We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quebec City” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quebec City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Hotel is very old but the location is very good, just down the street from the Frontenac. Also on the same street we found the 1640 Restaurant, ordered French onion soup, excellent! Took the funicular down to lower level and the area ha a very European look. Walked UP to our hotel, DUH,
After reading other reviews about the hotel, I felt our room was musty until turning on the air conditioning. the breakfast buffet was very good .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel! As you mentioned, a lot of activities and good restaurants are walking distance from our hotel. Buffet breakfast is effectively very good and with the arrivalof our new chef, I strongly advise you to come and have diner in our dining room.
Best regards and thanks again for your stay in our hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    571
    215
    82
    43
See reviews for
320
612
61
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

4 couples stayed in the Hotel Clarandon last weekend. We had booked 3 queen rooms and one superior queen. On arrival we were informed that our rooms had been downgraded to doubles. The explanation for the change kept changing - first it was the fault of our booking agent, then it changed to a simple mix up. At the end, there was no real explanation although we had the impression (no proof) that the hotel simply sold the rooms we had reserved to someone else at a better rate.

When we asked for some form of compensation (lower charge, breakfast, etc), we were met with an argument. The clerk kept having to go into the back to consult his supervisor. The supervisor did not appear to deal with us directly.

The double rooms we were given on the 1st floor were very small, dark, stuffy with paper thin walls. The water temperature in the shower was impossible to regulate. At our request, on Saturday morning two of the 4 rooms were changed to a queen and a superior queen.

In my opinion, the housekeeping was not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. For instance, we had one small bar of soap for 2 people for 3 nights. By Monday morning it was a sliver. In addition, the complementary sugar/creamer packets in the room were already open and used.

In the end, the management provided $40 off the cost of the first night. Under the circumstances I would have expected them to have made more of an effort to be accommodating. Their attitude was that they were doing us a favour.

The only real positive things I can say about the hotel is that the lounge staff was very friendly and the location is ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside court are very dark and there is no ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Did not stay at the hotel but did dine in the restaurant (unable to find listing in restaurant section). Newly updated menu the was delicious. Trio of salmon for an appetizer was excellent as was the rest of the meal. Waitstaff wonderful. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant as it is part of the Hotel as well.
We are happy to learn that you loved your experience in our restaurant. The menu has recently changed again as we have a new ''chef'' in the house; Carol Paradis. His taste for perfection and creativity will impress you. I hope that you will come back to try his new recipes, especially if you liked the previous ones.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon, this time for a stay maybe?
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is simply worn out. The towels were thin, the bed and linens average. We couldn't see out of our windows, they were filled with condensation. The elevators take FOREVER. Our floor was wet next to the wall apparently from leaks in the roof. The internet service was lousy...out of service at least half the time. We were told "it has been having issues." Definitely not worth the price in spite of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.
You definitely did not get the Clarendon experience that we try to provide each of our guest with.
Since April, we have new owners who are starting to invest in the refurnisment and the renovations of the rooms (including windows). You will be happy to learn that all the rooms have been recently equiped with new duvet.
For the internet, normally our system is pretty reliable. Maintenance has to be done and obviously we choose the moments that are the less busy in the hotel to do so. We are sorry that it had to happened during the time of your stay. Let me inform you that we have a business center that can be use by guests at anytime for free.
Once again, we are sorry for the issues encountered during your stay and for sure, let us know of your previous stay if you reserve with us again!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The location is excellent. The room is nice and the bathrooms big. The shampoo and bath gel stuff are very good quality and better than some 5 star hotel.
The hotel staff don't speak English much and so can't help much for the sightseeing information. But they are generally very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echoi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for you comment!
We really appreciate and we hope that you will be back soon!
Being bilingual is a pre-requisite when working in a hotel! Especially in one that has a lot of tourists as our. Some employees are better than others but we hope that you at least received the information that you were looking for.
Thanks for you stay in our hotel!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is very well located and staff service was generally good. Direct underground access from the hotel to public parking (under the town hall plaza) was a bonus although this is not mentioned/encouraged by staff as it bypasses valet parking.

However, this hotel is sadly in need of repair and/or refurbishment - in our room, a severely cracked basin, a faulty light switch and a poorly aligned CRT TV were just a few of the maintenance issues.

NO refrigerator - a surprising omission for a 4 star hotel. So for breakfast you must either use the hotel buffet ($$ but good) or go elsewhere (challenging, when nothing much elsewhere opens before 0930). This also means that you use (supplied) powdered creamer in your tea/coffee.

We had a group (conference) discount rate for accommodation and breakfast so value for money was OK and we could overlook the many maintenance issues - otherwise?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDoug47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for your comment!! We strongly appreciate critics and we see these as a way to improve the quality of our service and our product.

Valet parking is effectively the service that we recommand to our guest who plan on using their car during their stay. The best advantage that you can have while parking with us is the ''in and out as much as you want'' benefit. Yes, there is a public parking in front of the hotel but people need to pay each time that they go out which is why we recommand our valet service first. Then, for the refurnishment, we have new owners since April and they are presently investing on those details that you mentionned that are really important. All the rooms now are equiped with plasma television and new duvet. When it comes to the refrigerators in the rooms, we don't know yet if there will be some in the new rooms. However, we have some available for our guests for 15$+taxes per night or we can put what you need to be cooled in the refrigerators in the ones reserved for staff and someone at the front is available 24/7 to go get it for you.This is only the beginning of the new refurnishment project but comments as you made, help us to highlight what we need to fix!

If ever you need to come back one day for another conference or only for personal leisure, here are some restaurant names for breakfast in the area that are open before 9h30 and where food is very good: Café Buade, Paillard, Cochon Dingue and Mikes.
Thanks again for your stay in our hotel and we hope that you wil be back soon to see our future improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Nice city, beautiful locale, but staff were generally unfriendly. Ask them for information and its like your begging for a special favour. The room was very dark. With no information. The hotel next door is being renovated, so it was very noisy during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank your for your comment.
The Governmental building next to us is effectively in renovation but we try to assign rooms to our guests that are located on the opposite side of the constructions or at least in the interior court of the hotel. When it comes to the brightness in the room, we have some rooms with more windows. If you come back, make sure to ask for a room that has the view on the Fairmount Castle; rooms on this side are generally brighter and since there is no building next to this wall, there is no chance in being disturbed by the noise of constructions. We are really sorry for the way you seem to have been treated from our staff when you asked for informations. Generally, our concierges and front desk agents are happy to provide our guests with the best avices for restaurants and activities to do around the area.
You can be assure that a follow up is going to be made.
Thanks again for your comment and your stay in our hotel!!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing