We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad expensive but definitely worth your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

To start off, the location of this place is superb. Right across the street from the Museum of Civilization and literally IN the old town, you barely have to walk in order to visit most of the major attractions of Quebec City.

The staff was perfect as well. The front desk was 24 hours and every worker was polite, cheerful, informative, and knew English well. The concierge even recommended the cirque du soleil show that was in town and gave us a great deal on tickets. The valet service was quick and very helpful with our luggage; even standing in the pouring rain to help us.

We stayed in the biggest suite so our room was spacious, double leveled, and was clean from top to bottom! Bathrobes, slippers, towel, toiletries, and even an umbrella were provided in the room, which were such nice touches! The interior design of the rooms are urban but also matched tastefully with the old aspects of the building itself which I really really liked. I could literally live in the room we stayed in for the rest of my life, it was that nice!

Lastly, the best part of this hotel is the breakfast. Most hotels I looked at didn't offer free breakfast, but Le Saint-Pierre offered breakfast already included in the price of your room so that was a strong deciding factor in choosing this hotel. I had expected a cheap kind of buffet style breakfast but was pleasantly surprised! You are seated by wonderful staff and given coffee and orange juice in a wine glass and your choice of breakfast from a menu. Everything from omelettes to french toast to crepes was offered, and I ordered eggs benedict and smoked salmon topped with hollandaise on a english muffins with a side of fried potatoes and fresh fruit. It was delicious and VERY filling. The food here is so good you'd sell your grandmother to get some, no joke. Also, one of the servers would sing in french as he brought out food and his voice sounded like something out of an old movie set in Paris. His voice floating through the dining room created such a nice atmosphere as the guests ate their breakfast, it was so beautiful.

The only problems that I experienced would be that the dining room for breakfast was small which meant that if you didn't get there early then you might have had to wait to be seated, the wifi didn't work our first night (but the staff fixed the problem and showed genuine concern which was nice), and there was not a lot of places to park your car near the hotel so you had to park your car using the valet service($21 dollars a night but you could have your car brought around as many times as you'd like which was very convenient, and you don't need to use your car much anyway since everything is so close).

Overall, this hotel is wonderful if you can afford it, and really added to our experience when we stayed in Quebec City and I will DEFINITELY be coming back! Tres bien!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrianna_Re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent three pleasant nights at this small hotel in lower Quebec City. The staff was unfailingly pleasant, outstanding, really. However, at around $200/night, we usually expect more. Coffee service was skimpy in the room, the tiny shower was not amusing, and the breakfasts, while welcome and cheerfully staffed, were indifferent at best culinarily speaking. Also, our room was so small that we struggled to get around each other constantly; we've stayed in comparable rooms in Paris for far less.

It's discouraging but we would probably look towards a stay in Levis across the river next time, for far better value and a nicer vibe, and still only minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldiesatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were very pleased that our travel agent selected this boutique hotel for our short stay in Quebec. The location was excellent, close to restaurants and places of interest.

The staff were extremely helpful, and we were pleased with our room. We'd certainly stay here again.

We can't comment on value as all our hotels and travel arrangements were billed as a total package.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jl02010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This historic hotel is located in a vibrant area of the old city within a stone's throw of great restaurants, shops, museums and the beautiful St. Lawrence. We were greeted upon arrival by a friendly and welcoming concierge and experienced the same congeniality from all staff throughout the visit; we were even upgraded to a suite without asking! The rooms in the hotel (formerly a banking building in the 1800s) are lovely - our suite had 18 foot ceilings and a huge brick and stone wall. The room was very clean and airy and the bathroom was bright and new. A full breakfast was included (cooked to order). We cannot wait to return to Quebec City and this delightful hotel!

Room Tip: As the hotel is in a historic building, each room has its own unique appointments and charm- if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dspreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights here 2 weeks ago and was very impressed. All the staff members were very polite and helpful. The entrance is on a very narrow street so they offer valet parking for $20.00/day. This was extremely convenient. Our room was average size with comfortable beds, air conditioning and a single serve coffee maker. There was a fairly large flat screen on the wall as well. The breakfast was very good. It wasnt a typical buffet, there was about 10 different dishes that you ordered from a waitressand was included in the room price, the service was quick. there was crepes, breakfast sandwiches, eggs benedict with salmon and several more. Very nice area to walk around although it is situated at the bottom part of the city and can be a bit of a strenuous walk if you venture to the upper part of the city. Overall, a very efficient and charming place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Chrisq13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Saint-Pierre. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and that the staff, the location and our facilities made your visit to Quebec City memorable.

We hope we will have the privilege to host you back soon!

Warm regards,

Stéphanie Dufresne
Director of Sales and Business Development
sdufresne@auberge.qc.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Would really recommend this beautiful, clean, excellently situated unique hotel.
Staff were very helpful and most accommodating for the two days we stayed , even on arrival at 5am in the morning due to our train arrival.
The hotel which originally was an old merchant bank is very convenient for walking in this beautiful city and coffee, tea and fresh fruit flavoured chilled water is always available in the lounge. Also bottles of water available at desk anytime.
Good selection of breakfasts available from 8-11 daily and again lovely staff serving in this area.
Would recommend you take a walking tour of city while you visit this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MHW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent location, within walking distance of old town, citadel,port and quarter petit-Champlain, albeit with some steps or the funicular in between! Lovely top floor room overlooking museum, charming and helpful staff. Only personal problem was that as a coeliac, the breakfast menu was very inflexible as very little was gluten free, so minimal choice. Hopefully such awareness may bring some change?

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Alan J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property and for recommending it, we greatly appreciate. For your information, the General Manager is planning a meeting with the kitchen staff in order to make a few changes to the breakfast menu and bring more variety.

All of us, at Le Saint-Pierre, are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hoping to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Stéphanie Dufresne
Director of Sales and Business Development
sdufresne@auberge.qc.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £112 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City's most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful. Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 30 rooms and 9 Suites a winning combination for all our guests. Cozy, warm atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge St Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing