We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much fun!”
Review of Funicular

Funicular
Ranked #23 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cable-car ride connects the Terrasse Dufferin with Lower Town for those not up for the steep stairway.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Too much fun!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Okay all you athletes! Take the stairs! I am no couch potato but with all the walking to be done up town, down town and all around, the fununculaire is very welcome! And don't even get me started on the Ferris wheel rush I feel as we are borne up the cliff! And the VIEW! This is a must do in Quebec City!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freddapick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    442
    263
    46
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glorified elevator”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Well, this is probably something you should do once but it's not worth it after that if you can do the stairs. You get the same view everywhere and the ride itself is very hot and crowded.

Helpful?
Thank USCanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“The Funicular is very FUN!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Funicular was great! We finally rode it on out last day in Quebec and we did not regret it. It was a "fun" way to go from the top of the old city where the street performers and the Fairmont hotel are, to the bottom where there are old historic buidings, restaurants, shops, etc. We did a lot of shopping down there, then rode the Funicular back up again. It really gives you an appreciation for the history and the fact Old Quebec is built into the side of a cliff basically. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must ride!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great way to get back up to Quebec City - better than all the stairs all at once - and it's fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Easier than the Stairs!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

On a walking tour through Old Quebec City, we ended the tour in lower Quebec City and faced a long, hard climb back to our hotel. The Funicular saved us! For $2.50 we were taken from the lower city to the upper city in minutes. Much easier on the legs and knees. Although I am normally afraid of heights, I was actually ok with this glass elevator and took it again when we went to explore the shops of Quebec on our own. During the busy times, the operators will pack the elevator pretty tightly, so you need to be aware of that if you are claustrophobic. However, the ride is very short and it saves so much time and effort that it is worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funicular also viewed

 

Been to Funicular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing