We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reasonable Choice”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Was stayed here for one day while coming to Quebec for the day. It is definitely a motel and an older one at that. The room we had was fine, clean with a decent bed. There was no breakfast although the motel is attached to a restaurant. It was not open the day we were there. It was easy to find with GPS and not too far from the central city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    104
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
104
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Missed feelings about doing this review as I want to be fair to motel but also to the reputation I have as a reviewer on TripAdvisor. Suffice it to say, it was not up to our usual standard of hotel and I would probably not stay here again. ShiroNekro (reviewer below) obviously spoke to the same man I encountered over the phone when I called to enquire about public transport. He was rude and seemed reluctant to speak any English even though he could. Thankfully I speak French so I just switched to it.
To be fair to the hotel, here are the positives from our perspective:
Clean room, newly renovated, friendly staff ( with exception noted above). Large flat screen TV and good WIFI reception at no extra charge. Free parking. Distance to downtown acceptable as advertised for driving.
What contributed to my comment of "Not a 3 Star" was the fact that there was no breakfast served on location, we had to drive about 5 blocks to a mediocre breakfast resto which was recommended by staff. Amenities were sparse, just a cheap hair shampoo and bars of soap. No kettle to boil water although there was a coffee machine at reception and the staff offered to boil a kettle for my sister who drinks tea (we provided the tea bags!)

Room Tip: Ask for second floor. This way you will get a wing at the back which is enclosed with 2 floors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked this motel because of previous reviews, not realising that it was near absolutely nothing. We did not have a car, but at least the buses were good value for a 7 day pass and we soon learned the route. We booked this through Booking.com, and when we arrived were charged nearly $30 more. The motel said it was internet at $2.99 per day, but this did not add up, and our Booking.com receipt was inconsistent as in one part it said free and in another quoted this amount. Booking.com is hopefully sorting this out!

Be aware that there are NO restaurants near this motel other than its own bistro, which was nice but WAY overpriced for drinks and wine. The food was average to good however there was no other choice in the area other than catching a bus or a $25 cab ride. This is an industrial area and the motel seems to be frequented by one night only guests, probably as it is a lot cheaper than others in the old city.

Our room was spacious and clean, with the rider that they did not change our sheets for the duration of our 7 day stay. There was no coffee provided in the room. You had to go to reception in the morning to get coffee. This was an absolute pain as if you wanted a second cup - back to reception.

There was no option for breakfast as the bistro did not open at all in the morning. Your choice was McDonalds or a lovely little breakfast restaurant 6 or 7 minutes walk down Wilfred-Hamel. Restaurant 113 was great for under $20 for the two of us and the owner and waitress were great! The waitress even got the owner as she could not speak english, who then gave us directions into old city via bus.

Be aware that if you are coming from a non French speaking country, that most people around here do not speak anything but French - to the point that when trying to order a take away pizza they hung up in my ear when trying to order.

Quebec is a beautiful city, and if you have a car to go out, this place might be ok, but without a car and in the absence of restaurants etc I would warn people to think again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrouble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

So me and 4 of my friends were looking for a nice place to stay for one night in Quebec City. We got to the desk and wanted to pay with cash for the room talking to a sweet young lady. Little did we know there was an old grumpy racist man scowling in his head as he just witnessed 3 asians and 1 mulatto try to book a room. He then asked for a credit card which one of us went to get (was in the car) and then he promptly switched his mind and said that we spoke to much and was too much trouble so he told he us wouldn't rent us a room. Never going there again. Worst customer service ever. Horrible way to start a Quebec City Trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiroNekro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magog, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went there for one night in Quebec city. When we arrived, there was a party just beginning in the room next door. Room smelled awfull, humidity and old carpet. We asked to switch in another room, they told us it was not possible, because it was full... it was clearly not. Called earlier that week to make sure they had our reservation, the clerk told me that I could easily pay an extra to get a room in the hotel portion if I was not satisfied of the room at arrival, well guest what: no room available either! Parking was half empty... When we decided to leave for another hotel in that surrounding, then the clerk told us that he could maybe arrange a switch... we left anyway and went to the Times (paid for both room!), which was not significantly more expensive but clearly worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turlacou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a very clean motel and rooms have air conditioning, fridge and microwave but no kettle ,cups or cutlery! No way to make yourself a hot drink and after our taxi dropped us we went to restaurant for much needed refreshments only to find it closed at 8pm -reception suggested we tel for take away meal but could not provide us with plates etc to eat it with. It really is only suitable for quick stop over. I really missed my early morning coffee!

Room Tip: No elevators so ask for ground floor and no porters to help with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a room with them through Booking.com. I received a confirmation email from both Booking.com and the hotel. While driving to the hotel from Ottawa we decided to call to let them know we would be booking in later than we thought. To our surprise, the clerk told us that we had no reservation as we had cancelled the room. We tried to explain to her that we did not cancel the room and in fact we had confirmation that we had a reservation. She was extremely ignorant and rude to us. After spending a considerable amount of time trying to get another room with the hotel we were told that they only had one left and it was a smoking room - as my boyfriend is allergic to smoke we didn't take it. We then called Booking.com who confirmed that we did indeed have a reservation with the hotel - they then called the hotel for us and received the same answer - that we had no room reserved. In the end, booking.com came through for us and found us another room at Hotel Universel and although this hotel was a little more expensive booking.com is going to reimburse us. I cannot believe the audacity of the clerk at the Hotel Bonaparte - they obviously overbooked and arbitrarily cancelled our reservation. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone! If you are looking for a room in the area try Hotel Universel. They were extremely professional, friendly and respectful. The rooms are not luxurious but if you are looking for a clean room at a reasonable price then Hotel Universel is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#48 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#85 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#74 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.4 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#82 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Motel Bonaparte
Address: 3825 Boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G1P 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Motel Bonaparte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Motel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Bonaparte Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing