We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Hotel in Quebec City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in Quebec City”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I am originally from Quebec City and I now regularly travel to this wonderful city for business. If I can, I stay at the Dominion. The style of this hotel is definitely trendy and elegant. I would compare it to a W hotel, but with a bit of French flair. The continental breakfast is gorgeous (with fresh fruits, fine Quebec cheeses, delicious spreads, yogurts, and different kinds of breads), but the most valuable is the complementary all-you-can-drink espresso coffee machine that is available around the clock in the lobby. Rooms are spacious, stylish, and extraordinarily comfortable. The hotel is situated in the heart of the old town, next to the very interesting Musée de la Civilisation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolivierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    161
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
123
651
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Great location as the hotel was located near a lot of things in lower town yet still very quiet. You are about less than 10 minute walk from the stairs or lift to upper town (puts you right at Le Chateau Frontenac) and you are also down hill at two points.

The room was a king deluxe which had a decent view out to Le Chateau and some part of the city. The breakfast was your typical buffet (pastries, bagels, cakes, OJ, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs) but the quality was surprisingly good- especially the OJ. The hotel offered tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit year round.

They were very happy to help setup reservations for brunch, lunch and dinner. The biggest thing that showed the staff was top notch- they spent a day and a half trying to solve an HDMI problem I had in the room. The storm was going to bring a rain shower all of Sunday and I wanted to make sure the HDMI switch was working (it wasn't working on check-in) and they offered to move rooms as they had a large group of people checking out the next day. That didn't find a working HDMI so after another two calls they sent up a staff person with knowledge and problem was solved within 10mins.

Also, they just installed Bixi bikes (only one station thus far) and the hotel has a discounted rate. Right now you have only one point so you'll have to plan accordingly.

Great stay, staff and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

i picked this hotel on the strength of the positive reviews it received on tripadvisor and it certainly did not disappoint. Got bus from Montreal to the bus station in quebec with the orleans express. Walked across the park outside the bus station, the hotel is about a five minute walk down to the left after the park. No need to get a taxi. Hotel is well situated on Rue St Pierre,close to restaurants and gift shops. Room was lovely,very cosy bed with artwork over the headboard,lovely bathroom with black and white tiles and fancy green coloured see through sink with a lightbulb under it which comes on automatically when the lights are off. Downstairs, reception staff very friendly and spoke english. lovely breakfast included in the price and free internet in the dining area and what really clinched it for me was the free coffee machine which was available 24/7. The gym was decent and was open 24/7 also. This is a really intimate and cosy hotel and for a person who does a whole lot of travelling, it was one of the best hotels i ever stayed in . highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellknoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mclean VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The entrance is directly off the street but there is a pretty terrace in the back which can be used for breakfast in warm weather or to have coffee and snacks later in the day. The coffee/tea service is always available. The concierge desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, reservations and useful tourist information. One extra was that fresh fruit was usually available, placed in bowls in the lobby. It included ripe summer fruit and berries. There is no restaurant on-site which poses no problem since good restaurants are within a block. The available choices were many and we loved the French Canadian food. Our deluxe room had a leaky toilet which was annoying. The staff moved us to an identical room with great efficiency. The second room had no problems. Turn down service was provided: a luxurious touch.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank myjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is our third time at this hotel and it is THE hotel for our trips to Quebec City. The rooms are gorgeous and the breakfast really good! The tea, coffee and fruit in the beautiful common area (that has a fireplace), are a nice touch and something we look forward to. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Book a Luxury Room for extra-space and a beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here from Aug 11-15. The hotel is located within short blocks of several fabulous restaurants and the waterfront. We could even easily walk to the Cirque du Soleil show. I can only really repeat what others have said about the luxurious bedding, helpful staff and beautiful rooms/lobby. We especially loved the breakfasts - the croissants were unbelievable. My husband teased me on the first morning because I took butter to put on my croissant. He was right - the pastries were buttery and amazing on their own. I guess I never really had a good one :) Overall, this was a perfect choice for a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-for:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a gem of a hotel! I loved it from the minute we walked in. Excellent location in the lower part of the old town. The lobby is decor is sophisticated, warm, and inviting. It not only looks good but is comfortable for sitting and having a drink or some coffee without feeling like you are on display. The staff was friendly, helpful, and always smiling. Parking is valet, but it is on-site, so you can see your car. We had a "deluxe" category room and it was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Luxurious bedding and pillows - also a very large beautiful bathroom with a glass walk-in shower, a separate tub, and a large window over the tub. Our room was on a corner, so we had 2 other windows in the room as well, one looking out onto a little square with with a statue and cafes, the other looking at part of the harbor. There is a nespresso machine in the room, which we loved, and a wonderful free coffee/expresso machine in the lobby. The included breakfast is nice, cereal, yogurt, fruit, croissants, hard boiled eggs, juice, bagels, etc. There are comfortable areas in the lobby to eat, and a terrace, but you can also take your food back to your room. Drink service is offered in the lobby later in the day and evening as well.
When we were ready to leave, my car would not start, and the staff working at the desk couldn't have been nicer. One of them called AAA for me to set up a service call. My car did eventually start on its own, but I certainly appreciated the help.
Overall, one of my favorite hotels ever. Don't hesitate to choose it, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing