We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel With Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel With Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous hotel while celebrating our wedding anniversary in June, 2014. We had friends who had stayed here the previous summer and did not want to leave and we now understand completely. Even before we got there they anticipated questions we might have and their concierge team quickly sent lots of information and suggestions for lunch and dinner. Once the decisions were made for dinner they made the reservations for us, had a written confirmation with pertinent info, and even had a map with the locations marked for us when we arrived. Our room was wonderful (in the "classic" section) with lovely toiletries, various pieces of glassware, and access to ice which was greatly appreciated. The continental breakfast was wonderful with outside tables if one wished to eat there. We especially appreciated the ability to park our car behind the hotel and could access it if needed. The hotel is even nicer than the website photos indicate. Sadly, a health issue with a family member required our checking out a day early but we will return to complete our visit in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comment! It is always nice to hear that a friend recommended the hotel, and that we met your expectations!

We have a faboulous concierge team at the hotel, and they love their job! Helping you plan your visit ahead gives them the opportunity to make sure you don't miss anything!

I hope you will have the chance to visit us again soon!

Au plaisir,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    159
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
121
641
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights for business in May 2014 and was very happy with everything. The only issue for the entire stay was that the lobby espresso machine was giving the staff fits, but they were very aggressive in providing alternative caffeine-laden options.

The rooms are large and well appointed, with one of, if not the best, entertainment interfaces I have seen (HDMI inputs, USB wall sockets, etc), although I didn't actually use it. The minbar was well stocked (also not-used by me) and there is a Nespresso machine in the room with capsules provided gratis (very much used by me). The service staff was very helpful and the location in the old port is superb; with shops and cafes right out the doorway. A nice continental breakfast is provided with cheeses, jellies, various pastries, etc.

Bottom line: I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to this wonderful destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kambone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My partner and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel in late May/early June 2014. It is located in the lower town/basse-ville, a short walk from Place Royale and the funicular that will take you to the upper town/haute-ville. The staff were lovely and professional, and with only 5 rooms per floor it is a quiet hotel. Rooms are laid out well and beds are comfy.

The continental breakfast included with one's reservation is a great perk; because it is a small hotel you'll likely either have to eat while seated at one of the comfy armchairs, or at one of the group tables. Both options are fine, just worth noting for those who are used to eating at private tables for two.

We liked this hotel because of its excellent quality as well as location (close to all the action without being in the thick of it).

Room Tip: We had a harbour view which was fine; having a city view is not going to make or break one's sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaJM477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent luxury facility. Fantastic service. In the heart of the lower old town near restaurants and Museum of Civilizations. We were traveling with three kids and hotel added two move-in beds. Highly recommended. Top notch.

Room Tip: Had the luxury room. Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themadmax2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th anniversary and we loved it. The staff at the front desk, the folks who take care of the breakfast area and housekeeping all made us feel welcome and cared for. Our room faced the river and it was very quiet. When the sun went down, it cast a golden glow all over the buildings on opposite bank of the St. Lawrence. Its location is convenient to everything. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lamexitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Classy decor and feel when you walk in the hotel. Old hotel built in the beginning 1900s, not really worth they money they ask for each room, price a bit exaggerated. Not a 5 star, maybe 4 at best. They do not represent the service or amenities a 5 star would offer. Overall not a bad stay but management could be more innovative with new ideas to kick it up a notch. Would go here again if the price was lower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Bonjour!
First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. All comments are welcome, especially those that help us improve.

You are correct when you say that we are not a 5 star hotel: We have been certified a 4 star hotel by the CITQ. We are aiming to offer a 5 stars service to our guest, and I hope this reflects on the over all experience.
As for the price of our rooms, with all the inclusions (Deluxe contiental breakfast, Wifi, Espresso bar in the Lobby, Nespresso machine in the rooms, etc), the location and the quality of the the product, we believe that it reflects the offer.
Please note that our rates differ depending of the season.

We sincerly hope that you will visit us again. We installed a small garden on our terrace for the summer: an oasis in the heart of the Old Port.

Sincelry,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. As soon as we arrived the staff made us incredibly welcome and directed us to some lovely restaurants. Rooms great, beds comfortable. I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jak296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing