We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Lodging Is A Veritable Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Ranked #19 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This Lodging Is A Veritable Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Call it Boutique or Bed & Breakfast; 23 rooms. In the Haute-Ville area about 15 minutes from the Saint Louis Gate into the Old City. A neighborhood from Quebec's Gilded Age, now called its Champs Elysees. Many superb restaurants. Near the Houses of Parliament, the Museum of Fine Art, the National Battlefield Parks on the Saint Lawrence River. From the estimable manager, Richard, to the young adults who are the desk staff, these folk are genuinely helpful in every way. We look forward to returning to their care and place. Very highest recommendation. (Bruce & Nancy)

Room Tip: For only a few dollars more, get a "Superior Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troytjaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    43
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
77
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel rooms are comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and 99 per cent of staff very nice.

However, beware of the steep staircase with 40-50 stairs up to rooms along with the challenge of getting luggage up and down.

My friend and I called ahead to ask how we could obtain our room key due to a late airline arrival. We were given the combination of key holder where our keys would be left for our late arrival. Unfortunately, upon opening the key holder it was empty. We called the ER number and were told that someone would be there to give us a key within 15 minutes.

The proprietor arrived in about 20 minutes handing us the keys- no welcome or apology on his part for the key not being left for us. He did tell us that breakfast would be served until 9:30 a.m.

Upon arriving at breakfast we received the cold shoulder. My friend went to the desk to ask a question and was told that reservations would be required the next day in order to have breakfast. He actually accused us of not making arrangements for a key. My friend countered that it would have been difficult for us to open the key holder without prior information.

Bottomline- proprietor needs hospitality training!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mms1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel near Quebec centre. Well within walking distance to bars and restaurants on the famous grand allee street which is absolutely jumping at the weekends. 15-20 min walk to centre of Quebec. Staff exceptionally nice and lovely continental breakfast in price. Rooms clean spacious and toiletries provided. Good value for money. Taxi fares reasonable and readily available. We took taxi to the falls approx 25 dollars each way

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is everything that we were looking for. The rooms were small but much bigger than the rooms that we have had in France. The bathroom was well done, modern and spotlessly clean. The staff left the room immaculate each day. The location was excellent within easy walking distance of everything and right on the best restaurant street in town. Breakfast was in a nice French style breakfast room There was a choice of muffins, croissant, toast plus juice, coffee, yogurt and fruit. No one should go hungry. Breakfast is served by the staff at tables with white linen table clothes. I don't remember all of the staff names but they were all very helpful and knowledgeable about the city. Veronica and Carl are two that I remember and I apologize to the other excellent staff whose names I don't recall but certainly made our stay pleasant. The parking is inexpensive and tight but the staff made sure that our car was available when we needed it. I highly recommend this quaint style hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor because of mobility. The stairs are narrow and there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlizzardND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 5 nites at Relais C-A. First the good stuff - location is phenomenal, near rue Cartier which is not as touristy & there are restaurants, food markets and a laundromat. The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean. The continental breakfast was ok but very repetitive especially staying there 6 mornings. We stayed on the 3rd floor which they call the 2nd floor, 36 narrow stairs which is crazy when you have luggage to carry up for 6 days. The parking is alittle tight, we got a parking ticket cuz we parked on the road one nite cuz we could not fit our SUV into the one spot that was left - classy hotel, they refunded our parking for all nites so the ticket only cost us $1.00! The room #6 was small, nice bathroom but no fridge which we really missed having and no table/desk with chair and the A/C was on the noisy side when it kicked in. All this being said, we would stay there again if for a short time like 2 nightes and would ask for a room on the main or second floor!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykonoslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very nice little hotel just 10 minutes walk from the walls of the old city and 5 minutes to Battlefield Park. My room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. I stayed in a standard room on the first floor. The bathroom was only separated from the rest of the room by a wall and curtain. Fine for me as I was on a solo trip, but maybe not so suitable for more than one person! Breakfast was very nice. Parking was a minor hassle, but I found parking in Quebec City a hassle in general. All in all, a lovely little place that I would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

A nice little B&B not a hotel. Parking is a little tight. All in all, I would definitely stay here again. The rooms are plain and simple. They are very clean and comfortable. Staff is extremely efficient and courteous. Breakfast is filling! The place is convenient to Ave. Cartier which has plenty of restaurants and bistros. A nice value.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the back of the hotel. Our room was facing the Grand Allee which is a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomhrtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Manoir De La Tour
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Le Widor Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Montcalm
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
#31 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#5 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Charles-Alexandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Charles-Alexandre

Property: Relais Charles-Alexandre
Address: 91 Grande-Allee Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Montcalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais Charles-Alexandre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Relais Charles-Alexandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Charles-Alexandre Hotel Quebec City
Relais Charles-Alexandre Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing