We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay in Old Quebec”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay in Old Quebec”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Hotel Clarendon is and old fashioned (in a good sense) hotel, with helpful but not intrusive staff. Everyone speaks English so there is no language barrier. It is convenient to the sights of the Old City. It is quiet, well furnished but not over the top. If you are looking for a hotel jumping with activity, this is not it. It is a quiet retreat after you finish your sightseeing activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    581
    218
    82
    42
See reviews for
328
622
62
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed one night there during a quick trip to Quebec city. The location is absolutely perfect: it's easy to get there from everywhere and it's close to about everything in town. Its location in the heart of the old city adds so much charm to the place it's worth the stay just for that. The Clarendon may look a bit old, but it's not worn out; it is in fact the oldest hotel in the city. The wi-fi worked totally fine for me so you can't say the management hasn't improved the hotel back from its old days. The kind of room I booked was sold out when I checked in so the clerk at the front desk upgraded me for free without me having to say a word. The room was large enough for a single person, bed and pillows were really comfortable and there was a widescreen tv. Only thing I could say was missing was some kind of guide of the hotel amenities and services, Otherwise, my stay there was perfect. Congratulations to Louis at the front desk for doing a great job.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent!! Highly recommend. Staff was helpful. Central location is convenient to visiting area shops and businesses. The hotel public facilities are clean and nicely decorated. A must stay location when in Old Quebec..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Clarendon was amazing! What an old World charm! The bed was like sleeping on clouds. The view from my room was so beautiful, overlooking town. A very short and easy walk to a plethora of shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was very knowledgable and attentive. You can't go wrong with a stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived to a bell hop meeting us at our vehicle to help us with our bags. My wife was questioning me as to how much we had paid for the stay, it was the beginning of excellent service at the hotel.
Our room looked out onto the old streets of the city, with its inviting shops and restaurants awaiting, and the Chateux Frontenac to the right, a monsterous building overlooking the mouth of the St Lawerance.
The room was small, but had the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. No noisey hotel heating/AC unit meant a comfortable nights sleep in an extreamly comfortable bed.
A short walk from Main Street meant the opportunity to indulge in the excellent restaurants during the evening. Live music and great assortment of beer and wine options added to the unique food offerings.

We would definitely stay again, and highly recommend the Hotel Clarendon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just1Cuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was my first stay in Quebec City and I couldn't have had a better time. The staff was thoroughly accommodating and I witnessed the most amazing grace under fire from the gentleman at concierge/valet desk. I enjoyed the historical nature of the rooms and they were well maintained for the age of the building. The location was amazing, inside the walls of the old city and within walking distance of so many things for my two day stay, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Gould_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Excellent location close to the Frontenac within the city walls. Old-style hotel and fittings/decor, but classy. Renovated bathroom. Rooms are fine though on the smaller side. Unfortunately thin walls let all the sounds of the amorous couple next door through. But good value for money when we stayed in the winter and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing