We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place”
Review of Place Royale

Place Royale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.30*
and up
Quebec City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This famous town plaza is the heart of historic Lower Town and has been an important social center since the city's founding.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the place”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved the walk down the steps and into a beautifully historic part of the city right under the walls of the fort and the Chateau Frontenac. We also enjoyed the Funicular ride back up and the view of the river in the evening after dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oxbridge1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    347
    49
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZINGE”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The oldest square of north america, very unique in America. Beautiful seriously, i love it. There is also a really good pizzeria you must try in this square

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go late in the day”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This beautiful square can be way too crowded during the day but after 6 pm it's wonderful as most tourists have gone elsewhere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mgaustin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it...with a few exceptions”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Signed up so we would get the "Footsteps of History" tour (in English) in the streets around the museum and we really enjoyed that. The exhibits in the museum itself were interesting (bits of pottery, excavated pipes and buttons etc) and it would be even more fun to do with children because of all the costumes that can be tried on. The part that was tedious (bordering on ridiculous) was the endless video where an actress pretended to paint a picture relating to the founders of Quebec. What's more tiresome than an artsy self-indulgent video?m

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ulysses06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,354 reviews
1,353 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,641 helpful votes
“There's a reason why Hollywood uses this place! ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The second you step foot on Place Royale, you immediately have a sense of Deja Vu! That's because so many movies were filmed here including one of my favorite movies; Catch me if you can with Tom Hanks and Leonardo Dicaprio.

This little square is hidden inside the walls of lower Quebec City and surrounded by history. The pave streets and unique architecture will have you sit there and just enjoy the scenery...Two thumbs way UP!

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Place Royale also viewed

 

Been to Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing