We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - great service - nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Capitole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Capitole
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location - great service - nice rooms”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Recently got a great rate to stay here on business. reserved 3 rooms and were very happy. The restaurant is great - service is fantastic and the rooms are very different. We each had a 2 story room - bathroom and sitting area with tv on main floor with the bed upstairs with nice work area. the decor and cleanliness were very nice. For business travelers or families look out for the following: 1) the closet space is VERY limited - one small closet upstairs makes it hard to hang suits and shirts for a multiple day visit, 2) the bathroom has a tub with a curtain that is pulled all around it - can be a bit tricky when all you want is a quick shower and if you were with kids trying to take a shower - be ready to mop up some water! 3) very few electrical outlets to charge phones, plug in tablet and laptops (especially by the desk upstairs - all outlets were used for tv, cable box and lights). But seriously- those were minor things. The place is all about location, location, location! Right by the gates of the old city - terrific spot for walking and exploring the city from. Plus the theatre at the hotel is TERRIFIC - saw Queen Extravaganza there and was completely blown away! Beautiful old theatre - worth seeing if there is a show on that you might enjoy! Loved the place and will be back - not your typical hotel - it's nice to change things up once in a while! Oh yeah, the staff were terrific and super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Heffe65, thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion on our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our mezzanine rooms, they are very quaint but you are also right about the bathtub. It's very charming but not as efficient as a regular bath when it comes to washing the kids. Glad you enjoyed the Queen Extravangaza show, it is fantastic! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again! Marie-Ève Galipeault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    60
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
13
99
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My first trip to Quebec did not disappoint, nor did this hotel. Very lovely, small hotel. Although our room was small, it was very well equipped. They really thought of everything and was perfect for our two night stay. The hotel is in old Quebec and close to shops and tons of restaurants. If you bring a car, parking is a bit pricey. Employees of hotel were very helpful and I was pleased with the service we received. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natbrat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Your comments are very accurate, thank you! As for parking, fees we charge the same price as the public parking across from where we are located, we try to be as price conscious as possible. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murwillumbah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a location - right next to the gates of the old city with all its tempting shops, restaurants and wonderful views of Quebec. This is a very pleasant hotel with a great Italian restaurant and bar. The room was a comfortable size and very well-appointed. We were delighted with the service and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretamurwillumbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
You are right, the combination of all the qualities mentionned make it a special place to stay! Thanks so much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was dancing in a show at the Cabaret du Capitole and the company I was working for booked me a room there for the night after. Pretty small room but very comfy. Nice bathroom, felt so nice to take a warm bath after a long day dancing! Large tub + good lightning. Nothing extravagant but a great place to stay! Perfect if you want to visit old Quebec too, the location can't be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear MC, thank you for your review! Location! That's what we are all about! The shows, the restaurants and the rooms are also a great factor to stay with us. I hope to have you again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is a nice boutique located at the gates of old city Quebec. The location is perfect for walking historic old city Quebec. Restaurants-a-plenty and beautiful views everywhere. The parking was a little pricy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hello Tom, thank you for your comments. You're right, fantastic location to everything!
The parking fees are approximately the same everywhere in this part of town, we have not increased ours for the last two years. $19 per night is a good average for Old Quebec.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very good service. Classical music was playing in the room when we got inside. The room was very nice and clean though a little small. I reserved the Capitole for Xmas with my wife and we both enjoyed. There are two restaurants nearby; an Italian restaurant inside the hotel and a French brewpub next door). Only thing I would recommend if you want to go to the Italian restaurant, reserve when you book the hotel, because the restaurant seems to be quite popular.

Room Tip: Italian restaurant must be reserved early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtlTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
What a nice review to start the year! Thanks so much for your kind words. Just a little note to let you know that the two restaurants you mentionned, Il Teatro and Brasserie Chez L'Autre, are part of Le Capitole complex and it is always a pleasure for our front desk agents to take rexervations for either one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is very charming and perfectly located, close to all quebec city attractions. We had room 207 and 204 which are closer to suites than rooms (including very charming jacuzzis and great views). Service was very warm and welcoming. The bistro next door was excellent. We had an excellent experience in this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 207 or 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments! Those rooms are also some of my favorite since they are both mini suites de luxe, they are cosy and charming and the views which are very different from one another are both beautiful. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
1,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Capitole

Property: Hotel du Capitole
Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel du Capitole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Capitole, in the heart of Old Quebec! This small four-star 40 room hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L'Hotel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec. Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows. Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Capitole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Hotel Du Capitole Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing