We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graceful old hotel in heart of Old Quebec”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Graceful old hotel in heart of Old Quebec”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Elegant large old building right in the heart of Old Quebec, central to everything (a taxi ride from the railway however), offers quiet rooms, elevator was small (as expected for a building of its age),the basement gym was more of a fitness room but OK to maintain a basic level of fitness during your stay. Many good restaurants (& ever present Starbucks), plus shopping area are a short walk away, as are key old town sites such as the ramparts, lower town, Chateau Frontenac.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    600
    222
    84
    42
See reviews for
339
647
64
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hotel was above average, the staffs are great, very helpful.
hotel is a little old, but acceptable.
The only complain was the parking fee.
I walked in and asked where is the parking cause i dont see a parking lot or garage around.
They response was, " we have valet parking"

The next day, I found out the parking charge was $25, and i saw my car was left at the front yard of an adjacent church.
I dont mind to pay the parking, but art least i will feel better if i get a notice of the fee ahead.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snowbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I am not overly fond of staying in hotels, as I spend very little time in my room and more "out and about"; but I booked this hotel as part of a packaged deal based solely on tripadvisor reviews. I was most pleasantly surprised and very pleased. First, it's a beautiful and historic hotel, though this has to be appreciated from the inside. The location of the Clarendon can't be beat (as promised) and it is right near everything of significance in the Old Town. Due to weather conditions I found myself staying in my room more than I usually do, and found it to be comfortable, pleasant and well maintained. I was especially pleased that there were some American shows available in English, so that there were at least three stations for non-speaking French visitors. This was a plus, especially as when I was in Montreal several years ago, all programming was entirely in French.

The staff of the Clarendon were also helpful and firendly and (another benefit) bilingual, so there are no communication problems for those who can speak English. Highly recommend. When I come back to Q.C. this is the place I will stay. Thanks for the great advice!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. The Hotel Clarendon is under new management and we take every comment and review seriously.

We are very well located indeed. Three minutes from the Château Frontenac, St-Jean street and the Petit Champlain district. We only hire bilingual staff because communication is the basis of all good relationships and we want to make sure that our staff can be as attentive as possible.

The Clarendon is a historical site and is very well maintained and the lobby, bar and dining room are what you might say a sight for sore eyes....

We also have our live Jazz nights which have started again since May 11th on both friday and saturday evenings. You caln always call our toll free number and confirm the Jazz night before your next stay.

Once again thank you for choosing the Clarendon Hotel and all of our staff is looking forward to seeing you in the near futur.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel advertises a Jazz Bar, also mentioned in various guides. We went in the last week of April, only to be told it had been closed since January. Nothing shows on their website. So, give this place a miss.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Good day,

Thank you for writing in your comments. The Hotel Clarendon is under new Management since the beginning of April. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused in the past and the new management is going over every aspect of the hotel services. Even our website will have a fresh start.

Jazz is alive and well and back again. Just for the month of May here are the dates where we have our Jazz nights: May 11th, 12th, 18th, 19th, 26th and 27th.

We can truly understand your dissapointment when you realized that there was no longer any live jazz band. We hope that you will be part of our guests in the near futur so that you can let yourself be charmed by the decor, the surroundings, the personalized service and the rebirth of our Jazz lounge.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Staff very pleasant. Services fantastic and overall a great place to stay. The dinning room was well appointed with friendly staff and exellent food. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrysounder48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hello,

We are always pleased to see that our staff has contributed in making your stay at the Clarendon an enjoyable one and especially a memorable one.

It's true that our heritage building, now 140 years old, charms everyone the minute they walk into the lobby. All of our staff is bilingual and our valet/concierge service is right at the front door ready to great you and help you out with any tourist information necessary.

We have just updated our menu with our new Chef and our Jazz nights have returned.

Don't hesitate to call us if you would like to planify your next getaway or simply to get extra information about our new season 2012.

Enjoy your summer,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Old and charming, but a little too rough around the edges. Rooms are small, with no desk. Wifi was not dependable, however the support was quick to respond. Water temperature is abysmal and constantly changing, and the linens are old and gross. Overall not bad for the price, if you're willing to overlook a few things. Breakfast was excellent and was included in the rate. 7/10

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sending in your comments. The Clarendon is under new manager and it takes much interest in collecting all comments and observations.

At the Clarendon there are many different room types and sizes. We have many rooms which are more spacious and many also have a desk. It is very important that you specify your requirements when you make your reservation. Even if done online, nothing stops you from calling our front desk where you will be answered by our staff 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

We want to maximize your stay so upon arrival if you have a certain request we'll do our utmost to satisfy your needs.

We are so well situated in the heart of Old Québec and our Concierge team has all of the tourist information, maps and phone numbers that you can possibly need.

Our team hopes to have the pleasure of greeting you during your next travel plans.

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The management is terrible, rude and inconsiderate. We were not treated with the respect that we deserved and I would never stay here again because they do not know how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaaa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Good afternoon,

We are proud to announce that the Hotel Clarendon has recently been purchased and under new management .

We are currently collecting and analysing all comments and reviews. You can be assured that we are truly devoted to giving our guests a most enjoyable and memorable experience.

The Clarendon is 140 years and protected by Unesco because of it's historical value. We are situated within the walls of Old Québec city. We do encourage you to be part of our guest during your next travel plans.

Regards,

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing