We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Guided Quebec City Walking Tour with Funicular Included
99

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience La Promenade des Gouverneurs
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
517
299
47
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
517
299
47
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dufferin terrace plains of abraham lawrence river lovely walk wooden walkway beautiful boardwalk old quebec citadel steps benches frontenac city governors cliffs path fort workout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

This broad walk connects Terrace dufferin with the Plains of Abraham. It it up and down on a tree lined promenade. It gives you a great view of the St Lawrence River the opposite side and the lower town.

The view at night is really spectacular.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JamesKMTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2019

La Promenade des Gouverneurs located at Upper Town of Quebec city is a "must see" tourist spot in order to have good views over the riverside and old port. There are many seats along the route and quite relaxing while strolling around the area. To go up the elevated walkway, one can choose to take the paid cable car or just to walk uphill via the Breakneck Steps. At the end of the promenade, there are steps that lead up to the green hill and citadel. Recommended.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2019

The Governor's Promenade starts on the grassy hill on the far side of the Citadel at a viewing point on Ave du Cap Diamant. It's a boardwalk that connects to Dufferin Terrace and allows visitors an optional route to return to Chateau Frontenac when visiting the Citadel and the Museum of Plains of Abraham. This boardwalk has many steps because of the differences in elevation so I recommend starting this walk from the Citadel area in order to walk down the steps to reach the Dufferin Terrace section. Walking this route may take about 20 minutes.

If you start this walk from the Dufferin Terrace, the section called the Governor's Promenade begins just beyond the sloping Dufferin Slides, just past the foot of Rue St-Denis. This walkway between the Dufferin Slides and the Citadel is narrower than the broad Dufferin Terrace boardwalk.

If you are just looking for a spot to see panoramic views of the river and beyond without tree stops obscuring the view, I suggest walking up to La Terrasse St-Denis close to the Dufferin Slides. It's the hilly grassy area just off the foot of Rue St-Denis, accessible by a few stairs from Dufferin Terrace. It takes less time and effort than walking along the Governor's Promenade and the reward of a magnificent sight is certain.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2019

Its a long Giant boardwalk which connects Plains of Abraham to Dufferin Terrace and Chateau Frontenac.either you climb up the stairs nearly 300-400 steps from Dufferin Terrace or go up from the plains green lawns to see the beautiful frt walled along the cliff of Saint Lawrence River .Though it may be adventurous, exhaustive but you will love the Panoramic view from above .worth seeing.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank SanjayB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

You get a good view of St. Lawrence River and the Old Port especially in the section closer to Terrasse Dufferin. Of course you can get similar views on Terrasse Dufferin but at a lower elevation. A better reason for hiking the La Promenade des Gouverneurs is to get from Terrasse Dufferin to the Plains of Abraham and/or to the entrance of La Citadelle.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews