We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
79
69
26
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
69
26
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story room bathroom downstairs great location old quebec on site restaurant beautiful city spoke english main floor furniture french heart
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very good service. Classical music was playing in the room when we got inside. The room was very nice and clean though a little small. I reserved the Capitole for Xmas with my wife and we both enjoyed. There are two restaurants nearby; an Italian restaurant inside the hotel and a French brewpub next door). Only thing I would recommend if you want to go to the Italian restaurant, reserve when you book the hotel, because the restaurant seems to be quite popular.

Room tip: Italian restaurant must be reserved early
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtlTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

What a nice review to start the year! Thanks so much for your kind words. Just a little note to let you know that the two restaurants you mentionned, Il Teatro and Brasserie Chez L'Autre, are part of Le Capitole complex and it is always a pleasure for our front desk agents to take rexervations for either one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is very charming and perfectly located, close to all quebec city attractions. We had room 207 and 204 which are closer to suites than rooms (including very charming jacuzzis and great views). Service was very warm and welcoming. The bistro next door was excellent. We had an excellent experience in this boutique hotel.

Room tip: Ask for room 207 or 204.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments! Those rooms are also some of my favorite since they are both mini suites de luxe, they are cosy and charming and the views which are very different from one another are both beautiful. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We travelled to Quebec in September, 2012 and were looking for a charming restaurant for our last night, in the heart of the old town. The food was fabulous, very reasonably priced, the alcohol was cheap and the service exceptional. Our table right next to the road was lovely giving us a nice view of the town and passersby.

I can highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Room tip: N/a - restaurant review only
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Mrs. Sygrave, thank you for your comments, it's very appreciated that you take the time to write about your experience at the Capitole! Your comments are very appropriated, it is true that Il Teatro is charming and a great value for money. Thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

we booked this hotel using hotel.com and we were not disappointed.
we arrived in quebec city by train and took a taxi to the hotel. it was evening and the hotel was all lite up and busy with people going to the theatre. the building is magnificient. the lobby is small but quaint. a problem is that many people going to the theatre use the hotel entrance instead of the theatre entrance. they should address this inconvenience. the reception was friendly and efficient. they charge a $ 100. to your credit card, in case of expenses charged to your room. this is very strange, i have not seen this procedure in years. we were on the 4th floor (top floor) facing the street. the room had a king bed as requested. the room itself was of good size, with two small round windows looking out to the main street. the bathroom was very small, the width of a bathtub. it also had sliding shower doors that opened to the bedroom.?
it also had one (1) bathrobe???? for 2 people, i guess we had to share.
the bedroom was fairly large, but had no dresser, just an armoire, with 2 shelves at the top, which were small and hard to reach. there was not one but 2 tv in the room. we suggest that you remove one tv and add a small dresser, this would make the room more user friendly. this hotel was probably the quietest hotel in which we have ever stayed. it was clean and well maintained. the staff were very helphful. in fact they allowed us to visit the theatre. the hotel is located next to the vieux quebec, making everything accessible by walking. we would highly recommend this hotel.
we would not recommend the restaurant and will speak more of this on a separate review.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear justustravellers, thank you for your very nice and sincere comments. I understand your concern about the hotel's door that was blocked at the moment of your stay. We keep it close from October to April because ot the colder weather, we don't want our guests to be cold while being in the lobby. The $100 that you thought was charged to your credit card was in fact a pre-authorization for that amount. Nothing is charged until the end of your stay, that amount is frozen on your card for the lenght of your stay and then released fully if nothing has been charged to your room. The only one bathrobe is our mistake and I like the idea of transforming the space the TV unit into a dresser.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had a great 3 course lunch table d'hote -- had a choice of 2-3 items for appetizer and main, then dessert and coffee. I had the salad + duck confit risotto, and my hubby had the salad + beef tartar. We shared our meals and enjoyed both. I think it was the best coffee we drank in Quebec City. Service was also excellent. Highly recommend dining here!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Front Office Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Bonjour Tabatha,

Thank you so much for your great comments! I will pass it on to our restaurant team as well as our chef, Serge. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Capitole!

Marie-Ève Galipeault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews