We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place to stay while in Vieux Quebec”
Review of Le Haute Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Haute Ville
Reviewed 15 January 2011

My wife and I stayed in Apt #3 in March & April of 2009 and, more recently, Apt #1 in Jan of 2011. No. 3 is upstairs on the second floor and consists of a combination kitchen, dining room, and living room and a bedroom and bathroom with a shower. The sofa in the living room made into a bed so that the apartment can accommodate 4 people. The kitchen has a large round table with 4 chairs. There's a flat screen television over the fireplace which can be seen from the bedroom. This apartment has range, refrigerator, coffee maker, and other amenities which makes it an excellent place to stay for a month or two. There was also ample closet space for storing one's clothes and luggage. We were there in cold weather and the steam heating kept it quite comfortable.

No. 1 is somewhat larger and is on the ground floor with the bedroom and bathroom located down below. The bathroom contains a combination tub & shower. There is steam heat in this apartment and a space heater in the bedroom and both keep it quite comfortable in winter. The combination kitchen, living room, dining room is quite large and spacious. Like the upstairs apartment, it contains range, refrigerator, coffee maker, and other amenities which makes it an ideal place for spending several weeks or a month. It also contains ample closet space. The living room has a flat screen television and a sectional sofa.

There is a phone on a small table on the first floor for making and receiving calls. A washer & dryer are located in the basement and each charges $1.50 per load. This place is located within walking distance of grocery stores, restaurants, bookstores, and all of the attractions of the beautiful city of Quebec. One can easily walk to the port area and the farmers market as well as the train station. The Chateau Frontenac, Place Royale, Funeculaire, Citadel, and other tourist attractions are all well within walking distance. The lively Rue St-Jean is only a couple of blocks away. Since Quebec City has an excellent bus system, one can easily go to other parts of the city which are not within walking distance. Parliament is close by and can be seen from the windows of both apartments. One can hear the clip-clop of the horses as they pull the caleches along the street. This is quite a charming place to stay and enjoy all that Vieux Quebec has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

The apartment is highly priced compared to other B&B nearby with higher standard, breakfast included and parking (which is very expensive). The room is small. It was not clean (it was full of dust under the bed) and the linen smalt like it has been lying in the washmachine to long.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Booked into flat #1 for a week... more feedback later. For now just want to know if anyone has any questions they want me to check out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chili-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I am writing this as we are currently staying in apartment #2. I could not be happier with our accomodations. The location is amazing - just blocks away from everything we have wanted to do in Old Quebec and yet the street is fairly quiet. You can take advantage of the parking pass to beach your car in the Place D'Youville garage, which is about 3 minutes walk from here. For visiting the old city, you don't need a car so it is nice to get it out of the way. The only drawback is that we arrived during a festival where all the roads into Old Quebec were blocked off. That entailed a bit of juggling to get our car unloaded but once that was done, everything went smoothly. With 3 kids, it was key to be able to drop into the condo during the day for lunch or to take a break, and we could do that so easily since the location is so convenient. My son wants me to say that the condo is a bit tight for a family of 5, but I am not bothered by that. We are using the inflatable bed that is available. And the free Wifi is extremely handy. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to this city. And also, it adds to the ambiance to hear the horses clip-clopping by.

I should also emphasize that this is NOT a hotel. You are renting a condo and are pretty much on your own here. The proprietors are available via phone or email, but if you need a lot of handholding, this is not the place for you. I don't want to be bothered by housekeeping so that is why I pick places like this.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0mweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Quebec City has many wonderful hotels, but for a stay of more than a couple of nights, my husband and I prefer to have more of a pied-a-terre. As much as we enjoy the City's fabulous restaurants, we also like the option of raiding local markets for great cheeses and other regional products like duck confit, goose rillettes, or boudin, and having intimate little meals on our own schedule. Le Haute Ville was a great discovery for our recent 5-night stay during the famous Quebec Winter Carnival in February. They offer several studio and one-bedroom apartments at very reasonable rates . We tucked into Apartment number 3, which has a bedroom with a queen-size bed, a sunny living/dining room/kitchen and a bathroom with a spacious corner shower. Two closets provided ample space for all of our bulky winter gear and the little kitchen was well-supplied with dishes and cooking utensils and all essential appliances - electric range, mini-fridge/freezer, toaster, microwave and coffee maker. There was a cozy couch (which can be pulled out as a second bed, if you want to squeeze in more people) a nice round table with 4 chairs, and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player. Everything was comfortable and in good working order. The decor blends exposed stone and brick with painted wals. We felt right at home. Located on Ste. Anne, a one-way street, a good part of the "traffic" we heard was the clip-clop of horses pulling caleches up to the nearby dispatch center. The location was ideal for walking to everything, including down the hill every morning to get fresh pastries and bread from Paillard on St. Jean Street. This is not a suitable lodging for someone looking for daily maid service, room service or a staffed reception desk or for those unwilling to climb at least a few stairs or for smokers. However, for travelers seeking a swell home base within the walls of Old Quebec, Le Haute Ville is a wonderful option. There is a phone in the entry hall to contact emergency services or the owners for more towels, etc., but expect to be primarily on your own. The Website for Le Haute Ville has virtual tours of all of the apartments, so you can choose the one that suits you best. TripAdvisor does not allow reviews to include contact information, so if you are interested, you will have to hunt for that yourself, or send me a private message. I would be happy to answer questions about this property or Quebec City in general; I am enthusiastic about both.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank msvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Claude41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesLofts, Responsable relations clients at Le Haute Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,877 reviews
0 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Haute Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Haute Ville

Address: 138, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range: £53 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Haute Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Haute Ville Are you looking for an accommodation, studio or Hotel in Old-Quebec? Would you like to participate in Quebec Carnival or Festival d'ete de Quebec? The 19th century studios/apartments in "Le Haute Ville" are available in the beautiful city of Quebec. The great yet quite location of the building in the old town makes it a perfect choice to discover on foot one of the oldest cities in North America. Either you are visiting for pleasure or business you will enjoy having all main sights and boutiques of Vieux Quebec within 5 minutes walking distance. The studios/apartments for rent can accommodate up to 4 people and are perfect for a one week stay or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Haute Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Haute Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing