We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. As soon as we arrived the staff made us incredibly welcome and directed us to some lovely restaurants. Rooms great, beds comfortable. I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jak296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    165
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
125
657
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is wonderful and that is thanks to very friendly people working there who are knowledgeable about the area and eager to ensue that guests have whatever they need. We prefer boutique hotels as they tend to be happy places. Le Germain is a terrific hotel brand and if there is a location in any city that we visit it is our preferred destination.

A very nice continental breakfast with good cheeses is included in the hotel rate. It was so nice to sit
outside on the patio and enjoy a leisurely start to the day with good coffee too. The expresso bar is
complimentary and available all day.

With regards to Le Germain Dominion and the location in the lower part of old Québec City there are many very good restaurants nearby and if we stayed any longer we’d be going home too fat. Around the corner from the hotel is the ‘SSS’, a gourmet bistro. It was recommended by the hotel staff and was perfect, we liked it so much that ate there twice.

We like walking and do not mind the hill climb up to the upper part of the old city and found the exercise fantastic. Those who are not so mobile can ride the e-bus up to the main part of the top. It is #2 per ride and there are plenty of stops. There is also a funicular at the base of the Chateau Frontenac.

From the hotel it is an easy 5 minute walk to a sight seeing river tour. If you have the time it is well worth it.

The Ursuline convent museum and the Franco- American one are both excellent.

My husband and I still collect and send postcards. We were able to buy really great cards that are reproduced from an amazing Québec photography collection. The cards were available at a little shop on St. Paul just past the SSS and also at the museum for the Palais Royale. The main post office near the Chateau is fantastic, the stamps are great & the workers are helpful and will put the special ‘Chateau Frontenac’ on mail if you ask.

Our trip was mainly for business but we extended it and are so glad to have done so. We look forward to returning to Québec City soon.

Thank you everyone at Le Germain Dominion for making our stay so very special, you all are fab.

Room Tip: As for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose this wonderful hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and from start to finish it was absolutely superb. Annie-Karine kept in touch before we arrived with e-mails and suggestions for terrific dining experiences. Our room was lovely, bed extra comfy and after a long day spent walking, the water and chocolates were a welcome sight. The buffet breakfast was one of the best - especially loved the croissants and the cappuccino that is available all day. Everyone was helpful and pleasant that only adds to the charm. Philippe was a great help with suggestions for dining too. We just can't say enough good things about this place. It has everything - location is the best, right in old town - staff excellent and rooms perfect. If you are going to Quebec City, do yourself a favour and book this hotel - it's great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am so glad I chose to stay at the Le Germain-Dominion. I have stayed at numerous five star hotels over the years and have never really felt the urge to write a review...until now.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is truly a gem. My husband and I had flown in late one evening to discover that our luggage had not accompanied us. I called the hotel to let them know we would be late and that we would have no luggage. Upon arrival my husband mentioned he was hungry and they promptly sent up a cheese tray to our room which already had a welcome note, sweets and emergency toiletries. It was a wonderful welcome after flying all day!

The entire stay was punctuated with great service always with a smile. The buffet breakfast served in the lobby was perfect, and we particularly enjoyed the expresso machine available all day.

The location is perfect for exploring the Old Town. You can get anywhere you need to by walking, and if it rains there are always extra umbrellas you can borrow.

I cannot recall the names of everyone at the front desk but they were all very knowledgeable in suggestions of where to go and how to get there. Annie-Karine was very helpful with her recommendations of places to eat as well as getting our luggage to us finally which arrived the night before we had to leave, but because the hotel was so wonderful to be staying at the missing luggage did not hinder my experience of Old Quebec at all.

This was my second time in Quebec. If I get a chance to come back again I know where I would stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inthegenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful long weekend in Quebec City which (other than the not so great weather) was highlighted by our stay at this little gem of a hotel right centrally located in the lower part of Old Quebec. The location is tremendous with just a short walk to many high quality restaurants, shops and the lift to Uptown.

The rooms were nicely appointed and the beds provided for a great night's sleep. The hotel service was superb including very helpful front desk staff who spoke good English and had spot-on recommendations for excellent restaurants and things to do.

The continental breakfast offered each morning was the best I've ever had with plenty of fresh fuit and berries, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, bagels and fresh juices. Excellent value and a good start to each of our days. The gym was small but had everything you need for a quick workout and a vehicle to work off some of the excess calories from the fine restaurants.

I would highly recommend staying here, great value for money and a location that you can't beat!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a very nice view of the water and Uptown
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeeker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This boutique hotel in Lower town on the old quarter of Quebec City is a delight. The rooms are well furnished, and bright. Had some work to do and really liked the comfortable desk with an overhead light as well as the free wifi which so easily accessible. We had a buffet breakfast served downstairs which was included with our room with lots of choices of croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, yogurts, and best of all, a delicious assortments of coffee from latte to expresso.

The staff were gracious and accommodating delivering bottles of water every evening to our room and lovely gourmet chocolates. When we checked out they also offered us water to take with us. Would recommend it highly as the hotel to stay when visiting Quebec. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front for a view of the St. Lawrence River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel! We took two of our children (ages 18 and 21) to Quebec City for the weekend and had an amazing time....mostly due to the wonderful Phillipe at the hotel. He was amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with him and his restaurant recommendations made our weekend outstanding! He went out of his way to be helpful!
Our 2 rooms were lovely and very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything, and includes breakfast which included the most delicious cheeses from Quebec!
Every staff member we encountered was exceptionally friendly and the hotel is lovely. We really enjoyed having cappuccino and wine in the lobby!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing