We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
79
69
26
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
69
26
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews story room bathroom downstairs great location old quebec on site restaurant beautiful city spoke english main floor tub furniture french heart
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is very well located to enjoy Old Quebec. Two very good restaurants on site, we ate at both and they were very good.. Great shows also on site, we saw ''The man in Black'' (Johnny Cash), it was excellent. You can walk anywhere in Old Quebec from this hotel, no need to use your car.

Room Tip: Book a show with dinner right there, you won`t regret it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear grpGA, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and site. The package that includes hotel, dinner and show is fantastic! I'm glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole. Marie-Ève Galipeault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We got a great rate on hotwire on this hotel and it was so much better than we expected. The rooms are very chic and quiet. The hotel staff are multi-lingual and very personable and helpful. The valet service was great. We were very tired after having driven in from Montreal after a flight from the west coast of the US and it was great to just have the rental car taken care of quickly and efficently without a fuss. The location couldn't be better-a stroll away from restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Jo Anne A, thank you for your lovely comments, it is always nice to read pleasant comments about our staff. You can be sure that I will pass on the comments. We hope to see you again at L'Hôtel du Capitole. Marie-Ève Galipeault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Recently got a great rate to stay here on business. reserved 3 rooms and were very happy. The restaurant is great - service is fantastic and the rooms are very different. We each had a 2 story room - bathroom and sitting area with tv on main floor with the bed upstairs with nice work area. the decor and cleanliness were very nice. For business travelers or families look out for the following: 1) the closet space is VERY limited - one small closet upstairs makes it hard to hang suits and shirts for a multiple day visit, 2) the bathroom has a tub with a curtain that is pulled all around it - can be a bit tricky when all you want is a quick shower and if you were with kids trying to take a shower - be ready to mop up some water! 3) very few electrical outlets to charge phones, plug in tablet and laptops (especially by the desk upstairs - all outlets were used for tv, cable box and lights). But seriously- those were minor things. The place is all about location, location, location! Right by the gates of the old city - terrific spot for walking and exploring the city from. Plus the theatre at the hotel is TERRIFIC - saw Queen Extravaganza there and was completely blown away! Beautiful old theatre - worth seeing if there is a show on that you might enjoy! Loved the place and will be back - not your typical hotel - it's nice to change things up once in a while! Oh yeah, the staff were terrific and super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Heffe65, thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion on our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our mezzanine rooms, they are very quaint but you are also right about the bathtub. It's very charming but not as efficient as a regular bath when it comes to washing the kids. Glad you enjoyed the Queen Extravangaza show, it is fantastic! We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again! Marie-Ève Galipeault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My first trip to Quebec did not disappoint, nor did this hotel. Very lovely, small hotel. Although our room was small, it was very well equipped. They really thought of everything and was perfect for our two night stay. The hotel is in old Quebec and close to shops and tons of restaurants. If you bring a car, parking is a bit pricey. Employees of hotel were very helpful and I was pleased with the service we received. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natbrat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Your comments are very accurate, thank you! As for parking, fees we charge the same price as the public parking across from where we are located, we try to be as price conscious as possible. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a location - right next to the gates of the old city with all its tempting shops, restaurants and wonderful views of Quebec. This is a very pleasant hotel with a great Italian restaurant and bar. The room was a comfortable size and very well-appointed. We were delighted with the service and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretamurwillumbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-eve g, Manager at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

You are right, the combination of all the qualities mentionned make it a special place to stay! Thanks so much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews