We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Ranked #22 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very happy with our 3 nights here at RC-A. Our host Richard was most pleasant and humorous. The staff of University students most competent and eager to please. Our room was spacious, very clean. The Montcalm neighborhood is safe, and most appealing. Huge park is one block away and all old city attractions a 10 minute walk down Grand Allee. Our host advised us of the neighborhood on Rue Cartier just a block away that was very nice and is where the locals go, hence more affordable. The Metropolitaine was a fine restaurant there but I advise you to make reservations. We had a wonderful time in Q city and our home at RC-A was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

My partner and I stayed in Room #19 facing the back - it was quiet, spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The only thing was that there was a funky smell. Bathroom was big, bright, and very clean. We paid $166 total for 1 night including $7 for parking. Breakfast is very limited. Service was mediocre - one of the staff who helped us seemed to have an attitude and was just plain grumpy. Besides that and the smell, I'd recommend this place for its location outside Old Quebec and within walking distance to Plains of Abraham and the restaurants along Grande Allee!

Room Tip: Our room #19 was very spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was the most wonderful stop on our trip to Canada. The rooms were large, bathrooms were modern with beautiful showers. The staff was so helpful and pointed out restaurants where the locals ate and the food was delicious. Breakfast was superb. Location was great. Short, easy walk to Old City, Plains of Abraham and Parliament building.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Feitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is such a beautiful hotel. Our room was beautifully laid out with everything we needed and was always kept very clean. It's so close to all the major tourist attractions as well as supermarkets, laundromats and restaurants. The staff were always friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. I really hope that we will return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Thanks to reviews on this site, we were warned about the breakfast, but since everything else in the area was booked, so we thought we'd give it a try. The rooms were fine, but be forewarned that 5 rooms are up a steep (38 step) staircase, with no fire escape.

The good parts: the check-in staff gave us terrific restaurant recs. Location also excellent. Staying outside the walls was a good idea, allowing us to see a bit of the less-touristed parts of town.

The not-so-good: Breakfast: We dislike having to book a time for breakfast while on holiday, of course. And then couldn't reserve the time we wanted (9 am), so had to settle for 9.30. We showed up at 9.30, and they'd given away our table. (So what's the point of reserving a time???) They found a table for us, but left us with very little food for nearly a half hour--only overly sweet yogurt and paperthin melon slices--at which point they showed up with a tiny plate with 4 mouthfuls of cheese and half a slice of ham--for 3 people to share. Oh, and a basket of bread, but no jam or butter. (And very ordinary packaged ham and cheese --we had anticipated the famous cheeses of Quebec.) We later learned that we could have asked for "more food"-- but I was so offended and hungry that seemed simpler to just go find a real meal elsewhere. And only one cup of tea--seriously, the stinginess was amazing.

If you go, stay on the ground floor, and plan on having breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: There's no fire escape for rooms on the upper floors, and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The PROS:
-Location: it is not right in the touristy "Old Quebec", but definitely not far from it by foot either. There were so many restaurants and shops nearby, whether on Rue Cartier, St. Jean or down the Grande Alee. Wandering around these areas was great! It was also so close to the park (check out the free concerts in the park during the summer!).
-Light breakfast: After days of heavy breakfasts in BandBs it was nice to be able to eat a little lighter by choice.
-The younger staff members were very friendly and polite.

SO-SO
-The room was comfortable and simple- nothing amazing, but it suited us just fine! The view was the parking lot, but that also meant that it was quiet.
-Picking a breakfast time: For logistical reasons, we understood WHY you had to sign up for a time to eat, but it did get frustrating. When we did try to change it to a little later, we were told that it was impossible, so we went to the original time. Needless to say, at the later time that we wanted, we saw that there were many empty tables, but not sure if that was the managements fault.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neopolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We liked that it was close to Old Quebec City, the price point and that it was quiet, as well as the convenient parking ($14/night) behind the building. We did not like the double beds, too small, uncomfortable as well as the too soft pillows, we had a broken a/c unit during our first night in room 15, before we got switched to a working a/c unit room, did not like the regimented structure of the breakfast, that you have to choose an exact time the day you arrive for all the day you are there. The breakfast was all "bought" (not made on premises), except for the croissants.

Room Tip: Don't get room 15, unless the A/C has been changed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fstrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Au Petit Hotel
#19 of 120 in Quebec City
155 reviews
Le Widor Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 120 in Quebec City
70 reviews
Montcalm
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
#30 of 120 in Quebec City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gite Confort
#2 of 120 in Quebec City
203 reviews
Acacias Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 120 in Quebec City
89 reviews
B&B de la Fontaine
#42 of 120 in Quebec City
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Charles-Alexandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Charles-Alexandre

Address: 91 Grande-Allee Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Montcalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais Charles-Alexandre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Relais Charles-Alexandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Charles-Alexandre Hotel Quebec City
Relais Charles-Alexandre Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing