We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
nomad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed in July. Had a great time. Enjoyed sitting out on patio in morning enjoying tea, toast, and cheese. I don't eat hardboiled eggs so my choices for protein were somewhat limited. Staff was very helpful. Adding some packets of oatmeal would be helpful for us pickier eaters. Couldn't remember the french word for oatmeal. One of the staff tried to find me oatmeal but she brought everything but. Appreciated her trying to help. Flacons d'avoine!

Rooms are spacious. The bed is comfy. Staff helpful. They helped us book an outing very efficiently. Nearby recommendations were good as well.

Bathroom very spacious.

Convenient location. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank swensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    166
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
127
663
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nice little hotel with very friendly staff. Convenient location as it is a little quieter from the busier tourist spots. The breakfast is very good but get there early as one morning we almost couldn't find a seat. The rooms are large and comfy but the lighting could be better. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the Main Street as it is prettier than looking out over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouver_Girl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Rare is it when you are so satisfied with a hotel stay that you book the same hotel for a return visit. We did just that this past week while we drove from Toronto through to Quebec City and Halifax. Have stayed at Le Germain Montreal before but not here.This is a superb hotel.Rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable, shower and amenities all excellent. Special note goes to Annie, the Gold Key Concierge. Her efficient and friendly manner was warmly welcomed. Two excellent dinner reservations matched our expectations. Breakfast is superb with fresh baked croissants, local cheese and fresh fruit. Nice time I need to bring our dog for his own Le Germain experience!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithKECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a very nice and charming hotel. It is small/ medium sized and you are known by you name. Personell is very nice and helpfull. It has excelent accomodations, it is well located and the included breakfast, in the lobby and Garden área, is excelent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passoca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a wonderful hotel in a charming city! We began our visit to Quebec City with a stay at Chateau Frontenac and then stayed several more nights at Le Germain-Dominion. While we enjoyed the setting and historic significance of Chateau Frontenac, Le Germain-Dominion provided a warm and cozy atmosphere that exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff were all very helpful and accommodating, particularly Philippe-Mathieu, who helped us with everything from excellent restaurant recommendations to well-made drinks and conversation in front of the beautiful fire at the end of each day! The hotel offers a number of quality touches from the fine morning breakfast and excellent coffee options to the nice touch of providing gourmet chocolates on the pillows with the evening turn-down service. The location is central and convenient parking is provided. Quebec City is a charming place to visit and we couldn't imagine a more comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Thank you to Philippe-Mathieu and all of the wonderful staff at Le Germain-Dominion who made our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readytorockandroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel was warm and comfy. The staff was excellent, any questions we had they answered in detail, and made helpful suggestions. Eating breakfast on the patio every morning was nice and relaxing. The nightly turn down service was a nice touch and the chocolates were excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you Ron M.
Be sure you are welcome to stay with us again at any time.
Warmest regards,
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel and it is perhaps difficult to find a place that meets the needs of a 101 year old, a lovely 10 year old granddaughter and me! This hotel has a very central location which makes seeing Quebec City very easy. The hotel staff, especially Veronique, was extremely helpful in all situations and quickly addressed our every need. The breakfast was good and served in a pleasant lounge. The "anytime" coffee machine even had speciality drinks!! We would recommend this hotel for all tourists and are sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a river view, but was adequate in all ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear SWolff,

I am so happy we were able to meet all 3 generations' needs. We hope to see you again with your 102 and 11 year old family members next year.

I will make sure Veronique sees you beautiful note. Thank you.

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing