer.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have stayed here three times now, and each stay has never failed to please. It might be the oldest hotel in Quebec, but I'd stack this up against the name brands any day. The location is ideal as a central "home base" for walking around both the old and new city. The staff are always professional, courteous, helpful and smiling. This trip I had an issue with an accidental double online booking and they took the stress away from me in an instant and made everything work. The hotel has a special charm to it, including an inviting comfortable lobby and an even more inviting bar/lounge, where you can sit and listen to live jazz on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights with huge open windows, where, on a summer night, you can sip a drink and listen to the clip clop of the horses outside as the carriages carrying visitors around the old city pass by. The room was ample and comfortable and equally as charming. We will always stay here when we vacation in Quebec city. There is also a convenient garage across the street where you can even park on your own, as there is a passageway to the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Get the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garedcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. It's always nice to receive comments from regular clients because you really know your way around the hotel and your insight is so important to us.

Sorry for the inconveniences caused by the double online booking. I'm glad to see that our front desk agents had the whole situation under control and that they insured your comfort and safety. Our 140 year old historical hotel does have the charm to go with it. Our magnificient lobby, bar and dining room cannot be found elsewhere. You must know that our building is protected by Unesco, so it's authenticity is guarded preciously.

I love the part where you mention the clip clop of the horses as the carriages and coachmen so expertly describe the surroundings. What a unique way to discover the old city.

I will pass on your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms to the housekeeping team as well as to the rest of the staff who did make a difference in your stay.

Thanks for choosing the Clarendon three times in a row and who's counting so why don't you make us part of your next travel plans.

Kind regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My wife and I stayed there for our first annaversery. We decided to go with only a couple of weeks notice, and right during a music festival which meant all the B&Bs were booked solid and those that did have rooms would have you move from one to another over the course of your stay.

Found Hotel Clarendon and booked.

I'll start with the good:
- The hotel is RIGHT in the old city, location is fantastic.
- Pricing was middle of the road (got it through a third party website that was abou 25% cheaper than the hotel's best rate)
- The staff was helpful whenever we had a question or needed something.
- Jazz bar was fantastic (though you don't need to stay there to enjoy the bar)
- Breakfastwas decent if uninspiring
The bad:
Ownership appears to have decided not to keep the rooms up to snuff, they seem dated and were poorly constructed when they were originally built:
- Gap between tub and floor
- Chipped towel rack
- Gaps in baseboards
- Tube TV (it wasn't watched, but goes to the upkeep of the room)
- HARD, UNCOMFORTABLE bed.

Would I return:
The beds provided a very restless night. I wouldn't waste my money staying somewhere I can't get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Good day to both of you,

Thank you for sending in your review. all reviews, comment cards and e-mails are read and scrutinized by me.

Management and staff are glad to see that our 140 year old heritage hotel, it's location and it's price fancied you. Our jazz nights are always sizzling and can be enjoyed on thursday, friday and saturday evenings from 9pm to midnight during the summer season and on friday's and saturdays during the winter period.

We have Front desk Agents 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. I'm sure that a quick dial 0 to the front desk would have permitted our staff to assist you with maybe a free ugrade and help from our concierge with the transfer of your luggage. It's always best to handle situation on the spot when we have all of the elements and solutions in front of us.

We are sorry for any inconveniences caused during your stay and we wish you a great summer.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

In the centre of Old Quebec this hotel is in a great location. Only stayed there one night since we were with six other relatives who live in Canada taking us on a road trip of the Quebec area. The service provided was great. A request for extra pillows was responded to within minutes. Great ambience in public areas. Drove there, sat nav was invaluable. Bedrooms are reasonable size and clean. Although in great location it is a quiet place. We didn't eat there since we went to a local restaurant for breakfast to get fantastic crepes. Every site that we wanted to see is within a short walk of the Clarendon. Or use the funicular if you don’t fancy the steps. Loved the hotel and Quebec City. Wished we had the opportunity to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Hello,

Thank you for sending in a review. I enjoy reading each and every one of them and they are always put to good use in order to continuously upgrade our services.

The Clarendon is 140 years old and I think you chose a great place to stay while visiting our historical city. Everything is walking distance and our free concierge service is available from 7 am to 11 pm 7 days a week. They have all the maps and information necessary to enhance anyone's stay. Crêpes and pure maple syrup..........what a delight.
I'll pass on your appreciation to our houskeepers who do have a major responsibility of insuring the comfort and cleanliness of each unit.


Regards,


Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascutney, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I, and another couple, stayed here. The staff are superb and the hotel was everything I hoped for. We will be back and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermonttraveler05030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Hello to all four of you,

How nice of you to take some time to send us a quick review. It's great to see that the Hotel Clarendon and it's staff were up to your expectations and that they enhanced your vacation.

We are so well situated in the heart of Old Québec with all the boutiques, museums, restaurants and bars all walking distance.

I don't know if you used our concierge service which is offered between 7am and 11 pm 7 days a week. They can help you out with locations, maps to go and even book reservations for you. All of that done with a smile and a heartfelt sensation.

We're looking forward to greeting you once again and thank you for your input.

Regards,


Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

great service and value.
fantastic location to explore Quebec City.
Jazz bar was fun.
use the valet parking !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmartineau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Good morning,

Thank you for your short but precise review. I guess that all was well for you during your stay.

Old Québec city is absolutely stunning and filled with so many treasures to discover. Our concierge service is also free and available between 7am and 11 pm 7 days a week, rain or shine.

We do hope to be part of your travel plans upon your next visit to our heritage city.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing