We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just too many things wrong here!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Motel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Just too many things wrong here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was looking for a budget place to put my head down for one night and from the reviews this place looked good. Check-in was fine with a friendly lady on reception. From there things went south.
The room was really small with no desk. I found hair in the bath. The bed felt a bit worn out, but the linen was good quality. Lighting was dim. The TV is an old fashioned creature with a remote control that works on volume and nothing else! Choose your channel, get into bed, and hope the program doesn't change too soon!
I could not get the AC to cool. Firstly the rotary switch was broken so I had to remove the outer and turn the shaft by hand. Thank goodness for multitools! Even then, it was obvious the unit needed re-gassing as it was just recirculating warm air. I had to sleep with the window wide open! It faced directly onto the outside walkway. A passerby could just have climbed straight in!
The curtains couldn't close properly. Fortunately I had some bulldog clips on a report I was working on so I used those to keep the 3 curtain drops together. There are no stops on the end of the rail either, so I pulled them right off the rail first time I tried!
What a palaver overall. Really too much hassle for a paying guest to endure.
PS: The restaurant looked quite appealing, by I did not try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    103
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
103
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Candiac, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was one of the best overnight stays in Quebec City I have had. Welcoming arrival by the front desk manager and easy check-in. When we arrived in our room it was really nice, good size room and good size bathroom. Very clean room, fridge,microwave good size flat screen tv. After settling into the room we decided to have dinner at the restaurant in the Motel. This was a neat surprise as the service and food were outstanding. Michel was our waiter and he was really good at customer service, made suggestions about the food on the menu. The food was very good and we had a real good time chatting with Michel about how happy we were with his service and the hotel room. We left the next morning as it was just for one night and I would recommend this motel to everyone, family and friends. And..... the beds were very good and a great nights sleep. I will definitely come back to stay at this motel!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMountainBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I work in Quebec City 4 days per month and I always make sure to book at the Bonaparte. I tried a couple of different motels in the area before discovering this one and I haven't changed since. The 3 things I look for when traveling for work is good pricing, cleanliness and good service.
First of all the service is GREAT, I'm always greeted with a smile by the friendly Manon at front desk. She greets me by name and always works to find me exactly what I need, I was very happy to discover she is back after a short leave. Other staff always greet me and smile, which is always important to feel right at home.
The price for the value is one of the best in Quebec City, it is a lot cheaper than if you go downtown, but a much better quality than other motels on Hamel street.
As for cleanliness, I've never had any issues or negative experiences there.
I recommand it if you are traveling on a budget, but still enjoy quality and comfort.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Clean and tidy place with fridg and microwave at 5min. from downtown and near the bridge. They have a verygood restaurant and causy lounge bar. This is a very good place to stay. By the way, don't forget to say hello to Raymond from Marcel And Antonine.

Room Tip: Hotel side are better but they are planing to renovate in the futur near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The second floor of the Hotel part of the Bonaparte has spacious rooms with everything you need to be comfortable including microwave, refrigerator, gym, comfortable bed, desk. Everything was in new condition and very clean. It was a economical location to spend 2 nights visiting Quebec including the Old Quebec City, and side trips to Montmorency Falls and Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupre Cathedral. We went to the hotel bar/restaurant the first night per the recommendation of the front desk staff. The food was good and service great, but it was a little on the pricey side for a casual dinner (2 hamburgers with no drinks for $35 including tax and tip). If you visit the Quebec Old City, the cheapest and centrally located place to park is under the City Hall (entrance is on a corner behind the city hall and you have to go down to enter).

Room Tip: Second floor in the hotel section has great rooms and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Motel Bonaparte, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you very much for this review. We are very happy to find out you appreciated your stay among us.
We indeed try to offer good lodging at a low price, and we are glad you were satisfied with your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was like any other Motel, nothing special.
Bathrooms were too small and the faucets made loud noises. the weird thing of all is that the sinks are in the room and not in the bathroom.
Other than that, the rooms were decent size and we only stayed one night, so cant complain much

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

They call it "hotel-motel" and it is true. It is small but they have very good amenities: spacious rooms, full bathroom, microwave, mini-fridge, iron with ironing board, closet as well as a bar and gym. Everything in the room was working perfectly and the decor is nice as well. The service is prompt and polite.
It is located very close to major highways, however, rather far from downtown Quebec and there's nothing to see in the neighbourhood. So if you are there on business or just going through the city on your way somewhere, it is a really nice place to stay and would suit even a more demanding traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Di_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#49 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#86 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.4 mi away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Address: 3825 Boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G1P 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Motel Bonaparte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Motel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Bonaparte Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing