We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Second time staying in this old hotel which is comfortable, clean & renovated to current standards but maintains its historic charm. Room was large, bathroom was clean & well stocked. Great location for walking to all destinations in the old town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your review. You well describe the hotel and we hope you will come back a third time to the oldest hotel in Canada. We are glad to know you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all our requests. Great location in the heart of old Quebec City. Room was clean and the bed very comfortable. It is an older hotel, but thats what gives it character. Numerous great restaurants within walking distance. There was some construction going on across the street, but really didn't distract from the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EiniDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As you said, we are pretty well located. Everything in Old Quebec is walking distance from the Clarendon. We are also glad to know you were not distracted by the construction in front of the hotel at the city hall. Obviously it could be an issue for some clients, but we do not have complaints about that. Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

i stayed in the hotel for a few days and i love this hotel. this is an art deco architecture hotel and when you walk the hall you can just make a travel in history
the rooms are maybe a little small but the bed is really comfortable, the bathroom is very beautiful. the hotel stand in the heart of the old town. every week end there is jazz concerts.
i really like the hotel and i hope i will come back soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouchout1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Bonjour !

It is very pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 143 years old hotel ! Indeed, on Fridays and Saturdays, there is always a group in our lounge plating Jazz just like in old days.

Thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very pleasant at all times. The room was not large but the king sized bed was comfortable and a blanket was in the room, which we appreciated as we do not find a duvet pleasant for sleeping. Our two windows looked toward the Chateau Frontenac which was glowing at night. Being in the heart of Old Quebec is fabulous! We could easily walk to most attractions. The tourist information centre is just a couple blocks away. Breakfast was well worth the price with good selection and quality to start us off on our busy day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Wow, what a great review !

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other, it is really appreciated !

We hope you will come back in our beautiful city in a near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The location of the Hotel Claredon is situated in the heart of Quebec old town and eleven of the seven hundred plus restaurants are within 200 metres of the lobby doors. There is major contruction going on just across the street which appears to be ongoing. Our taxi from the station decided to drive up the detour the wrong way but the bellboy came out of nowhere to greet us and take our luggage. Our check in was delayed as they wanted to find us a room away from the front of the building and away from the noise of contruction. Our room was small and looking a bit tired but adequate for our 3 night stay. The concierge and front desk staff were very good and went out of their way to help. We found the the facilities of the hotel pricey compared to other establishments within a short walk and there is a cover charge to listen to the jazz. The Hotel Clarendon is the oldest hotel in Quebec old town and a premium is being charged for location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your comments!

Indeed, the location of the hotel is hard to beat, and we are dedicated to serve our guest with a service that exceed their needs.

I hope we have the pleasure to see you again!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived around 1 o'clock on Friday the 27th of September and expected, based on many previous reviews, that our room would not be ready. Although it was not ready on check in, once we had completed the paperwork the room (426) became available so we were able to get rid of our luggage and freshen up after a long train ride to get out there and enjoy the city.
Yes, the room was small, but we have travelled extensively throughout Europe so this was not new to us. The charm of the room and the hotel's extreme cleanliness and comfortable bed more than made up for the size of the room. After all, we were not visiting Quebec City to spend much time in our room. True, it did not have much of a view, but it was very quiet for relaxing and getting away from the crowds; minutes away from all of the action. My wife did quite a bit of shopping so I appreciated being so close to the hotel that we were able to get rid of the purchases regularly rather than having to carry the items everywhere. The bathroom was clean and the shower had excellent pressure. We did not eat in the hotel as we wanted to discover the many interesting restaurants in the neighbourhood and we were not disappointed. The Wifi was a little weak in the room so I made use of the computer in the lobby to do the important things, which did not take long. I would definately stay at this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. I went there on my boss's recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Greetings,

This is a pleasure to read and thank you very much for such beautiful comments. We work very hard to make your experience at the Clarendon unforgettable.

Next time you come in our beautiful city, you will be more than welcome to stay with us.

Again, thank you very much for your time, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Clarendon & were very disappointed with our visit. The initial reception by the Concierge & Bell Boy was very welcoming although we arrived at the same time as a coach party & they were very busy. Our luggage was delivered to our room promptly. The small room had two double beds & we had booked one double room. One of the beds was up against the wall & there was very little room between the beds There was a very small window too high for me to see out of (I am 5 ft) overlooking rooftops. There was no kettle so I went down to request one in order to make a cup of tea. (There were 2 tea bags as well as coffee provided) The receptionist was extremely rude & difficult & told me to get hot water from the tap in the bathroom! I do not think her English comprehension is very good but that was irrelevant because I speak French. She did not want to know! She said I should have seen the Concierge & I told her that he was busy. I then waited to speak to him. He said I should ask at the desk! He did arrange for hot water to be sent to our room but I did not bother to ask again. We were tired on arrival but the next morning I noticed 8 long black or brown hairs on the bathroom floor. (We both have white very short hair) My husband said ' Leave it because the room will be cleaned. Do not make a fuss!') When we returned to the room later there were still 3 hairs on the floor. I picked them up & put them on a tissue & took them down to the reception desk to complain & request that housekeeping be informed. There was little reaction but later I had a telephone call apologising & saying we could not have a refund as the room had been prepaid but we would not be charged the 50$ for 2 nights car parking. When we left we filled in the comments form & stated that the room was disappointing & the state of cleanliness was not up to our standard. We did receive an email later that day offering us one free night including breakfast in a superior room. This is totally ridiculous as we will certainly not be going that way again, Canada being rather a long way from the UK! Having contacted our travel agent we were told we should have asked for a better room but we are not difficult people & do not complain. I will in future!! The staff are proud of the fact that it is the oldest hotel in Quebec & the public rooms were lovely. When we arrived there were workmen digging up the road outside the front of the hotel. The next morning the road was closed & a huge hole had been dug outside across the road. Everywhere was covered in choking dust & I think we should have been warned that this was going to take place. I would not advise anyone to stay at the Clarendon. We were asked where we had come from at our next hotel. When we said 'The Clarendon' the receptionist said she had a couple two weeks before who had not been happy with their stay there.

Room Tip: Don't book here. Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment about our hotel.

I am sincerely sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations. The way you described the service that you have received is definetely not the one we try to provide each guest with.

Thank you so much for you stay and you can be sure that there is gonna be a follow up to make sure that a situation like this does not happen again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 100 in Quebec City
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing