We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Clarendon is a really beautiful hotel, which is in the centre of old quebec. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere from hotel, it is near sights. Ate in restaurant on one night and the food was top class, also enjoyed live jazz in the lounge.This hotel is full of character, and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominolimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are enchanted you were able to live the full Clarendon experience; your lodging, our restaurant, and the jazz. We will gladly welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    590
    219
    84
    42
See reviews for
332
634
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked two rooms, Executuve King. The rooms were qute small but doable. However, the bed was harder than the floor. I have never sat on a bed so hard. We were going to be there for 4 nights so we knew the bed wasn't going to work. After quite a bit of explaining at the front desk and being told the beds were new and "just neede to be broken in", we asked to see the next higher rated rooms. (All lesser rooms were unavailabl). The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable beds. Unfortunately we had to pay more than the already quite expensive room we had reserved but at least we would be comfortable after long walks during our stay. The hotel is very conveniently situated for Old City Quebec. If you can easily afford the higher priced rooms by all means it's very comfortable and great location. Otherwise shop around.

Room Tip: Great air conditioning if needed. Very quiet. You need super deluxe rooms if you want a comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, even pointed us to a nearby car park where parking was cheaper than the valet service the hotel offered. However, the room was extremely small for 2 persons, only 1 chair was available. Room was very dark, when looking out of the window one could only see the wall of the next building and one could not judge if the sun was shining or not. We stayed at about 10 hotels during our 3 week stay in Canada, but this was by far the worst accomodation we had.
Hotel only has one elevator, which is insuffucient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkrcp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry the room was not meeting your expectations. Your description matches our Economy room, which is a great option to have a bed right in the heart of Quebec City, at a lesser cost. However, those rooms do not have a view. The Economy room is not the room we recommend for people who plan to spend a lot of time in their room, or to whom the view is a priority. We have many different options, like our rooms with two beds, our business rooms, as well as our executive rooms, which are our spacious rooms. We have all those options in order to best answer the different needs of our guest, whichever they may be.
Concerning the elevators, we have two at Le Clarendon, situated at the two ends of the lobby. Once again, we are sorry you were misinformed for your reservation. Make sure to call us to book again with us, so we can better answer your needs and therefore make sure you have a wonderful stay with us next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel was lovely and accomodations just as expected with the exception of the beds. Might as well have been sleeping on the floor. I've never experienced such a hard mattress in a hotel before.
Other than the fact that a tray of dirty glasses remained on the floor by the elevator for two of our three day stay, the hotel and service was great. The location couldn't have been better. Lots of restaurants and sights to see! I would highly recommend it. Quebec City is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor on the front side of the hotel and was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodnp5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. More than half of the hotel’s mattresses have been changed for brand new one last spring and the remainder will be done in the next few months. I do not know which room you were in on your last stay, but we are taking your comment seriously. Don't hesitate to contact us prior to our next visit so we can make sure we offer you the best available room at the best available price.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a historic hotel that has character. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, with much to see within walking distance. The lounge was a nice place to end an evening and listen to live entertainment.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, located on a corner with excellent views on two sides. Quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your good words about our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Le Cladendon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location, so close to the center of Old Quebec. Rooms are a bit small; the hotel is old but charming, and the staff very gracious. They're nicely appointed and very comfortable. A special extra was the jazz bar on Saturday night, with a wonderful female jazz vocalist. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant and a nice small wine tasting at the bar with a very accommodating bar tender while we waited for our room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaLAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you were able to live the full Clarendon experience; your stay, our dining room and the Jazz. We have live Jazz shows every Friday and Saturday nights. Hopefully we will welcome you again soon at Le Clarendon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were very pleased when we arrived at the Clarendon. It is old and very European. The room was clean and quiet. We did not try the restaurants as we found so much in Old Quebec City. It is close to everything. The staff are very nice.

The only thing I would suggest is to wait an hour past check in at 4:00. The line was long, thankfully we were 2nd in line.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay. As you mention, it can be busy around 4pm as it is the check-in time. It is however possible to do a pre check-in earlier in the day. We can keep your luggage with the concierges. Then, once you come back later in the day, all you have to do, is to get your keys to your room, and the concierge will help you bringing your luggage up to your room. That way, it enables you to arrive earlier and your belonging is safe until the room is ready.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing