We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overated, disappointed”
Review of Hotel du Capitole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Capitole
Ranked #51 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overated, disappointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Beautiful building outside! Our room (like others) was small and cramped. Uncomfortable chairs and bed. Tiny TV, no remote. You had to close the bathroom door to be in front of sink or step into shower. Breakfast NOT included.
Staff indiifferrent to repeated complaint. Management eventually refunded 15%.
Spend a few extra dollars and sleep at DOMINION 1912: large rooms, bathrooms and showers, heavenly beds and bedding, breakfast, oudoor terrace, access to your car, restaurants, arts galeries.

  • Liked — building style
  • Disliked — uncomfortable chairs and bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    64
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
106
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

Well,
My finance and I just got back from a weekend in Quebec city and to be honestly with you, we expected a lot more.
Room with a Jacuzzi (428), which with taxes was close to $200 per night, was small and cramped. The Jacuzzi was the only thing nice about it. No cable, view of Garden was basically a Tree and If you were to open the blinds to let some sun in, Everyone would be able to look into your room. The Hotel is one big circle. Also windows do not open, can't let any air in.
With the Tipping of the Valet , 2 room services (which I had to go back to the restaurant because they forgot something), and the Breakfast tray was left in the hallway overnight, 2 days cost me over 500$ CND. It's sad to say but I could have stayed in a simple Days INN, payed less, get a larger room, better breakfast, and saved some $$$.
The staff was OK, spoke Eng and French, Location was Ideal. But I'm pretty sure you can Find Better.

P.S. Also for some strange reason, the floors in the hallway felt extremely week, as if you were walking on a boat. Both my finance and I Felt it. Little Wierd...

  • Liked — The Location and Staff
  • Disliked — The room, the Cost
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want space you need to get the Mini Suite.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mr_mike98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

The Hotel Capitole was an excellent choice for my wife and me. We attended a conference in Quebec City and found this hotel to be very, very good.

Its location is excellent, just outside of the walls of the old city. And the old city is a wonderful place for tourists - it is like a small european town with beautiful stone buildings, shops and amny good resturants. As I remarked to one of the Quebecois city people, the old city has the best of North Ameica and Europe just a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel staff was very friendly, patient with us, they spoke English to us and made us feel very welcome. They answered all of our questions, even recomended resturants in the area that compete with their own fine resturant.

Our room was excellent, the whirlpool bath was large and the room was pleasant.

We both have a lot of experience traveling and this became a new favorite of ours.

There was only one sour note amongst many sweet ones. Don't ask for a glass of champagne sitting at the bar. They will pour you an excellent glass of champagne, but they will charge you $25 a glass.

  • Liked — Excellent Tourist Location, Friendlyness, Restuarants
  • Disliked — $25 glass of champagne
  • Tips/Secrets — Would be an excellent summer, fall, spring trip
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

Just stayed there over Oct. 13-15 2006. I travel almost every week so I have a pretty good feel for hotels. This was my first trip to the "mysterious" French Canada. After a single visit, I can tell you unequivocally that this is the place to stay in Quebec City. It is a modern and vibrant place that is walking distance (and a beautiful walk at that!) to all attractions. It is truly in the heart of the city. I enthusiastically recommend this to all-- business travelers and couples.

  • Liked — Location and Hotel Style
  • Disliked — They aren't much a full service hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Just enjoy!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

I had an excellent experience at the Hotel Capitole. I travel 6-8 months of the year for business, internationally and US domestic, and I crave good non-business hotels with a bit of character. This is definitely one of the nicer "non-business" hotels I've found. Very comfortable, spacious room, nice jacuzzi tub, funkily decorated. The staff were very helpful and forgiving of my awful French. Location is ideal, close to lots of good restaurants and entertainment and an easy walk to the Chateau and fort. The attached restaurant was also pretty good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Room, ambiance
  • Disliked — Not ideal for business travelers, but still functional
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ofarreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

Great location on Rue Saint-Jean near shopping and restaurants. Just a short walk to all attractions. Very nice and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and good breakfast at the restaurant. Valet parking is a little pricey at $17 plus taxes a day.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2005

Hotel Capitole shares space with a theatre and jazz bar and is literally just steps away from Saint Jean in Vieux-Québec (Old Quebec).

High thread-count bed sheets, plush pillows, a nice bathroom with great complimentary products (Gilchrist & Soames of the UK) and a powerful showerhead made the stay comfortable, comfortable, comfortable.

One thing that might deter considering guests: smokey rooms...but hey, this again, is Quebec, n'est-ce pas?

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
1,975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#13 of 102 in Quebec City
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#68 of 102 in Quebec City
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marriott Quebec City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Capitole

Property: Hotel du Capitole
Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel du Capitole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Capitole, in the heart of Old Quebec! This small four-star 40 room hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L'Hotel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec. Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows. Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Capitole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Hotel Du Capitole Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing