We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Lovely !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Ranked #71 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne while visiting Quebec on sightseeing vacation.The hotel was conveniently located to all attractions. The room was clean, the garden courtyard lovely, the breakfast was fresh and plentiful and dining area was quaint. My bathroom was also fresh , stocked with supplies and cleaned daily. This is a historic hotel with maintained in an Old World feel. the staff were helpful ,kind and friendly. I would stay here again and recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: location and value
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

I'll make it short: there is no excuse for not cleaning a room properly. I can understand that an owner cannot afford changing the furniture or have a new paint and carpets. But to remove filth and dirt, all you need is hot water a bit of soap and elbow grease. It's not a matter of how many stars your hotel has, it's a matter of respect for yourself and your guests. I have stays so often in hostels, and it was cleaner than that.
My room as 150 CAD per night.

I wish I took photographs so you would se what I mean. The baseboards were covered with brown sticky dust. In the bathroom, you had dirt straks all over the walls.

The sheets were clean and you could see that the sink and bathtub had bveen washed. But the bed cover was smelling bad. I can't imaginewhen is the last time they wahed it.

I did not want to try the breakfast (what if the kitchen was maintained like the rooms...)

Staff was very helpful and friendly, location is perfect, and the street is very quiet. No concerns there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Quebec City at the Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne. The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing in the old, historic section of the city. There is a stop for the free city bus (shuttle size electric vehicles) not more than 50 yards from the hotel. You don't even need the bus since everything you would want to see is within a twenty minute walk. The price was reasonable ($170 per night including tax) and the staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. The room was clean and large enough for two people (average size by European standards, small by US standards). The hotel and the staff have an authentic feel. This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Quebec City.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank zato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The location is decent, but the hotel room was extremely small. The door was about 5 feet 10 inches high. I must've hit my head on it 5 times. The room itself was so small, that the shower in the bathroom problem represented 30% of the total square footage in the room. The miniature "double" bed barely fit in the small room. I guess hotels are very expensive in the old city, but I thought for $142 / night plus taxes, I would get a room bigger than the closet in my cramped New York City apartment. I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank largeturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night in mid/late May. The location in excellent and the price is quite good compared to other hotels in this part of town. The Hotel is essentially like a boarding house with 2 floors. There is no parking in front or on the street, so you have to double-park in the street, unload your luggage and then get it into the Hotel lobby. Then, you have to go park at the over night parking lot under City Hall...only about 5 min walk away.

The lobby is tiny and we were lucky since we were the only people checking in at that time. The front desk was very helpful, spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the area. We asked for a room on the first floor since we did not want to lug our luggage upstairs. There is no elevator here, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs. You cannot expect the front desk to help either...this is not part of their job.

The parking is $14 extra (w/ tax) per day and it is about a 5 min walk away from the Hotel. When you have to check out, it's the same deal...go to the parking lot, get the car, double park, get all the stuff into it and get going.

The rooms are clean but very small. The heating is great since it is radiator heating (not blowing heat) and it works really fast since the room is small. There is no street noise, but the walls are thin and you can hear people coming in and out or walking on the second floor (or your own floor).

I am glad I stayed at this Hotel and it gave me a good idea of the 'Old City' of Quebec. I would recommend it to others since it is a great location. As long as you are OK w/ the little extras, then it should not be an issue.

The only issue was that they advertised wireless internet service which did not work effectively. We could only access 1 or 2 sites, could not check email and had to go down to City Hall Tourist Center to get wireless web service. There is no Business Center in the hotel. But there are internet centers only a few blocks away.

The best price one (if you have your own laptop) is the tourist info center where you can get unlimited service for only $2 CDN.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Very nice hotel - excellent location in the centre of Vieux Quebec, walking distance to all attractions, restaurants, bars etc.

Hotel was very clean, quiet and peaceful and staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was simple but tasty.

It was also good value. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Aodhanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

well, because i'm a student now, the hotel wasn't that much cheap for me. :-p i remember it was about around C$90 per night, without taxes. but i know the room rate in Quebec City is not cheaper than average. (Montreal was much cheaper!) so i still think it was quite a good deal.

anyhow i was staying at this hotel for 2 nights during the end of this August.
because Quebec City is really small so you can get round the whole Beaux Quebec City area in 1 to 2 hours by walk.
so i think the location of the hotels in Quebec City doesn't matter to choice the hotel.
but especially this hotel was good to access to the downtown area, Chateau Frontnac(is the spell right?), and also to the Congress Hall of Quebec State. and it's just right beside of the City Hall. so i really loved the location of this hotel.
and plus, i could see the view of Chateau Frontnac in my room! :-)

i stayed here just alone, so the room was really really small but cozy, pretty and clean! i was something sad that even though they know what the service is, and they provide the service as exactly as 3-stars or 4 -stars, but their room or facility can't follow their services. T_T because their building looks too old. and it must be old, i think.

i just like to say all my complaints were just for the building(they don't have elevator! seniors and the handicapped do not stay this hotel) and the room size.
i really like to give them 4 stars!! i liked to stay there while i was in Quebec City!

(they have lockout at 11pm but they'll give you the key for the front door. and they don't provide breakfast - if you want, you can pay for that about C$5-6. but i haven't tried that.)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adultchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marie Rollet
Hotel Marie Rollet
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
Hotel Jardin du Gouverneur
#68 of 102 in Quebec City
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#41 of 102 in Quebec City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Address: 109 rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality Located in the heart of Old Quebec City, in a XIXth-century building, Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, on rue Sainte-Anne, near Chateau Frontenac, Grande Allee and the Convention Centre of Quebec City, has been welcoming travelers from all five continents since 1956. A friendly hotel At Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, you will feel home thanks to our living room area with free Internet, board games an a television. In the summer, relax in the heart of Old Quebec, beneath a tree in our beautiful garden where you will love having a glass of wine after a day of touring and visiting the old city. Come and experience Quebec hospitality and admire the beauty of the historic neighbourhood in our Old Quebec hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing