We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality/price, great service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I work in Quebec City 4 days per month and I always make sure to book at the Bonaparte. I tried a couple of different motels in the area before discovering this one and I haven't changed since. The 3 things I look for when traveling for work is good pricing, cleanliness and good service.
First of all the service is GREAT, I'm always greeted with a smile by the friendly Manon at front desk. She greets me by name and always works to find me exactly what I need, I was very happy to discover she is back after a short leave. Other staff always greet me and smile, which is always important to feel right at home.
The price for the value is one of the best in Quebec City, it is a lot cheaper than if you go downtown, but a much better quality than other motels on Hamel street.
As for cleanliness, I've never had any issues or negative experiences there.
I recommand it if you are traveling on a budget, but still enjoy quality and comfort.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean and tidy place with fridg and microwave at 5min. from downtown and near the bridge. They have a verygood restaurant and causy lounge bar. This is a very good place to stay. By the way, don't forget to say hello to Raymond from Marcel And Antonine.

Room Tip: Hotel side are better but they are planing to renovate in the futur near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The second floor of the Hotel part of the Bonaparte has spacious rooms with everything you need to be comfortable including microwave, refrigerator, gym, comfortable bed, desk. Everything was in new condition and very clean. It was a economical location to spend 2 nights visiting Quebec including the Old Quebec City, and side trips to Montmorency Falls and Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupre Cathedral. We went to the hotel bar/restaurant the first night per the recommendation of the front desk staff. The food was good and service great, but it was a little on the pricey side for a casual dinner (2 hamburgers with no drinks for $35 including tax and tip). If you visit the Quebec Old City, the cheapest and centrally located place to park is under the City Hall (entrance is on a corner behind the city hall and you have to go down to enter).

Room Tip: Second floor in the hotel section has great rooms and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Motel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you very much for this review. We are very happy to find out you appreciated your stay among us.
We indeed try to offer good lodging at a low price, and we are glad you were satisfied with your room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was like any other Motel, nothing special.
Bathrooms were too small and the faucets made loud noises. the weird thing of all is that the sinks are in the room and not in the bathroom.
Other than that, the rooms were decent size and we only stayed one night, so cant complain much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

They call it "hotel-motel" and it is true. It is small but they have very good amenities: spacious rooms, full bathroom, microwave, mini-fridge, iron with ironing board, closet as well as a bar and gym. Everything in the room was working perfectly and the decor is nice as well. The service is prompt and polite.
It is located very close to major highways, however, rather far from downtown Quebec and there's nothing to see in the neighbourhood. So if you are there on business or just going through the city on your way somewhere, it is a really nice place to stay and would suit even a more demanding traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Di_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Hotel-motel is well situated - It is on the main auto- route to Montreal and about a 20 minute drive to the centre of Quebec City's walled town. Rooms are spacious, with AC and flat screen TV. Also, equipped with a mini-fridge and microwave. There is a McDonald's, Subway Sandwich & Couche Tard variety store within walking distance.
Only negative - Can't understand why the gym opens at 9:00 in the morning. The Hotel-motel should provide a universal key that allow guests to access the facility when one wants to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor - this allows the gust to park in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We drove from Montreal to Quebec City and arrived after 3PM. The signs posted weren't clearly marked so it was a pain finding where the reception was. Our front desk girl seemed so unaccommodating and unfriendly from the beginning. She told us checkin was at 4PM and we couldn't check in any earlier, even though we were exhausted from driving. One more hour, really? So then she hesitantly gave us bad directions to a mall and seemed frustrated we asked. Finally when we came back and checked in we realized we had a fabulous room in a nice comfortable hotel. The inside seemed as though it had been remodeled so the shower was so nice. Our hotel clerk gave us directions to another hotel to use their pool without telling us of the horrible construction going on there. When we told her about the construction she said yeah and laughed hystericaly. We might not have gone had we known how awful the construction was going to be. Location was perfect proximity to Old Quebec City and the price was right. I Recommend with hopes that you don't expect hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side looking out the back of the hotel seem to be nicer and quieter since not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#83 of 100 in Quebec City
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#50 of 100 in Quebec City
296 reviews
7 mi away
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
#27 of 100 in Quebec City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#79 of 100 in Quebec City
196 reviews
6.4 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 100 in Quebec City
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#81 of 100 in Quebec City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Bonaparte

Address: 3825 Boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G1P 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Motel Bonaparte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Motel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Bonaparte Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing