We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot!”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The room was great, clean,beautiful view quality bed.
We were in the middle of everything. If we got tired not far from our room. The staff were friendly and efficient. Cusps to all. Yes we will absolutely will be back. Yes the elevator is small,but overall very satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom5car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review !

Just a little information for your next stay : there are two elevators, so if you would like to use one and it is full, there is an other option.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the city ! Come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Clarendon and loved it. The hotel is right in the centre of Old Quebec City and within walking distance to most sites.
The rooms are very small, but comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and more than willing to talk in English as well as French.
I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06GoMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for you comment!

Being bilingual is a pre-requisite when working in a hotel! Especially in one that has a lot of tourists as our.

Thanks for you stay in our hotel! Come back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed over the weekend to catch the Celine Dion concert, they were also catering for a wedding, so the Hotel was at full capacity. Yet the staff at the reception and conciergerie made us feels welcome and important. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but they explained that we could do our checking right away and pickup our key after a quick stroll. When we came back our room was clean and ready. The room was not very big, but very comfortable and functional, it also had a nice view. (PS: the bed, but mostly the pillows were VERY comfortable) The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of restaurants and quaint little shops. If you are driving into town, I suggest you take full advantage of their paid parking, because I was informed by the concierge that you have unlimited in and out privileges.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Good day !

I am glad to know that everything went well at your check-in even if it was a very busy day ! The staff is use to work under pressure and always give the best of themself in every situation.

Thank you for your nice review and we hope you will come back to sleep in our confortable beds !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Hotel Clarendon was located right in the center of Quebec City. It was located perfectly and made you felt as if the traffic of Quebec was miles away. The old city was very close and a nice walk from the hotel. The Citadel was also very close. The hotel also provided Valet parking (for a fee) which was nice because there were not many parking garages in Quebec City. Below the hotel were a lot of nice little shops such as the Intermarche (Which was about 1 km from the hotel), Archambault (Cd/ DVD shop), and many little restaurants. We visited during June which was during The Grand Rire comedy festival.

The room was very nice and really felt like a "classic" hotel from a time long ago, but still had all of the modern conveniences.

The only downside was when we checked out and got the bill. The price listed on the Clarendon website did not contain some Canadian taxes so it was higher then we expected. For example, the $25 /day valet parking cost more like $28 a day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmarionjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for the great comments that you have posted. Indeed we are lucky to be located in such a great location, right in the heart of the OId City. The Clarendon House is one of the oldest hotel on the continent, and we intend to honour our glorious past.

The rates with taxes included are rarely showing on websites, guides and menus, and I agree it could be a little annoying if you are not used to it. Next time, if you you make a reservation over the phone, do not hesitate to ask the rate with taxes included in order to make your budget as exact as possible.

Thank you again for your stay and we hope to see you back on your next vacations !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stopped in Quebec City over night while driving from Ontario to the Maritimes. The hotel was located in a perfect spot, walking distance to all our favourite Old Quebec spots. We stayed in the express room since we were only there for one night and it was perfect for our needs. It was small but had everything we needed, was cozy and clean and had that beautiful old world charm that you expect from an historic building. I would probably even stay in that room for an entire weekend, such a great value! I would also recommend valet parking, especially in the busy summer months. It was only about 9 dollars more than public parking and definitely worth the convenience. Can't wait to stay there again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel.

Even though they are smaller, the hospitality rooms are confortable. It is an ideal choice for a quick stay like you did because they are very economic.

We are glad that you appreciated our hotel and our beautiful city !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband, daughter and granddaughter spent two days at the Hotel Clarendon. Our experience was great. Perfect location. Clean rooms and a comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Quebec City was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Clarendon again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel !

Indeed, we have a perfect location for a great getaway stay in Quebec city. You will surely be more than welcome to come back here again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The oldest hotel in the old city but so accomodating We stayed in 2 double beds, so comfortable it was the best sleep I had n a long time but small and more lighting is needed in the rooms... It was within walking distance to everything! Immaculate . Valet parking was a pleasant surprise, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for our car. the only time we moved our car was to visit Saint Anne which should not be missed.

The hotel staff were helpful and so friendly. They were always available for questions and helped booking tours.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We are glad that you had a good night sleeping on our new matresses that we have change a few months ago. We are constently changing and refreshing the rooms in order to make your stay the most comfortable.

The hotel has 143 years old, this is why all the rooms are not of the same size. For your next stay, I will suggest you to reserve one of our superior rooms that are bigger and are equiped of brand new furnitures.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#55 of 100 in Quebec City
2,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £67 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing