We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife and I booked with this chain as we had stayed at the Le Germain in Toronto for our wedding night and we had received excellent service.

As per Toronto, the hotel itself was magnificent. The room was fantastic, the breakfasts were delightful, and the location was superb.

What really made the trip was the staff. We got into conversation with a concierge and mentioned that we were looking to research into my wife's family tree which had history in Quebec. Our concierge asked to look into something and to follow up with us the next day. We were expecting to be told of a location where we could do some investigating. Much to our surprise, and delight, we were put in contact with a staff member at the Museum of Civilization. Annie-Karine, our amazing concierge, made an appointment and my wife and I spent a wonderful afternoon discovering new and amazing details regarding her ancestors.

This service was above and beyond what we had expected and made our trip much more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    166
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
127
663
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is a great hotel as long as you don't travel with two pets. Although its location is GPS challenged and its parking lot looks like ... a parking lot, everything else is excellent. Where else can you eat breakfast in the company of original Riopelles? Too bad the Nespresso machine in our nice but a little dark room wouldn't work, because it would have been better than that served downstairs in Nespresso cups but with cheaper coffee. Despite having stayed before with our two small dogs we were told upon arrival that they would tolerate them for the last time (charging us $35 x 2 to triple clean our room, I guess). When checking out they insisted that they didn't want us back, even though their records clearly showed that there were no problems with our dogs in the past. From now on, it's a one pet place only. Obviously not an issue for 99% of their clientèle but still not very hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupe-Germain, National Marketing Director at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear CondoCharlie,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's artwork collection. Considering your experience was not all you had hoped it would be, we apologize for the inconvenience. We are happy to inform you that, following your stay, we have reviewed our Pet Policy and would be delighted to reimburse you $35, as the cleaning charge now applies only to the room, no matter how many pets you have. Our reservation team will be in touch with you to correct this situation.

We are always grateful to see our product through our guests' eyes and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, along with Castor et Pollux.

Thank you
Catherine Verdone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked this hotel based on great recommendations and we weren't disappointed. We were given a large room on the the 8th/top floor w/ sweeping views of the river. The staff was wonderful and the service impeccable. The breakfast was delicious. It was not the cheapest hotel but worth it, I believe. The hotel has a great location in lower town . And if you are driving into Qubec City it is very accessible from the main roads . Unfortunately, we didn't realize that and spent an hour lost in Old Quebec City pulling our hair out maneuvering all the small , one-way roads. Ugh. Oh well, the luxury of the hotel calmed our frazzled nerves once we finally found the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for river views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Selma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We checked in the the front desk staff was very helpful suggesting a ferry ride across the river and great lunch and ice cream. We were greeted with wonder iced tea with fresh fruit. Our room was incredibly comfortable and surprisingly large. Nice street view. Super location for strolling the streets of lower town with great restaurants nearby. Very nice continental breakfast which we enoyed in the outdoor patio. At $255 a night this hotel was a huge bargain compared to the Chateau Frontenac which we stayed at one-night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just loved this hotel and would highly recommend. The service is wonderful (including turn-down service each evening), ample breakfast, and the style/decor was just what we wanted: quirky, not cookie-cutter, tasteful. The espresso bar - well, we couldn't get enough of it (lattes, espresso, cappuccinos, all with decaf options - yum!)

Loved the area too - close enough to the 'sights' but off the beaten path so we felt like it was an oasis to return to each day. Two wonderful restaurants we enjoyed: Le Lapin Saute (touristy street but so charming and delicious food - and blackcurrant sangria which is must); and Bistro du Cap (just a few yards away) which we ate at twice - must try the crepes!

We had three days in Quebec and spent one of those on Isle d'Orleans which was so beautiful and only 10 mins drive away. The best part about it was the blackcurrant farm (near the bridge) called Cassis Monna et Filles. Everything is made with blackcurrants including the terrine/pate and the best salad dressing ever. Oh, and order a blackcurrant slushie while you're there.

Room Tip: Our room on 5th floor (top) did not have a stunning view as we looked out over rooftops. But we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KMarmion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeGermainDominion, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear guest,
We are very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us ! You're right to say that we have excellent restaurants in the area and the visit on the Island was a great idea too ! We hope that you had contacted our concierge team which is always more than happy to provide wonderful suggestions to our guests. Hope to see you back again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Difficult to limit all the superlatives one could attach to this hotel. The staff is always smiling and eager to help. The rooms are large and decor very chic. Lobby lounge is cozy, "shmoozy" and inviting. They serve a very nice continental breakfast with many choices after which you can choose a cozy little nook to eat and sip your latte, which are free 24/7 by the way. Just a great place with super customer service, in a wonderful part of the old city. Will definitely, definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteevyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Staff members at this hotel work very hard to help English- and French- speakers find restaurants and attractions in old Quebec and all were charming. It's a short walk to the St. Lawrence near the cruise center and just a couple of blocks to the heart of the old city. It's a stylish place, rooms are small but extremely functional. And the self-serve coffee bars in the lobby was lovely as was the food for the breakfast feast. The down side? I felt guilty for not completely loving the place but I found the dark ceiling and room strangely oppressive and thought seating for breakfast was a little awkward, especially when rain closed the back patio. The Rue St. Pierre door is difficult to manage with packages so use the parking lot and rear entrance.

Room Tip: Insist on a larger room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirtroadbackstreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeGermainDominion, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it's always appreciated ! We want to let you know that we do have 2 sections in the hotel with completely different decor and room sizes, which you can discover on our website. We hope you'll be back to try this other section !
Lise, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing