We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acacias Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband an I spent 2 nights at the Acacias in early September. Even though we arrived earlier than the check-in time, Marc was very welcoming and our beautiful room was all ready.
We stayed in room # 1, large and very tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and there is also a nice couch in the room. Bathroom was nice, small in size but we did not have any problem with that. Everything was clean and fresh. Breakfast was served in the kitchen and it was comprised of a large variety of fresh fruit, very nice selection of breads and cereals, cheeses, jams, tomatoes, coffee, hot chocolate, milk, yogurt. Just a great continental breakfast. I also had a boiled egg that Marc prepared for me.
Parking was free in front of the inn and internet was fast.
The inn is situated in a beautiful neighborhood and both days we chose to walk to downtown. The walk is very nice, passing gorgeous neighborhoods and parks. However, if you choose not to walk, the bus is just around the corner and in 10 minutes you are in the heart of the city. We took the bus on our way back home, the ticket is 3 dollars per person.
Marc was very nice and helpful and he gave us very good tips for visiting. We were able to see the last free Cirque du Soleil performance for this season which was amazing!
On the day of departure we had the opportunity to meet Marie, a very pleasant lady.
Overall, our experience with the Acacias and Quebec City was a 5-star and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Acacias was recommended to us and we were very happy with our stay. We had a suite with kitchenette (appreciated even though breakfast was served). Everything neat and clean. We found the location perfect -- close to everything. The neighborhood was quiet and lovely to walk and the little back garden a delightful place to relax and enjoy the scent of lilacs and peonies.
Suzanne and Marty

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at Marc & Marie's for two weeks of carnival in a chilly Quebec February. Location is great; a quiet neighbourhood just a few blocks from a main bus line which takes you to old town or to Laval U within minutes. The room was clean and quiet with the added bonus of a large shared kitchen & living room. Marc and Marie were great hosts, offering suggestions for restaurants & entertainment, a ride to the airport (during a snowstorm!), and just checking in with us daily to see if there was anything we needed. Good rates, much cheaper than staying in old town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulinVancouver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in Room 3 for 3 nights. It consisted of a nice size bedroom, a sitting room with a microwave and refrigerator, and a nice size bathroom with a VERY small shower (though it does have a standard soaking tub). Everything was very clean. Marc was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area - his restaurant suggestions were great. He also got up early on our last day to make us breakfast which was very nice of him. His English (his third laguage!) is quite good. The breakfast is a nice continental affair - three cereals, three or four breads/pastries and fresh fruit. One day he made eggs to boot. The B&B is an easy bus ride to vieux-Quebec (bus 7) or is a long walk (about 3 miles). All in all a great value and experience!

Room Tip: Choose room #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seawolf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

From the moment of our arrival, we felt as though we were not particularly welcome: the host was annoyed that we rang the doorbell twice and then told us to wipe our feet. No hello, no welcome--just wipe your feet. I don't know where those 21 people stayed who gave this place 5 stars, because it certainly could not have been the same place we stayed. My room (Room 1) was adequate, but if you are larger than a 10-year-old, don't try to take a shower. The bathroom is pygmy-sized, and the shower is half the size of a phone booth. Breakfast is in the kitchen and is a scant Continental affair. The host chided my friend because she did not speak French and made a number of unflattering generalizations about Americans and what we prefer. For example: "There is no room service. Americans demand room service." Or how about, "This restaurant serves enormous portions; that's what Americans like." It seemed as if the host preferred not to have Americans; that is his right, but perhaps he should make that clear when contacted for a reservation. To sum up, if you are an average-sized American, look elsewhere for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were happy with out stay here and I have to say that Marc was extremely flexible and helpful when we had to change our plans twice. This was a huge plus. We also thought the room 3 was a great space -- I wish we had taken advantage of the jacuzzi tub and the kitchenette. It would be a good choice for a longer stay. We thought the breakfast was good, not "amazing" as some reviews describe it. The first day we had eggs and ham fried with tomatoes, the second day we had breads and the third day croissant. There was always a choice of different cereals, yogurts and plenty of fruit.

You really cannot get a better deal, I do not think, in the area. This was far and away the best stay for the money out of all of our research. It is also very modern and updated. Super clean.

The only negative would be the "commute" to the center of the city. If you really want to be in the center of it all, this is not the best place for you. However, if you like the idea of being away from the crowds and seeing a non-touristy area, the bus is very convenient. The only thing about it was that we found ourselves leaving for the whole day instead of being able to go back to the room midday to freshen up for dinner.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms, but I cannot imagine the larger room not being worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jml41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the experience we had at Acacia. Having not ever been to Quebec City previously we relied on Marc's recommendations and direction to begin our exploration of this beautiful city. He couldn't have been a more masterful host and his recommendations where spot on as well as his breakfasts. When we come back we will stay with Marc and Acacia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
#87 of 120 in Quebec City
99 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
212 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 120 in Quebec City
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Couette et Cafe 253
#4 of 120 in Quebec City
124 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#22 of 120 in Quebec City
81 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#18 of 120 in Quebec City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacias Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacias Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1336 rue Marie-Rollet, Quebec City, Quebec G1S 2H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacias Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACACIAS - bed & breakfast, operated by two artists, offers a peaceful atmosphere in a tasteful décor at a very reasonable price. Three spacious rooms, all equiped with ensuite private bathrooms and recently renovated, are very well suited to both short and long stays in Quebec City. Our quarter is called Sainte Sacrement in Haute Ville, which is the high class and quiet Up-Town district. Therefore, ACACIAS - bed & breakfast is situated only a short distance from all the major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Acacias Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacias Bed & Breakfast Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing