We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than just a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Ranked #72 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 9 September 2013

They call it "hotel-motel" and it is true. It is small but they have very good amenities: spacious rooms, full bathroom, microwave, mini-fridge, iron with ironing board, closet as well as a bar and gym. Everything in the room was working perfectly and the decor is nice as well. The service is prompt and polite.
It is located very close to major highways, however, rather far from downtown Quebec and there's nothing to see in the neighbourhood. So if you are there on business or just going through the city on your way somewhere, it is a really nice place to stay and would suit even a more demanding traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Di_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Hotel-motel is well situated - It is on the main auto- route to Montreal and about a 20 minute drive to the centre of Quebec City's walled town. Rooms are spacious, with AC and flat screen TV. Also, equipped with a mini-fridge and microwave. There is a McDonald's, Subway Sandwich & Couche Tard variety store within walking distance.
Only negative - Can't understand why the gym opens at 9:00 in the morning. The Hotel-motel should provide a universal key that allow guests to access the facility when one wants to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor - this allows the gust to park in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We drove from Montreal to Quebec City and arrived after 3PM. The signs posted weren't clearly marked so it was a pain finding where the reception was. Our front desk girl seemed so unaccommodating and unfriendly from the beginning. She told us checkin was at 4PM and we couldn't check in any earlier, even though we were exhausted from driving. One more hour, really? So then she hesitantly gave us bad directions to a mall and seemed frustrated we asked. Finally when we came back and checked in we realized we had a fabulous room in a nice comfortable hotel. The inside seemed as though it had been remodeled so the shower was so nice. Our hotel clerk gave us directions to another hotel to use their pool without telling us of the horrible construction going on there. When we told her about the construction she said yeah and laughed hystericaly. We might not have gone had we known how awful the construction was going to be. Location was perfect proximity to Old Quebec City and the price was right. I Recommend with hopes that you don't expect hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side looking out the back of the hotel seem to be nicer and quieter since not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

we stayed there as best price on booking.com and good reviews. we were both very happy with a clean room and firm bed. thre was also a decent size kitchen as well as work area with a table. the A/C worked and the bathroom was clean

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Its nothing special, but, certainly not as bad as other reviewers had indicated. We stayed for one night and the room was clean, the hotel was quiet and the staff were very friendly. Compared to the other pricier locations in the city, it was a great place to stay while passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aferny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a beautiful very spacious room with excellent facilities, large comfortable bed, nice decor and including a large bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean.
There is a very nice trendy restaurant/bar on site, where we dined for 2 nights and enjoyed their very tasty lovely food.
There are a number of other places to eat about 10 minutes walk further down the road.
The location is perfect, only 10 minutes from the City by car and a bus stop next door.
Excellent value for money with helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during our visit to Quebec City. I enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness: The room was extremely clean. This included the bathroom, which always scares me in hotels. The rooms are slightly dark (due to the color) but they are neat and comfortable.

Location: it was easy to locate and close to the highway to reach all the key areas, such as old City or St Anne-s. There are a few fast food places in walking distance and several other places a few blocks down.
Overall: No key cards, so if planning on differing plans, you may need to plan on who has the key or talk to the desk clerks. Wi-fi only allows one connection per room by default. This worked for us but others may need to pay for the extra access. We did have trouble with the AC on our first night and the hotel was full. The next day they told us how to work it and we had no other issue.
Others have said this: there is no elevator so either pack light, ask for the first flor or the motel.
overall id stay here again. The value and experience was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyingItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#85 of 102 in Quebec City
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#79 of 102 in Quebec City
196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
564 reviews
6.4 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Bonaparte

Address: 3825 Boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G1P 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Motel Bonaparte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Motel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Bonaparte Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing